We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We recently stayed here for 4 nights, Loved the surroundings, sitting eating breakfast and dinner by the waterfront was sensational. The hotel gym and pool, located across the road at the Docks, was well equipped and all the staff friendly, Close to the hop on hop off starting point.Walked into town and spent qualuty time around the Waterfront area.

Room Tip: Large Junior suite was huge and well appointed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lions1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us and thank you for the lovely review.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    444
    135
    26
    23
See reviews for
217
798
75
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here for one night on a work trip in November. The hotel has a great location in that you can walk around the Waterfront. My room was on top floor and it had an angled sky light but no window to really look at the view. The room was comfortable but nothing special. The only meal I had in the hotel was breakfast which was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller4047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Hotel is not 5 star but comfortable and clean with friendly staff. Restaurant has veranda-like feel and is especially pleasant on sunny mornings. Best amenity is location, close to water, shopping, restaurants, soccer stadium. Check out the Red Shed for local art and craft items. Only real negative during my stay was terrible wi-fi, they should not even offer it until they can make it fast and reliable. Otherwise I'd go back with happy anticipation.

Room Tip: Rooms on Table Mountain side of hotel have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. On the WIFI, we are currently addressing the matter and will have it rectified. We do look forward to welcoming you back

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My girlfriend and i recently stayed at the hotel. It is conveniently located close to almost everything on needs; V&A Waterfront Shopping Centre, The Cape Wheel, The Beach, The Habour, Gateway to Robben Island, The Helicopter & The Boat rides. Marvelous.

Room Tip: The Mountain View would be nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bagwasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for the kind review.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
225 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is right on the waterfront and close to so many great tourist locations. It is in a complex that includes a shopping arcade and coffee shops.

The hotel restaurant overlooks the wharf area and the harbour making it a very pleasant place to have a meal. Keep a close look out for seals bobbing up in the harbour while you eat.

We were very impressed with the choice that was available for breakfast - a great start to the day.

As with most of South Africa, security guards are very noticeable around the hotel. There are also plenty of staff to help with tour information (including the best places to eat) and taxis to take you further afield. Then again, there are lots of great places within easy walking distance.

The big downside was the poor internet connection. The WiFi was intermittent and very unreliable. Even when the WiFi worked, the internet reception was also poor.

This is not what you would expect nowadays in a major hotel in a major city like Cape Town. You might forgive this sort of lousy internet service at a tiny B&B in remote country town. In a high-class hotel like the V&A, it is totally unacceptable.

Poor internet connection is not universal in South African cities because we had stayed at two hotels in Johannesburg earlier in our holiday that had very good internet reception. What's different about Cape Town or the V&A? They need to get their act together.

Otherwise, it's a great place to stay. We enjoyed our five nights there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are certainly thankful. We are currently addressing the WIFI and this will be rectified.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

we spent a week at the V&A and Cape Town was on my list of locations to visit for a long time. Took lots of advice from friends and colleagues, and i must say this was one of our best holidays. The location was superb, with lots to do during the days and evenings. Recommend traveling this time of year as it's their start of summer. Choices of food were also excellent as were the views over the harbor and table mountain. The staff were superb and could not find fault with anything. We sat in bars in the afternoons watching the world go by and listing to live music. I will definitely be coming back to this beautiful part of the world

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us and thank you for this review. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very nice hotel and great location. Only negative is the slow service during breakfast. There is a great view of the harbor while having breakfast. My room was facing the Waterfront and I thought it would be noisy, but it wasn't.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank neilwood8576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write your review. We have addressed the breakfast service matter, thank you for letting us know. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing