We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved the Hotel and the location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We Loved the Hotel and the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Our base for a magnificent week in Cape Town.

Very clean, great facilities in a busy, safe location.

Not hi-tech or anything, just very, very nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cratch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    429
    129
    25
    23
See reviews for
212
766
73
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

This hotel is in a superb position. We stayed for 5 days on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast was excellent and the restaurant faced the Waterfront with views of Table Mountain. The walk into town was easy from here and all the amenities of the Waterfront were on the doorstep. There were so many restaurants to choose from and the restaurant in the hotel was excellent. We had a fantastic view of Table Mountain from our loft room windows. We had a loft room and I would recommend these rooms. They were very spacious and the bathroom was superb. One of the best hotels we have stayed in

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

the hotel staff was excellent.. place was clean and proper.. location was excellant... but my stay was nightmare... we have lost all our valuables worth R20,000... someone came in our room and ransacked while we were happily shopping outside .you called yourself .24hr security?????mmmm ...im not sure.....yet thief still can come in our locked room.....who could it be?? inside job?? well . the hotel couldnt answer me yet..till today...how to recommend this hotel . SECURITY SHOULD BE TOP PRIORITY. does other hotel allow stanger loittering the hotel ?? this hotel allows...or employee under paid that they have to steal ???????

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank james0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of May, when the hotel and Cape Town in general was pretty quiet. We booked a loft room which was comfortable, well equipped, but quite small, with Velux style windows. We interacted mostly with the concierge staff and they were excellent, friendly and efficient, without exception. The only meals we had in the hotel were breakfasts. The buffet was excellent with a very wide range of choice. Once again, the service was faultless. The main reason, however, for choosing this hotel is it's location. In the heart of the Waterfront, South Africa's most popular tourist attraction, you get magnificent view of Table Mountain and the Marina. The only criticism of the hotel was the fan in the bedroom which couldn't be turned off. Come equipped with earplugs and you'll get a good night's sleep! We would still return, however.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We had a stunning view over the harbour & table mountainfrom our room which was very well appointed, in this lovely hotel which I would highly reccomend to everyone.
The views whilst you eat an excellent breakfast are stunning, watching the boats and the seals go by. The service was very good, all the staff friendly and welcoming.
Great shops and restaurants all within walking distance. There's an outdoor pool in the sister hotel across the road in a beautiful garden setting as well as spa facilities.
I'd stay again.
All in all, an excellent hotel, I would definately stay their again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carofree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed in V&A hotel for the weekend only, and although I'm very well-travelled I had the pleasure of staying in this fabulous hotel. Service by all staff from check-in to check-out, and everything in-between was excellent. I had a spacious room facing table mountain overlooking the waterfront, neadless to say the view was breathtaking.
Breakfast selection was also excellent and the stay overall was great value.
The hotel design is stylish/contemporary with a relaxed ambience throughout.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for its great location, great service and overall feelgood factor.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erniepantooso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavaur, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

As said in the title, I cannot understand how anyone can criticise this hotel ! We didn't have a waterside view, but can imagine how wonderful it must have been. The view whilst eating breakfast over the harbour and Table Mountain was stunning, watching the boats and the seals go by. The service was excellent : friendly, discreet, welcoming and dynamic. The morning breakfast was of very good quality, with a wide choice, including sparkling wine, fresh fruit, charcuterie, pâtisserie, yoghurt, and the list goes on ! The room was quiet, well appointed, clean and spacious. You have many tourist attractions within walking distance, and the bus tours depart from the aquarium that is very near by.
There are many opportunities for "shopaholics" ranging from local South African produce to Louis Vuitton, the Waterfront has three shopping centres and a large building where local people sell their items. There are plenty of very good restaurants nearby, that are inexpensive and of good quality : Hildebrand and Quay Four just to name two. We are not used to fillet steak at 12 euros in Europe, or a large bowl of pasta for less than 7 ! The advice on trip booking was very helpful and not too commercial (you don't feel like you are being sold anything !). A courtesy room was offered at the end of the trip, and pick-up to and from the airport was arranged, with very friendly drivers !

All in all, an excellent hotel, top class ! In a town which provides many interesting things to do and see, with its incredibly friendly "Capetonians" ! :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clauzadier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing