We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were twice in Cape Town and both times we chose the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. The hotel has everything we needed for our 2-3 nights stay. The room was comfortable and the restaurant and lobby support our stay well. The beauty of V&A is the location which allow the guests to access to what-ever-is-needed, shopping, dining, or even hop-on-hop-off sightseeing. They even served Champagne and oyster for breakfast in the weekend. We considered V&A as our place of stay in Cape Town.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We are sincerely thankful that you chose to stay with us Sir, and thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

One of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. Although the room was a little small, it was very well furnished, modern and clean, and to top it all off, we had a patio with a hut tub, and further still whilst in said tub spectacular views of table mountain.
The hotel itself if perfectly situated close right on the wharf with all the bars and attraction close by such as the aquarium which is well worth a visit. Very child friendly and do have a baby sitting service if you fancy going to one of the number of great bars or sea food restaurants. Their in house restaurant is fantastic with views of the wharf and Table mountain and great food particularly the Champaign breakfast. Staff are so friendly and helpful here would recommend this hotel to even the most fussy of travellers. Thank you for a fantastic stay!!

Room Tip: Not sure if there is more than one of these rooms but worth paying extra for the terrace and hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve and Pauli... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Steve and Pauli

It is with such amazing reviews that we can be proud. Our team always strives to exceed expectations and we are absolutely delighted when we achieve our goals. Thank you very much for letting us know and we do look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in this Victoria & Alfred Hotel from 4th June to 8th June 2014. We had the hotel Marvel Airport Transport to pick us from Cape Town International Airport. We booked a Piazza Facing King room with breakfast. The room and bathroom were very clean. The shower was great. The mattress and pillows were comfortable. The price was affordable. During breakfast we could ordered hot dishes such as oat porridge, bacon, egg, trout and extra. The counter staff, the restaurant staff, the two female staff working at VA Travel Desk and every staff working in this hotel were so friendly and cheerful. The security was great. There were always two staff standing on each side of the lift. They knew us and we knew them. We could book tours direct from the VA travel desk. The location of the hotel was great. When we came out from the hotel, on the right, you walked outside, you could see beautiful scenery of Table Mountain, sea gulls, dragon boat sailing,office building, hotels, African Trading Posts and sun rise; on the left, you walked outside, you could go to Victoria Wharf, a big shopping mall, restaurants, Ferris Wheel, Children playground and board walk near the breaking water to see sunset and enjoying sea breeze. We even called a taxi to bring us to the Table Mountain on 6th June which luckily was a fine day and the Table Mountain was open. The taxi driver even gave us the telephone number to call him to come and fetch us back to hotel. It was not difficult to call a taxi from hotel to take us to the airport when we left Cape Town.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106. Any rooms of this level is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seng Hing N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Seng Hing

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you very much for the kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent 3 days 2 nights at the place, and we really liked the hotel. We were fascinated by its fabulous location. Waterfront was only a few steps away and city sightseeing bus departing point was also very close from it.
Room was very clean and comfortable, but slightly(very very slightly) less spacious than we imagined(maybe because we were assigned to loft room on the top, so it might have made us felt that way). But we really loved service, staffs were super friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was awesome. With fresh Oyster( better than 'Ocean Basket' in town) and Champagne. Fantastic!
Hotel area is safe to get around in the night, so it was great to enjoy night scenary of waterfront.
Definitely I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimLee1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Tim Lee

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are certainly proud of our team, location and beautiful hotel.

Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the V&A hotel. The location cannot be beat- right on the waterfront. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious--with a great view. It was great to eat breakfast while watching the seals frolicking in the water- Capetown is a vibrant, beautiful city-- and this hotel is definitely a great place to stay to explore the city!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ourkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you kindly for your lovely review. Cape Town is certainly one of the most amazing cities in the world, and we are thankful you chose our hotel as part of your journey.

Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

From arrival to check out we had a wonderful experience at the V&A. The entire staff are so helpful, accommodating, cheerful and resourceful. Whilst we didn't spend a great deal of time in our room it was of a really good size, well equipped, reliable wifi and satellite TV(great for the World Cup). The views at breakfast are amazing - is it possible to get a better location with Table Mountain as a backdrop? Great selection of food at breakfast and an excellent restaurant for dinner. Felt totally safe in our room and hotel. Whilst we locked are valuables in the room safe, we left our iPads and small amounts of cash on days out to find them tidied up upon our return. Also felt very safe in and around the V&A Waterfront as every 15 meters or so you are in close proximity to a security officer. Would recommend this hotel and the location-simply fantastic.

Room Tip: Any room-you don't go to Cape Town and spend all day in your room. Ours was piazza facing and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Glyn

We are so pleased that you had such a fantastic experience with us! We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Our best regards
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Visited the V&A hotel recently with my wife. A bit pricey but well worth the money. Hotel is exquisitely furnished and has a beautiful view of the ocean and mountains. Located within walking distance of the V&A waterfront which is good!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFCoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Mr Coetzee

Thank you very much for your kind review. We feel very proud that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £168 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing