We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2011

leaving here tommorrow the 31st after three nights had a great time good location loverly room over looking va waterfront nice and ouiet. staff brill service typical capetonion but good i like there sense of humour. great food in the restaurant. would come back

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,202 - 1,208 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2011

We chose this hotel because of its location. In Cape Town, you don't want to walk around in all areas at night, the Victoria and Alfred area is very safe with security all over the place. This hotel is right in the heart of it all, close to the aquarium, city bus tours main stop and all of the shopping in the area. The hotel itself is fantastic and very clean, modern and well managed.

All staff were very friendly and offered exceptional customer service at all times. Our first room did not have a strong connection to the complimentary wifi, the wired connection also didnt offer a strong connection so the hotel moved us to another room the next day with no after this.

The concierge helped us with things to do in the area and car rentals and organised everything to the very last detail. The mojitos at the bar were fantastic and the barman was obviously very skilled and passionate about making cocktails, very friendly too.

A fantastic hotel, if you're looking for a luxury stay in a great hotel in the safe heart of the main tourist area, this is the one to go for to get value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The price of this hotel will have you expect a great experience, but it struggles to meet them. The front desk staff are uninterested and unwilling to meet your demands however small they might be.

As we arrived we found our room facing the square. So far so good. What you might want to consider before booking this kind of room is that music will be played right outside and the sound proofing of the windows is completely lacking. We asked to be given a more quiet room, but efter saying they would look in to it. We never heard a word from the staff after this point.

They will tell you that there is wifi in you room but don't get too excited as the wireless router must be placed on Robben Island.

The rooms are not at all fourstar with bathrooms that could definitly use some refurbishing.

The staff at the front desk (except the girl at the travel desk) were not at all helpful. E.g. we had made arrangements of our own to go to Robben Island. When asking from where the ferry leaves the answere was that there was no chance of getting on since it was fully booked. Thanks, but that wasn't really my question.

Location and breakfast was great, but if you are looking for value for money or have high expectations this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakobHagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We stayed 10 days while touring Cape Town and the area. Our room overlooked the city, with Table Mountain in the distance. It was spacious and well appointed, although felt like it could use an updating. It was very comfortable for our fairly long stay. We had a rental car which was kept just outside the front door, making it very easy to come and go.

The included breakfast was good, but the service was a daily joke for our family. It was often close to impossible to get a second cup of coffee or something extra. There was plenty of staff, but they didn't seem to think serving the customers was part of their jobs. Annoying, but also quite funny.

We enjoyed the location at the waterfront. There are loads of restaurants within a 5 minute walk, a huge shopping mall and lots of tourist shops. That's also the problem with the area - it's very touristy and commercial. It's nice to be able to walk to a restaurant after touring, although you have to be careful to find a good restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwk56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The location of this hotel is ideal for people interested in the tourist areas of Cape Town. Located in the waterfront, it is very convenient for restaurants, shopping and the Robben Island ferry. The rooms were very large and the bed comfortable. The views from the hotel of Table Mountain were outstanding. The breakfast that was included in the price of the room was delicious and large. Hi speed wifi was also available. We found the staff very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Stayed over New Year's Eve in a family suite - two adults, three kids aged 12, 9 and 4 (almost 5). Were not on the Table Mountain side, but it was covered in the "tablecloth" for most of our trip, so this was not a problem, and we did get to see it at breakfast each morning. We had a nice waterfront view from our rooms (which were two inter-connecting rooms), with an ever changing group of street singers down below! The hotel was clean, comfortable and very reasonable. On one night we ordered room service and it was excellent quality and reasonably priced. The breakfast was good - lots of choice - and the rooms had free internet service that was a bonus for us. We would definitely recommend this hotel for families and would definitely book to stay there again if visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAB_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Table mountain views whilst having breakfast, excellent shopping, service and valet parking was great. They even organised the birthday cake for my partners birthday. The room looked just a like an old converted Jail of the era, with the whole VA Waterfront preserving the heritage buildings look. 5 Stars for Breakfast and food over rall was excellent ... Bed was very comfy . You are in the right location to get to every where you need to be in the VA Waterfront.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amicsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £191 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing