We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent treat at V&A Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #28 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“Excellent treat at V&A Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you for a very lovely stay at the V&A Hotel. We were a group of 5 couples who spent 2 nights in April at the V&A Hotel. The food was very good, the rooms were beautiful with fantastic views. Would gladly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ilse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Ilse

You are most welcome and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    436
    133
    26
    23
See reviews for
213
781
74
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were lucky to begin our trip in South Africa in Cape Town. We chose to stay at the V&A because of its location. The views of Table Mountain from our large room was spectacular. We were so happy we chose the V&A and would not to hesitate to recommend this beautiful hotel. The wait staff at breakfast were efficient and friendly. We celebrated a birthday at the hotel and it was a beautiful surprise to have a delicious chocolate cake at our table for breakfast. Thank you.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in a room with views of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pillowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Fiona

It is always so lovely to receive such amazing reviews. We are delighted that we could assist in the birthday celebrations and look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here on a quick trip during the winter season, and could not have been in a better place that positioned us for what we intended to do which was mostly all the tourist attractions; Robben island, exploring the waterfront, see popular beaches, signal hill and table mountain.
The area is very much geared to serve the tourists with boat rides, a ferris wheel, shopping mall, outdoor amphitheater, live music, all sorts of cuisines and restaurants, all within walking distance.
The hotel itself was nice and had a good breakfast buffet and menu to order. We had breakfast included in our stay, so we made the most of it each day. They are known for oyster and champagne breakfast, but we did not try it. The rooms are nice and clean and all staff are very helpful. I gave 4/5 stars because the WiFi was not reliable and the rooms did not have a clock. I would recommend to stay here unless you want to be walking distance from the beach or stay at a place with a younger demographic.

Room Tip: request a waterfront room ahead of time if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank khn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We have further taken note of the of the wifi and have applied the necessary remedial action.

Kind regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the V & A for 2 nights following a cruise that ended in Cape Town, it was a great spot, very central for restaurants etc. Our room was lovely, it over looked the waterfront and Table Mountain, staff on the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. Our only complaint was, due to construction in the hotel (will be great when finished) there was no wifi the first day and also the noise of the renovations was just above our room on the last morning.
We will be back!

Room Tip: worth it to pay the extra and 'have a room with a view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Miste2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Miste

Thank you for your kind review. Our apologies for the noise of the upgrade, but we are glad you agree that it will be an amazing change to our lovely hotel. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is very nice, beautiful and very good located. The breakfast with the table mountain's view is amazing and the staff was very helpful. The bedroom was Perfect, with a very Nice view of the waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fla_Mihalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you kindly for your lovely review. We appreciate the time taken to write.

Our very best
Rey Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Recently stayed twice. Beds were top quality and so comfortable, rooms well furnished and serviced. Our second stay was a waterfront room, great view and I couldn't fault it. Spotless. Unfortunately our first stay was in a room facing the piazza and the bathroom was in need of renovation. The grouting in the shower had black mold and the drain backed up. The basin also did not drain properly. After two complaints the shower was given a thorough clean but the mold was imbedded in the grouting. Water still backed up in the drain. Housekeeping did their best but this particular bathroom let down the good reputation of the hotel.
The breakfast buffet was magnificent and the hotel was close to all the waterfront attractions.

Room Tip: Definitely request a waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggyTfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Maggy

Thank you very much for your kind review. You will be glad to know we have embarked on an upgrade program that will essentially see 68 bathrooms receiving a luxury facelift. We do look forward to welcoming you back for this experience.

Kind regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel right on the water front. We loved our stay here. The rooms are of a good size and it is worth paying a little more for the Table Mountain view rooms. I enjoyed sitting with glass of excellent South African wine watching the world go by. You can step straight out of the front door onto the harbour front where there is excellent access to a great range of restaurants for all tastes and prices. And talking of food the breakfasts at this hotel are truly wonderful. We started our day with bubbly and oysters!! There is a great range of fruits, cheeses, breads and pastries - this set us up for the day, needed because we got carried away with sight seeing and often forgot lunch. Although the Victoria and Alfred doesn't have a swimming pool its sister hotel across the road does and it is delightfully private. This hotel also serves excellent food! We had a great stay here and unlike many other people who were on a short stay - passing through the Cape -we stayed a week and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Table Mountain views - also give views of the harbour. Cost a bit more but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Cassie

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and most definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing