We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$279
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$197
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$777
US$611
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$286
US$135
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$787
US$701
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$463
US$408
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,643)
Filter reviews
1,643 results
Traveller rating
941
501
145
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
941
501
145
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomoysterstable mountaingreat locationpiazza facingseals playinga mountain view roomferris wheeltravel desksister hotelwaterfront arearobben island ferryseparate toiletthird floordock houseservice at breakfastsparkling wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
991 - 996 of 1,643 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here for a meeting for 5 nights. Our room was clean and spacious but faced the front courtyard and could be noisy at times so make sure you get a room facing the water. The breakfast had a great variety of foods and you could order hot food too which as included with your room. The only reason this is not a 5 star is that we had turndown service just 1 night of the 5,and there is no makeup mirror. We did have a problem with our toilet flushing and the manager came right away and fixed it. In the US, that'd is unheard of. The rest of the staff is very helpful too. Located close to shops and waterfront make this a great place t stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank suzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Good day

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review in respect of your recent stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. This allows me to monitor our service levels to guests and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We loved the Victoria & Alfred hotel. It was in a fantastic location and the room was lovely. The staff could not have been more accomodating and helpful. They were all courteous, friendly, professional and went out of their way to assist in any way they could. The room was large with beautiful windows with a nice view, the amenities were great and loved the shower and bathtub. Breakfast was delicious and the view outstanding. Dinner was reasonably priced and delicious as well. I highly recommend this hotel to others and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nancy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Nancy

Thank you very much for the kind words and compliments with regards to your recent stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

the V&A hotel has an exceptional location ad offers great value. Cape Town is the worlds most beautiful city and the V&A Waterfront is the place to stay in Cape Town. There are 10 hotels that serve various markets in the V&A.

V&A hotel is next to the water and in the tourist rich area of the V&A Waterfront. You bound to see the resident seals playing in the harbor basin in the day.

The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is world class. Lots of fruit and great variety available
They also provide ample parking for your rented car and the Hop on and hop of Red bus stop is 300m up the road.

The Victoria Wharf shopping center offers visitors all you need from great fashion, luxury items like jewelry and true South African curios. Further there are restaurants to cater for every pallet.

Not far from the hotel the Robben Island ferry departs and there is a diamond museum as well.
There is lots to do and see and Cape Town and the V&A Waterfront blends modern day luxury with deep cultural history.

The staff at the hotel can also advise visitors on where to go and what to see and do.....don't miss Table Mountain on a clear day!

Great vibe!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Estienne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Estienne

Thank you for having taken the time to write this wonderful review on your recent stay at the V&A Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you found it to be a convenient location for exploring Cape Town and surrounds.

We hope to welcome you back to the V&A Hotel on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I had an excellent stay at Victoria & Alfred Hotel in Cape Town. The room was clean, large and comfortable, the breakfast was good, the staff was friendly and the wifi was satisfactory. I would not hesitate to stay there again, should I go back to the Cape area, and I can highly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oystein B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Good day

Your complimentary remarks regarding our staff, facilities and services are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the V&A Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

One of the best Hotels on our Jouneys in Southafrica. Great Brunch too. The location is in the center of the waterfront! Could not be better. All you need for your days in Cape Town. Next time we book the V&A again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolgensinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Good day

Thank you very much for the lovely review on your recent stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews