We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Protea Hotel Sea Point Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Ranked #73 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The receptionists were all nice, as I booked trips at home, but anyone of the local travel agency came at the hotel. I gave the vouchers and they all helped me finding the next day the local guide. My room 303 was perfect with a small balcony. The hotel is in a nice area of the town. You can easily reach the "Waterfront", with nice weather, also on foot (about half an hour walking).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantal196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Chantal196

Thank you for staying with us and for writing the review.

I can see from your reviews that you had an incredible time in Cape Town. There are a few more attractions to explore and I look forward to welcoming you back and making sure we exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

went on a week end away and had a amazing trip, location was perfect, rooms were very spacious and clean, staff were friendly and helpful, stayed in a superior room which was very spacious and has a small balcony with a side sea view
Breakfast was good, with a wide variety of juices and cereals to choose from
will recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good 4* accommodation which is centrally situated to all tourist attractions in cape town

Room Tip: superior rooms are quiet spacious with a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777Mrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear 777Mrp

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

It sounds like you had a memorable visit at Protea Hotel Sea Point and in Cape Town.

Next time when you are in town – spend some time on the pool deck on the 4th floor or try the Sea Point Pavilion for a day of relaxation and soaking up the sun.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Protea Hotel Sea Point during my second visit to South Africa. I had so much fun the first time two years ago that I had to go back and finish seeing the country while I'm still young enough to enjoy it.

The advantages to this hotel are that it is located in Sea Point close to the CBD, most rooms have at least a partial view of the Atlantic Ocean. Virtually almost everything looks new, nice, and clean because of the recent renovation.

No unusual stains, smells, or noises noted. Interior décor in the room was tasteful and in excellent condition. Temperature control was excellent. In short, a quiet, pleasant, and comfortable place to sleep.

The hotel also has a small fitness center with TVs and a treadmill, elliptical, exercise balls and steps, and a full set of free weights. There is a small guarded parking garage under the hotel for which they charge per-day fees, just like many American hotels.

Of course, this hotel has various minor downsides, as other guests have complained about (and that's what we all read TripAdvisor for).

First, it is not on the oceanfront. It's about a block inland. That means you don't get as much noise at night from the pounding waves but it also means the view isn't as dramatic as the hotels that actually face the water.

Second, although most rooms have small balconies (big enough to walk out on but not sit on), they also face perpendicular to the ocean, so that means your ocean view is even more oblique. This wasn't a big deal to me because I was visiting Cape Town to run around doing sightseeing, not staying in the room all day, but it might be disappointing to those who need to spend time in their hotel rooms (i.e., doing work on the road).

Third, the hotel doesn't have a real pool, in the sense of a pool actually built into the structure during original construction. What it has is a very small above-ground pool which was clearly added to a patio after the fact.

Fourth, like most hotels around the Cape Town CBD, this hotel is in an old building, with all the problems that implies: slow elevator, cramped rooms, low ceilings, small lobby, cramped parking garage, etc. (European and Japanese visitors may find the rooms just right but Americans accustomed to large hotel rooms will find them too small.)

Obviously, some things like floor height and the lack of a pool built into the structure itself just can't be fixed short of a complete teardown and rebuild. But others really could have been fixed during renovation and it's really too bad they weren't (that's why I'm giving an overall rating of four rather than five). For example, you can tell some doors and vents were merely repainted, but a truly comprehensive renovation would have ripped out and replaced all prior fixtures (doors, door frames, vents, outlets, etc.) to give the building a top-to-bottom "like new" appearance. The cramped rooms probably should have been permanently merged together into larger suites to suit the tastes of contemporary tourists accustomed to large rooms. And if the fitness center was larger, then they would have room for weight lifting or strength training machines, for persons like myself who prefer those over free weights.

Overall, I strongly recommend the Protea Hotel Sea Point to anyone looking to stay near the Cape Town CBD, but one must keep the above issues in mind. If you are traveling solo or as a couple, are renting a small compact car, and don't mind cozy rooms, this place is great.

But if you are (1) driving a large rental vehicle; (2) are a large or mobility-impaired person who cannot navigate easily in tight spaces; (3) traveling in a large group or with a large family; or (4) may need to spend long periods of time working in or around the room on a laptop, then you may need to look at other options. Fortunately I'm not in any of those four categories---at least not yet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolcaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear coolcaesar

Thank you for a truly honest and objective review. I read the review with interest as it was truly refreshing and gave recommendations that add value for the next traveller.

I am in full agreement regarding our excellent location; with our close proximity to the V&A Waterfront, beaches and restaurants. Protea Hotel Sea Point is a great base to explore Cape Town.

I truly look forward to welcoming you back again and hope we can stay in touch.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my beautiful wife recently stayed in The Protea Hotel Sea Point and it was one of the best times we ever had together !

The service was excellent and all of the staff very helpful. The Hotel is ideally located - we could walk every were and really enjoy the best of sea point in cape town ! Its also a short drive to most of the best that the mother city has on offer !

I would like to thank the team at The Protea Hotel Sea Point and recommend it to any one looking to visit Cape Town

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gerhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Gerhard V

Thank you for staying at Protea Hotel Sea Point! It was a pleasure to host you and you are right – the hotel has a great location. Next time you are here you must try the hop on hop off bus or rent a bike and cycle on the promenade!

Wishing you many more happy travels!

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was our last hotel stay on our tour. Unfortunately we'd already submitted our tour survey forms.

While the room was clean and fairly comfortable you sure couldn't swing the proverbial cat.

I had to stand in the shower to close the bathroom door. By comparison the hotel staff had assigned a room with two king-sized beds to one of the single men on the tour.

Attached Spur restaurant barely adequate - our first table had ants.

Breakfast buffet provided by hotel was fairly good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Very few good restaurants in the neighbourhood but the waterfront was less than a block away for walking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Senior_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear The_Senior_Dude

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding the size of your room.

The hotel has various room types and sizes available to suit your needs and requirements. Please be sure to have a look at our website and let us know what you want for your next visit.

There are various restaurants in the area that cater for any taste and experience. I will gladly recommend a few based on personal experience.

I am happy to see that you had a great tour in South Africa and I do look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

recent room upgrade are very nice
high quality
quiet
convienient underground parking
great location very close to ocean and shopping
staff very helpful and friendly

BUT -- only one - slow - elevator - which menas "long waits' if you dont prefer stairs

Room Tip: closer to the ocean the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surferdude083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear surferdude083

Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor.

You are right, the new rooms are fresh and the beach house look is really comfortable.

Schindler have been working on the elevators to ensure the service delivery is a lot better.

I wish you all the best with filling your world map and look forward to see you here again.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General manager
Protea Hotel Sea point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a sea facing room it was a good size bright and very clean. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.We have stayed there three times and would definitely go there again Loved the breakfasts with the exotic African fruits as well as all the usual stuff.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms on a high floor for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minskyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear minskyfam

Thank you for staying with us again and posting such a great review on TripAdvisor.

I am glad you had a good trip to Cape Town and got to visit all the sites that you had planned to. It is good to know that our breakfast selection was more than sufficient to kick start a day of sight-seeing.

The newly refurbished hotel is fresh and the nautical colours compliment the views from the Sea Facing Rooms.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
553 reviews
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#80 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point

Address: Arthur's Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £95 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block away from Sea Point Promenade and the cool Atlantic shoreline, this stylish three star hotel guarantees GUESTS an experience that’s freshly different. Protea Hotel by Marriott Sea Point is a comfortable oasis for corporate and leisure travellers alike who want to experience the best of Cape Town in a tranquil beach house feel. Protea by Hotel by Marriott Sea Point is Freshly Different. This seaside hotel offers either mountain or sea views from the rooms and the vast range of amenities ensures a home-away-from-home feel. The hotels’ most talked about is the interactive lobby and lounge area. Minutes away from Camps Bay beaches, V&A Waterfront and the CBD; not to mention the beautiful Cape Town promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Sea Point South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing