We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #26 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We arrived in the pouring rain and were greeted very efficiently by the front door staff and directed to a parking space in front of the hotel. As we were early our room wasn't yet ready, so they took our bags and we sat down to a delicious lunch while we waited. Raymond, our waiter, took care of us and was very engaging. The three of us had a large second-floor room with a view of Table Mountain. Everything was extremely comfortable, the laundry excellent and room service very efficient. The food was very good indeed - breakfast was wonderful, with a huge buffet and delicious cooked dishes. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a fantastic location, within a few moments' walk of superb restaurants, bars, shops, boat trips and attractions. We had rented a car at the airport (it's a very easy drive to and from the hotel), so made various trips: the Leopard Bar in the 12 Apostles hotel for sundowners, down to the Cape (where we saw a huge herd of eland), the penguins at Simonstown … We spent two nights in Cape Town and wish it could have been for longer. We'll be back soon and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLD95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you kindly for the wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and Cape Town.
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    429
    129
    25
    23
See reviews for
212
767
73
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were greeted in the car park and our luggage was immediatley taken care of. As we had arrived on an overnight flight, our room was not ready on arrival but we were given coffee and didn't have to wait very long. Unfortunately the rooms on one of the floors were being refurbished so we were in a smaller loft room but as we were out for most of the day it didn't bother us too much, we were given a complimentary glass of wine! The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and keen to please. Breakfast had a fabulous choice on the buffet, including champagne and oysters! There was also an excellent selection of hot food cooked to order. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times. The food was good with huge portions. This hotel is situated on the Waterfront, which is a long way out of the city centre but the best spot for accessing tourist attractions. The Cityhopper buses stop a few metres away to explore the city and surrounding area. The trip to Robben Island and the aquarium are also just a few metres away. There is an abundance of restaurants and a fantastic shopping centre which houses an eclectic mix of eating places, cultural & modern shopping.

Room Tip: Don't choose a loft room as they have sloping ceilings and are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thanks very much for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful experience.
Your positive comments about our hotel, location and staff are greatly appreciated and have been passed onto our team.
Thank you and best regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

decided to choose a hotel in the waterfront, and the V&A is smack in the middle, location, location, location, we were greeted in the car park and escorted to reception,our room was on the second floor and through our window we could see the big wheel. as it was my husbands birthday a bottle of bubbly and a birthday card awaited him in the room. the room and all the amenities was luxurious. the breakfast was a surprise, not the usual spread, oysters and bubbly is part of the buffet

Room Tip: i would ask for room looking out onto the water - it might be quieter- although the noise from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvettealbertse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
What better place to relax than under the majestic shadow of Table Mountain and overlooking the stunning Victoria & Alfred Waterfront. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed there 3 nights, 2 in the loft rooms and were upgraded for the 3rd night to the new renovated room. The loft one is bit small but perfect if you travel around most of the day, the difference is mainly the view from normal window and kip-pi one. Breakfast is absolutely great, team is warm and welcoming, walking distance from the shopping mall and where all the water front activity is

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zagrebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are very proud of our amazing team and delighted we could be of service to you. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is located in one of the best spots in Cape Town for a tourist to stay - in the center of the vibrant V&A Waterfront, with many types of stores and restaurants in easy and safe walking distance. You are a very short walk away from the ferry that takes you to Robben Island as well as other harbor & offshore excursions. I did not drive my own car, and cannot comment on parking, although I did see numerous parking garages nearby. My room had a view of Table Mountain, and believe the other side of the hotel has rooms that look over the shops, commercial area and parts of harbor area of the Waterfront. Highly recommend requesting a mountain view. The room was clean and well laid out. The bed and furniture were not anything luxurious but very comfortable. The room had a stocked fridge and snacks (extra cost) and very large safe (I could store camera, binoculars, and iPad in there easily - biggest safe I've seen in a hotel room). There was a separate room for the toilet. Had a glass enclosed shower, large bath and two sinks - all very modern. Stayed on the 2nd floor, and thought I'd be kept awake by the noise below - turned out that it wasn't a problem at all since I routinely run a fan while sleeping. Only ate breakfast at the hotel - truly a spectacular feast with everything from cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, fresh oysters, champagne, plus a hot-breakfast to order.

Room Tip: Request 2nd or 3rd floor room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjabdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you kindly for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and of course the most amazing location and setting.

Best regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
299 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

As far as the rooms are concerned, especially on the third floor, this hotel is similar to a Hampton Inn - very comfortable, clean, quiet, and with every amenity.

However! ---- go downstairs for breakfast! You'll be blown away by two things - first, the food and the variety, and then the view of the harbor, the city, and Table Mountain!! It doesn't get much better than this!

Add to this the location! It's right on the docks at the V&A Waterfront, with all of the curio shops, the mall, and every imaginable place to eat. Great atmosphere! Wonderful place to launch trips to other points in and out of the city. Wonderful place to come back to in the eveniong. Right outside the lobby of the hotel is a curio mall that has a lot of interesting variety. Add to all of this one important element - safety! The area is completely safe and great for families.

Stay here! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PANeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We have become so well known for our stunning location and the amazing views one can enjoy of Table Mountain, the waterfront areas and all right from your room. Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay with us. We do look forward to seeing you again.

Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I obtained a last minute very good rate (via tripadvisor) for a loft room at the V&A. I guess the the rate was good as renovations were ongoing, athough the only sign of this was a sign in the lobby, I did not see or hear anything. My room had clearly been renovated and bathrooms were great.
No view as a loft room, but the tablecloth was on the mountain for the 2 days that I was there so I did not miss much.
Very convenient and very safe being part of the waterfront complex. Close to all tours and on the citybus sightseeing route.

Room Tip: I was in the loft room, so no view (well except for the top of the ferris wheel). You get what you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for your kind review. From a location point it is indeed difficult to surpass ours. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing