We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel - recommneded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very nice hotel - recommneded”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

recent room upgrade are very nice
high quality
quiet
convienient underground parking
great location very close to ocean and shopping
staff very helpful and friendly

BUT -- only one - slow - elevator - which menas "long waits' if you dont prefer stairs

Room Tip: closer to the ocean the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surferdude083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear surferdude083

Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor.

You are right, the new rooms are fresh and the beach house look is really comfortable.

Schindler have been working on the elevators to ensure the service delivery is a lot better.

I wish you all the best with filling your world map and look forward to see you here again.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General manager
Protea Hotel Sea point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    154
    49
    17
    16
See reviews for
61
120
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a sea facing room it was a good size bright and very clean. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.We have stayed there three times and would definitely go there again Loved the breakfasts with the exotic African fruits as well as all the usual stuff.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms on a high floor for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minskyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear minskyfam

Thank you for staying with us again and posting such a great review on TripAdvisor.

I am glad you had a good trip to Cape Town and got to visit all the sites that you had planned to. It is good to know that our breakfast selection was more than sufficient to kick start a day of sight-seeing.

The newly refurbished hotel is fresh and the nautical colours compliment the views from the Sea Facing Rooms.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Cape Town is a fabulous place to experience and the Sea Point Protea Hotel is a very great place to do it from.
The rooms are nice we checked out both the mountainside and sea view rooms and found that the mountain view rooms were smaller than the sea view rooms and the sea view rooms had the added advantage of a balcony from which you could see the sea.
I found the staff very friendly and helpful and know the area fairly well and were able to direct us to some great spots [See Patrick].
Being an avid fitness and outdoor person I found the gym on the small side although there is a Virgin Active gym close by [Green Point] unless the weather is really bad forget that you can run / walk / cycle on the beach walkway which is just down from the hotel and stop at the exercise points that are positioned along the way.
For the four days we stayed at the Sea Point it was great to workout and cycle along the beach road al the way to Hout Bay and Clifton Beach making it a great location.

The Spur is co-located within the hotel and provides room service but with in a 3 to five minute walk of the hotel you have great Thai, Chinese, Pizza, Steak and other restaurants some of which will delivery and most do take always. In addition within a 2 minutes walk from the hotel there is a Spar and a Woolworths food store.
You are not going to get bored or go hungry.

There is secure underground parking with elevator access to the room floors the cost of which is very reasonable.

I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View corner room with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drury P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Drury P

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on TripAdvisor.

Cape Town is a special city and we are so lucky to work in such a beautiful environment. With so much to do and so many sights to see, I am pleased that Protea Hotel Sea Point was the perfect base to do this from. Being located on the beach front, GUESTS have so many options nearby to choose from.

The TEAM is passionate about GUEST service and it is wonderful to hear that you found them to be friendly and extremely helpful. I will pass on your comments to them and congratulate them on their efforts.

I am happy that you were able to enjoy the outdoors and had the opportunity of exercising on the beachfront. With all that exercise, I am happy that the wide array of restaurants within walking distance was convenient.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Firstly its an amazing location close to waterfront and way to peninsula tour, very receptive staff, great breakfast daily on my week stay, very clean and nice rooms..I had an wonderful experience with Protea-Sea Point Capetown. I highly recommend people to come stay here for your holidays - Regards,
Ronak Dhanuka - Nigeria

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D-Ronak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear D-Ronak

Your title blew me away and put a big smile on my face. Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

I could not agree with you more when it comes to the location of Protea Hotel Sea Point. It is very convenient to be minutes away from the local beaches, V&A Waterfront and popular sights.

We aim to provide the best GUEST service and it is reassuring to hear of your feedback, which confirms that we are on track for achieving this goal. I will commend the TEAM on their hard work and dedication.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and please be sure to visit us when you are next in Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights with my wife and young boy. We felt very comfortable.
If I go to Cape Town again, I definetely look for this hotel. Very new and large rooms, very clean, very good breakfast and friendly staff...
Easily reccomended for travelers to Cape Town....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aktan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear aktan76

What a fantastic review! Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

I am thrilled that you and your family felt so comfortable during your stay. The STAFF do their best to create a ‘home away from home’ environment for our GUESTS. Over and above this, the new look and freshly different décor certainly adds to the ambience.

The breakfast TEAM will be motivated by your positive experience as they are continuously searching for excellence.

Your recommendation is appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooihuiskraal, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Awesome in trip format for a three this can be applaud i can asure you that this is worthwile doesnt matter on which side your room is situated. You have a part of a seaview. We didnt have breakfast but i am sure it will be in good health and a spur just around the corner you dont have to drink and drive

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toppie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Toppie M

Thank you for review and for posting it on TripAdvisor.

I am so happy that you had an awesome trip and that Protea Hotel Sea Point provided you with a freshly different and comfortable environment. The location near the sea side is spectacular and, you are right, no matter where your room is, ones stay will be memorable.

We do have a large breakfast selection and I hope that on your next trip you will give it a try.

Until then, we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Hotel has a much cooler, bright feel about it. Decorated in blue with cream it look fabulous !
The Welcome mat is in front of you as you enter and underneath the LONG table where you can enjoy a cappuccino while you catch up on news or some work.. FREE WiFi.
The rooms are very nicely done, modern with new furniture including the famous Protea Beds and linen.
The restaurant is airy and décor blends with the lobby. the breakfast was/is sumptuous and the service great !
Overall I am happy and we @ VIA - venues in africa, look forward to booking our conference groups and international visitors here.

Room Tip: Choose the sea facing rooms first ( for very little extra ) and remember to indicate on booking if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Chris F

We are so happy to receive such positive feedback after our recent refurbishment.

The new look is freshly different and certainly creates a welcoming atmosphere. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our new communal table where GUESTS can make use of the 500mb complimentary Wi-Fi and i-pads to surf the web or catch up on mails.

Comfort is important to us and this was definitely a priority when it came to the rooms. Your comments will certainly be passed on to the TEAM who are so proud of the new offering.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed Protea Hotel Sea Point so much and we are so looking forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#79 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Address: Arthur's Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED. Located a block away from Sea Point Promenade and the cool Atlantic shoreline, this stylish three star hotel guarantees GUESTS an experience that’s freshly different. Protea Hotel Sea Point is a comfortable oasis for corporate and leisure travellers alike who want to experience the best of Cape Town in a tranquil beach house feel. Protea Hotel Sea Point is Freshly Different. This seaside hotel offers either mountain or sea views from the rooms and the vast range of amenities ensures a home-away-from-home feel. The hotels’ most talked about feature is the individuality of the six Luxury Art Suites and the interactive lobby and lounge area. Minutes away from Camps Bay beaches, V&A Waterfront and the CBD; not to mention the beautiful Cape Town promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Sea Point South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing