We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again to our favourite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Tring
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Back again to our favourite hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is the best hotel in the World as far as we are concerned. The Waterfront in Cape Town is a great place and has developed beautifully since we first went there 5 years ago. We go every year and love it. Great hotel, great people and wonderful location. Really good value.

Room Tip: Get a first floor mountain facing room - brilliant view of Table Mountain and the Inner Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hastoegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Good day

Wow, thank you very much for the wonderful review on the V&A Hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you visit us every year and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    460
    137
    26
    24
See reviews for
221
822
76
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The V&A Hotel is ideally located for touring the Cape Town waterfront, and is completely charming. We had a loft room on the top floor with a fantastic view of the water. The wood floors creak a bit, which you expect with a historic hotel. But the rooms and bathrooms are modern and comfortable, the staff is very accommodating and friendly, and the buffet breakfast is outstanding. This was an excellent value, and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Wanda

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this lovely review in respect to your stay at the V&A Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The waterfront area has many excellent restaurants, bars and shops within a short walk from the hotel. We had a studio room with a top view on Table Mountain. Breakfast was excellent and you can even have it outside with a great view on Tabe Mountain.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank doktorlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Good day

Thanks for the wonderful feedback on the V&A Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the views of Table Mountain. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our two day booking replaced a week's holiday elsewhere. The V&A is situated superbly to experience the Waterfront and places of interest surrounding it. To walk from your room and after along day to simply walk back, is a huge advantage. The service received from the staff, especially the two men who did duty in the parking area on Thursday 9 January, was very reassuring. Thanks also to Francois Cloete who did duty in the restaurant on the same day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Eric

Thanks for the great feedback received on your recent stay at the V&A Hotel. I'll be sure to pass the compliments on to the staff for the great service!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I am writing about a long trip we took to the South Africa area in September 13' and into Oct. We started the 3 week venture by flying into Capetown via Johannesburg from Atlanta. We arrived around 10pm and checked in to this beautiful hotel. After putting our bags in the room we came downstairs to sit out on the boardwalk area at a table and look around at our surroundings. We had been traveling for 20 hours. It is right on the harbor and looks directly across to Table Mountain--gorgeous! The waterfront area is a working one--so there is a lot of activity and people watching, but not at this time of night! Of course when we arrived it was dark, on the chilly side and late but we were able to order and the hotel bar still brought us out several rounds of Irish type coffee--delicious! Anyway--the room was large and the bathroom big-nice! The next day we woke to open up our waterfront 3rd floor windows and look out--just amazing. The waterfront area itself is full of shops, people playing live music and it even has a large Ferris wheel to ride--and of course great restaurants! The hotel desk people were friendly and there is always a man standing next to the elevator to make sure only guests go on it--he even called us by name from then on every time he saw us! Old fashioned service for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a "mountain facing" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thistrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Good day

Thanks for the lovely review on the V&A Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you appreciated the "old fashioned service" from our staff. Your complimentary remarks regarding our facilities and services are sincerely appreciated.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We chose V&A for our trip due to the fantastic location, at it turn out to be all true. In addition to that, the staff was very attentive and friendly, the service excellent and the room very nice. The surrounding area is in fact very touristic and crowdy, but with a room facing the waterfront there was nothing to feel. We would definitely choose V&A for a Cape Town stay again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Alexander

Thanks for the compliments regarding the staff and the service - I'm very happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Excellent location for those wanting to be in the V&A without having to pay 5-star prices. A good option if you're not going to spend a lot of time at the hotel so don't wish to pay for the additional services some of the 5-star properties offer but you don't intend to use during your stay.

Room Tip: Mountain facing rooms are at a premium. Pay the premium if you intend gazing at Table Mountain for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CobusGroenewoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Cobus

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review on the V&A Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing