We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Position counts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #28 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Position counts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The location on the V and A Waterfront is great. Breakfast buffet is eaten overlooking harbour, yachts, seals and Table Mountain is backdrop. Evening meals can be chosen from numerous places around. We stayed in the attic rooms on top floor on 2occasions and were very comfortable, clean and roomy. A tall person should sleep on the bathroom side of the bed!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Bronwyn

Thank you kindly for your lovely review. We are sending best regards from sunny Cape Town.

Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    435
    133
    26
    23
See reviews for
212
779
74
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I spent our time in Cape Town at this hotel Our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very professional and accommodating. The hotel is right on the waterfront, so it's just a matter of walking out the door and you're on the water. There is a large shopping area with several restaurants within easy walking distance. We decided to eat in the hotel's restaurant on our last night and were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful meal. To US folks, when you see venison on a South African menu, ask what meat that represents. To most Americans, venison is deer. Venison on that menu was ostrich. And it was delicious. The manager stopped by our table and chatted for quite some time. A nice young man..... If I ever return to Cape Town, V&A is where I'll stay.

Room Tip: Our room was 130. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KW920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear KW

It is always such a pleasure to know that we exceeded our guests expectations and are certainly proud. Thank you very much for the lovely review.

Best regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riebeek Kasteel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a great stay at the V&A Hotel, from the wonderful welcome at reception to the delicious breakfast and brilliant location. It is a hop, skip and jump to the world famous Waterfront, it was awesome to shop, catch a movie and eat some treats and then just walk back to the hotel. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareOvens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Clare

We were delighted that you chose to stay with us and very happy that your experience was nothing short of excellent. We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, beautiful hotel with good facilities. All the staff are very obliging and friendly, it really is a pleasure staying here.

I only have a minor quibble, in that the food, both for breakfast and dinner was underwhelming and did not live up to its setting.

This is a minor gripe and by no means should put you off staying in this great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear KDC

Thank you for your review and lovely comments of our staff. We pride ourselves in being known as having the best breakfast in Cape Town and our popularity over sun-downers and dinner has spanned many years. Sorry this was not to your liking and we appreciate the feedback.

Kind regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in a room with a waterfront view. Although we could only see the marina / harbor, it was quite entertaining. There were seals swimming along with the rowing boats (so cute!), large sailboats that would come and go, and some pedestrians to watch. The shopping and restaurant district was right there, so we always found something to do and live music to watch. The hotel was under construction inside so it was noisy during the day, but the room was clean and comfortable for sleeping. The staff was excellent and the breakfast included was varied and delicious.

Room Tip: I would suggest a waterfront room. Just open your large window and enjoy the comings and goings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Greetings Diane

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are blessed to be in such a wonderful location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Excellent Hotel - Perfect location and the staff are extremely professional, friendly and efficient. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Location for business in Cape Town in perfect. The breakfast is superb.

Room Tip: Quality of the WIFI in the room could be improved - the singal was weak and dropped frequently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Richard thank you for your kind review. We have checked the wifi and can report that it is now working well.

Best Regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Excellent location, staff very attentive in all parts of the hotel . Amazing breakfast and all other meals we had were very good, lunch and dinner.
The only disappointment was they were renovating and neither we or our travel guide were told. Jack hammers started before 8 am which was troublesome given we had travelled over 20 hours to get there.
Staff did move us to a quieter area the next day and provided a nice bottle of wine to make up for the disturbance.
Rooms were well equipped and very clean and tidy. We had a water view and out son the piazza , both were very quiet when the work stopped

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Dave

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to experience our brand new bathrooms.

Kind regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing