We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice rooms, some spotty service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We stayed 10 days while touring Cape Town and the area. Our room overlooked the city, with Table Mountain in the distance. It was spacious and well appointed, although felt like it could use an updating. It was very comfortable for our fairly long stay. We had a rental car which was kept just outside the front door, making it very easy to come and go.

The included breakfast was good, but the service was a daily joke for our family. It was often close to impossible to get a second cup of coffee or something extra. There was plenty of staff, but they didn't seem to think serving the customers was part of their jobs. Annoying, but also quite funny.

We enjoyed the location at the waterfront. There are loads of restaurants within a 5 minute walk, a huge shopping mall and lots of tourist shops. That's also the problem with the area - it's very touristy and commercial. It's nice to be able to walk to a restaurant after touring, although you have to be careful to find a good restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwk56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,237 - 1,243 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

The location of this hotel is ideal for people interested in the tourist areas of Cape Town. Located in the waterfront, it is very convenient for restaurants, shopping and the Robben Island ferry. The rooms were very large and the bed comfortable. The views from the hotel of Table Mountain were outstanding. The breakfast that was included in the price of the room was delicious and large. Hi speed wifi was also available. We found the staff very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Stayed over New Year's Eve in a family suite - two adults, three kids aged 12, 9 and 4 (almost 5). Were not on the Table Mountain side, but it was covered in the "tablecloth" for most of our trip, so this was not a problem, and we did get to see it at breakfast each morning. We had a nice waterfront view from our rooms (which were two inter-connecting rooms), with an ever changing group of street singers down below! The hotel was clean, comfortable and very reasonable. On one night we ordered room service and it was excellent quality and reasonably priced. The breakfast was good - lots of choice - and the rooms had free internet service that was a bonus for us. We would definitely recommend this hotel for families and would definitely book to stay there again if visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAB_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Table mountain views whilst having breakfast, excellent shopping, service and valet parking was great. They even organised the birthday cake for my partners birthday. The room looked just a like an old converted Jail of the era, with the whole VA Waterfront preserving the heritage buildings look. 5 Stars for Breakfast and food over rall was excellent ... Bed was very comfy . You are in the right location to get to every where you need to be in the VA Waterfront.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amicsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The major advantage of this place is location. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped (large flat screen TV, free wireless internet). The bathroom in my room was a bit outdated and could use some facelift. I asked for a water front room, but was told that I need to pay extra for it. Hotel restaurant serves fresh oysters for breakfast. I haven’t tried them, by my colleague who did, said they weren’t fresh.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrey_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

This modern warehouse conversion offers much in the way of ameneties and has a fantatstic location in the historic and redeveloped old docks area. The dining area is set alongside the dockside and is a wonderful place to watch the mist dissappear from the top of table maountain while you eat breakfast. My room on the top floor was in the eves, and whilst attractive, the sloping roof did reduce the useable space a bit, but it was pleasantly furnished with a good bed. That's the "Hot" bit.

The "Cold" bit...... The boiler broke down the morning I was there and I was left with only freezing cold water in the bathroom. Not an ideal way to start a busy business day!!

My main gripe wasn't the fact that this happened, sometimes things like this do just happen and it's nobody's fault, but it was the Management attitude when I asked for some compensation when I checked out. There was an absolute refusal to give any leeway whatsoever, even though I pointed out that I had contracted to rent a room with a fully functioning bathroom, which they had failed to supply me, so I wasn't going to pay the normal price for just the room without the benefit of a decent shower. Nothing! Even to the point of beligerent rudeness.

Not a good move since my company had until then put a lot of visiting Managers in the hotel, but since I'm the one who makes those decisons, not any more. As Julia Roberts said..."Big mistake. Huge mistake" .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel for 7 nights on our first trip to South Africa. It was a perfect choice, right on the waterfront, many restaurants within walking distance as well as a large shopping mall & lots of entertainment. An easy base to arrange trips & a safe area, very convenient. The staff were very helpful & the breakfast was amazing, lots of different fruit juices & lovely fresh fruits, everything you could possibly want. Another bonus was the pool area situated across the road in a sister hotel. It was a very relaxing lovely area, lots of sunbeds & very few people, loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#16 of 112 in Cape Town Central
742 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £161 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing