We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I booked my room on Hotels.com and got a good price for a superior loft....I was nervous after reading reviews about loft. But it was great and I would probably request again! It was just my Grandson and I and the room was a perfect size for us. For 2 adults probably tight? But the bathroom was huge and lots of hot water with a shower and big tub and toilet separate. The window was great! I was in 306 with a view of the Ferris wheel and could look down on the front entry but no one could see in the room. Lots of tree tops and birds flying by! The house keepers were great and somehow cleaned the window on the outside too. The room service and front desk were verrrry helpful especially because my Grandson needed milk a couple of times when I was not prepared.
We at breakfast downstairs once. 3 year old grandson free. I did not include breakfast option when booking because we don't often eat breakfast...and that worked fine for us. We ate our breakfast outside, very nice! A seagull stole my croissant so that was funny! We also ate room service twice and that was a great option. There is a great pizza/past restaurant upstairs in the mall that caters to kids by letting them make their own pizza and a great playground outside the mall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank for the lovely review. Cape Town has so much to offer and we are privileged to be located right in the heart of it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Our very best
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

The loft room is not for the mature. It was awkard having a room that was a half of a room. Did not feel I had a complete room to move around. The Tv, and other room ammenities were all too small, but fit tighly in the room. The hotel lower floors were under construction which started around 9 and went through to 4 or 5 pm every weekday. Could not totally relax for the daily rate you were given. Would not recommend a loft room. Would recommend you call ahead to find out if the hotel is undergoing any renovations before booking.

Room Tip: Call ahead to find out if renovations are completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Renee1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Renee

Thank you for your review. We do hope to welcome you back to enjoy our hotel again, perhaps in one of our lovely mountain rooms. The lofts have a great appeal to many guests and we are sorry this was not to your liking. Our renovations will be complete in September this year and we will then have the latest in design and comfort in our bathrooms, something else for you to look forward to on your next stay.

Our very best regards
Rey Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

- Friendly service, right stunt habour & table mountain view from our window, varieties choices of breakfast.
-Very noisy from renovation on the weekday.
-Houskeeping never refilled complementary water along my 3 days stayed, have to call every evening when back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanchit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Kanchit thank you for your review and for your constructive feedback. We have corrected the shortfalls.

My very best
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great view of the harbour and the mountain, we stayed in a loft room, and although the room sloped, it was fine, we enjoyed the stay very much. Food was good, location was excellent and staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel was affiliated with 2 other hotels in the area with additional amenities. We would certainly recommend the hotel as the location in the middle of the redeveloped wharf area with the shopping, the restaurants, marina, etc. was brilliant. We also used the free parking for the hire car and drove further afield to explore the city

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank n l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards
Rey Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The loft room we were given at the V&A was the worst room we have experienced at a good hotel. The room was very small with a dormer roof so low that we had to duck to get around the bed (and hit our heads several times). No windows, only skylights. There was mechanical noise all night although we did not have the a/c or heating on in our room. Construction noise on the floor below, weekdays until 5 was so loud at times we had to leave the hotel. The shower drained so slowly that we were nearly ankle deep in water before the shower ended.

We requested another room after the first night but were told that would be another $150 per night.

Fitness center is in another hotel some distance away.

On the positive side the staff was very competent and the breakfasts were great.

Room Tip: Do not get a loft room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you for a very lovely stay at the V&A Hotel. We were a group of 5 couples who spent 2 nights in April at the V&A Hotel. The food was very good, the rooms were beautiful with fantastic views. Would gladly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ilse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Ilse

You are most welcome and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were lucky to begin our trip in South Africa in Cape Town. We chose to stay at the V&A because of its location. The views of Table Mountain from our large room was spectacular. We were so happy we chose the V&A and would not to hesitate to recommend this beautiful hotel. The wait staff at breakfast were efficient and friendly. We celebrated a birthday at the hotel and it was a beautiful surprise to have a delicious chocolate cake at our table for breakfast. Thank you.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in a room with views of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pillowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Fiona

It is always so lovely to receive such amazing reviews. We are delighted that we could assist in the birthday celebrations and look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £166 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing