We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Cape Town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Best Location in Cape Town!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Victoria and Alfred hotel as part of our recent tour of South Africa. The hotel has the absolute best location of any in Cape Town. It is in the heart of the V&A waterfront with easy access to loads of shops, restaurants and attractions. The ferry to Robben Island was just minutes from our door as were local craft warehouses and a large shopping mall. It is a very safe area (with visible security at all times) and there is always so much going on. We had the daily breakfast buffet in the restaurant and were very impressed. The dining area is bright and sunny with a spectacular view of Table Mountain and the waterfront. Our room on the top floor was nice but a bit tired looking and the slanted "port hole" windows weren't the best for the view. However, the suites on the floors below with larger windows were much more expensive so given the price difference and the amount of time we spent in the room, it was just fine. The staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to help, direct and organize for you. We would absolutely stay here again if and when we are back in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water. Top floor is cheaper, but the windows are "slanted" as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAM1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Cam

We are very proud of our team and our hotel. What better position to be in the waterfront!, and we are delighted that you had such a great stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    451
    136
    26
    24
See reviews for
220
812
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herk-de-Stad
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel does not only offer perfect rooms and friendly service, it is also ideally situated for a visit to both the historical as modern part of Cape Town. Enjoy the breakfast with a beautiful view on Table Mountain!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Familietoerist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you kindly for the lovely review. The cultural side of Cape Town is amazing to experience and we are proud to be situated in the heart of it.
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed there 2 nights and loved it. I would stay there again for sure. Great breakfast and wonderful service. The staff know your name and are very attentive. Easy stroll to the V&A waterfront and all the restaurants and shopping!

Room Tip: Loft rooms were cheaper and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherif_barsoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Cape Town is so easy to fall in love with. We are blessed to have one of the most amazing locations and further brilliantly positioned to allow our guests perfect access to world class shopping and site seeing in a safe environment. Thank you very much for your kind comments, we will pass them on to our team.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1,213 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 682 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were twice in Cape Town and both times we chose the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. The hotel has everything we needed for our 2-3 nights stay. The room was comfortable and the restaurant and lobby support our stay well. The beauty of V&A is the location which allow the guests to access to what-ever-is-needed, shopping, dining, or even hop-on-hop-off sightseeing. They even served Champagne and oyster for breakfast in the weekend. We considered V&A as our place of stay in Cape Town.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We are sincerely thankful that you chose to stay with us Sir, and thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

One of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. Although the room was a little small, it was very well furnished, modern and clean, and to top it all off, we had a patio with a hut tub, and further still whilst in said tub spectacular views of table mountain.
The hotel itself if perfectly situated close right on the wharf with all the bars and attraction close by such as the aquarium which is well worth a visit. Very child friendly and do have a baby sitting service if you fancy going to one of the number of great bars or sea food restaurants. Their in house restaurant is fantastic with views of the wharf and Table mountain and great food particularly the Champaign breakfast. Staff are so friendly and helpful here would recommend this hotel to even the most fussy of travellers. Thank you for a fantastic stay!!

Room Tip: Not sure if there is more than one of these rooms but worth paying extra for the terrace and hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve and Pauli... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Steve and Pauli

It is with such amazing reviews that we can be proud. Our team always strives to exceed expectations and we are absolutely delighted when we achieve our goals. Thank you very much for letting us know and we do look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in this Victoria & Alfred Hotel from 4th June to 8th June 2014. We had the hotel Marvel Airport Transport to pick us from Cape Town International Airport. We booked a Piazza Facing King room with breakfast. The room and bathroom were very clean. The shower was great. The mattress and pillows were comfortable. The price was affordable. During breakfast we could ordered hot dishes such as oat porridge, bacon, egg, trout and extra. The counter staff, the restaurant staff, the two female staff working at VA Travel Desk and every staff working in this hotel were so friendly and cheerful. The security was great. There were always two staff standing on each side of the lift. They knew us and we knew them. We could book tours direct from the VA travel desk. The location of the hotel was great. When we came out from the hotel, on the right, you walked outside, you could see beautiful scenery of Table Mountain, sea gulls, dragon boat sailing,office building, hotels, African Trading Posts and sun rise; on the left, you walked outside, you could go to Victoria Wharf, a big shopping mall, restaurants, Ferris Wheel, Children playground and board walk near the breaking water to see sunset and enjoying sea breeze. We even called a taxi to bring us to the Table Mountain on 6th June which luckily was a fine day and the Table Mountain was open. The taxi driver even gave us the telephone number to call him to come and fetch us back to hotel. It was not difficult to call a taxi from hotel to take us to the airport when we left Cape Town.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106. Any rooms of this level is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Seng Hing N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Seng Hing

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you very much for the kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent 3 days 2 nights at the place, and we really liked the hotel. We were fascinated by its fabulous location. Waterfront was only a few steps away and city sightseeing bus departing point was also very close from it.
Room was very clean and comfortable, but slightly(very very slightly) less spacious than we imagined(maybe because we were assigned to loft room on the top, so it might have made us felt that way). But we really loved service, staffs were super friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was awesome. With fresh Oyster( better than 'Ocean Basket' in town) and Champagne. Fantastic!
Hotel area is safe to get around in the night, so it was great to enjoy night scenary of waterfront.
Definitely I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimLee1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Tim Lee

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are certainly proud of our team, location and beautiful hotel.

Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,687 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing