We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$898
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$633
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,655)
Filter reviews
1,655 results
Traveller rating
951
503
145
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
951
503
145
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomoysterstable mountaingreat locationpiazza facingseals playinga mountain view roomferris wheeltravel desksister hotelwaterfront arearobben island ferryseparate toiletthird floordock houseservice at breakfastsparkling wine
Filter
Updating list...
832 - 837 of 1,655 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

What a great hotel! Fantastic location, nice and efficient staff, very clean. I took a group of 23 to V&A for a week. They arranged group check-in that took almost no time. Very accommodating. Good breakfast. Couldn't ask for a better location.

Room Tip: facing the water has great views with balcony doors/windows-- if you don't like bird/seagull noises, this side's not for you
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Jennifer

We were delighted that you chose to bring your group to stay with us and are overjoyed that your experience was fabulous. Thank you very much indeed

My best regards
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

First time in South Africa celebrating our wedding anniversary on a DIY holiday; perfect choice to start our holiday for location and ease to get to from airport in hire car. The Waterfront was a great place to walk around in the evening and central for trips out; breakfast good although occasionally staff "forgot" about you but this was really the only very minor negative - definitely go back

Room Tip: Recommend Waterfront facing "Loft Room" with a perfect view to Table Mountain and its "table cloth" through the roof window
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1988Graendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your note on breakfast; this certainly assists us in applying the necessary corrective measures.

Kind regards
Rey Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in glorious room over looking the harbour and Table Mountain. Very comfortable & quiet despite being in the centre of the main tourist area for shops & restaurants. Reception & porter staff were friendly & helpful. So this would have been a 5* review except the service at breakfast, every day, was disorganised and unhelpful. If it hadn't primarily been a buffet would would probably have sat there for a very long time waiting to be served. Plus every morning our table was inadequately set with missing cutlery, plates, napkins etc etc so one had to scavenge from adjacent tables. Not what one expects at such a top-ranked hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you kindly for you constructive review. We acknowledge your comments on breakfast service and assure you that every possible remedial measure has been taken to address our shortcoming. We are nonetheless very glad you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards

Rey Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great location right in the heart of the tourist area, so easy to walk around the docks, get to all the main tourist attrractions and see Table Mountain from below. We loved our room looking out over the harbour (with seals) and the mountain.

Staff were very helpful, particularly concierge and parking. Great breakfast.

We walked to the pool in the guesthouse across the road one afternoon for cocktails. This is a lovely setting, with personal and attentive service. BTW i looked at the rooms which are very well appointed and designed - our only concern staying there was security and I suspect it could be a bit noisy overlooking the wharf.

We would stay at the V & A hotel again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank peppersnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Good day

Thanks for the wonderful feedback on your stay at the V&A Hotel. I'm very glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed 5 nights in March of 2014 with my son. The room was spacious - the bathroom was okay - could use with some updating. But the location was excellent - walking distance to many wonderful restaurants, and waterfront activities. The breakfast buffet (included) was great! Add the wonderful views of the harbor and Table Mountain and its a winner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mftonat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you kindly for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are in fact embarking on a bathroom upgrade program this May so you can look forward to an amazing new look, feel and functionality.

Best Regards
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews