We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love Cape Heritage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at Cape Heritage for 5 nights in October 2011. The staff was excellent. They helped us purchase tickets in advance for Table Mountain so we wouldn't have to stand in long lines. The staff took the time to help us find our destinations on the map so we could walk and explore the city. The free breakfast was amazing. Fresh fruit every morning and everything we ordered was nice and fresh.

There wasn't a limit on the wireless amount we used for free. I stayed at other hotels during my stay and these hotels made us receive codes to access the wireless internet. After our time ran out we had to receive another code. Cape Heritage does NOT do this and it was a relief.

We walked to the V&A waterfront twice from Cape Heritage. Also Green Market Square and Long St are just around the corner.

I highly recommend this hotel to Everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alonna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
There are newer reviews for Cape Heritage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel in Dec 2010 and loved this hotel! The staff were really helpful and and the location is perfect for getting around and sightseeing in CT. If you like stylish boutique hotels you will love this hotel. We are booking it again for Xmas 2011!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Let me start by saying that we left this hotel wanting to stay longer both because of Cape Town and the hotel, and are already hoping for a return visit. This is very rare from both of uses we usually just view hotels as a place to rest, but the staff, the care taken with the rooms and just overall experience left us taken aback.

The hotel's cause was probably aided by us receiving a room styled in what my wife called "shabby chic", a personal preference of her's (all rooms appeared to be individually styled). The bed was comfortable enough, but the bathroom was luxurious in size and fittings and we didn't lack for anything in the room itself.

Breakfasts were expansive (pastries, breads, cheeses, cold meats, hot food) and the staff were only too happy to help us find our way, rent a car, choose a restaurant, decide when to visit Table Mountain (ASAP, as it turns out, is good advice because we only had the one day where the top wasn't shrouded in clouds), purchase souvenirs and generally brighten our days.

The location is a little distant from the usual tourist haunts in the city and at the Waterfront, but it was only one block from a stop of the hop on/off bus which we frequented. Heritage Square, which the hotel is part of, contains some fantastic restaurants so dining out is not a concern. We would definitely recommend Cuveau, the adjoining but independent restaurant, for great tapas dinners. My final comment was that for only AUD$150 a night, this was less than half what we would expect to pay for an equivalent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlanods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was an incredible comfortable find!! If you are looking for a place to stay in Cape Town, this is perfect!!! We found the rooms extremely comfortable, very clean! It is centrally located, within walking distance to many nearby great restaurants and Market Square and other shopping. The staff is phenomenal, helping you with every need. Of course, it wouldn't be a true review without mentioning the breakfasts! Being use to the usual breads and coffee that hotels usually serve, Cape Heritage serves not only great cheeses, salumni, cereals, but made to order cooked breakfasts too, with an expesso machine!! I really can not say enough good things about Cape Heritage!!! In my mind, I still see the smiling faces of the staff!! If ever I am lucky enough to return to Cape Town, this is my place!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearsdsld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night before flying home out of Cape Town. We wished we could have stayed a couple extra nights but we appreciated being able to find this amazing boutique hotel in the centre of Cape Town.

Beautifully redone hotel with amazing service to match.

We were flying around S. Africa for the last 2 weeks of our trip and were not sure where we were going to store one of our bags, we were thinking of using the Airport storage facility but had heard sketchy things about it, well... the Cape Heritage Hotel will store your extra bag for you if you will be staying with them in the future. Such a great convenience.

We also were able to check in early 10:00 AM as we were travelling back from Upington by bus and did not have anywhere to go between the morning of our arrival into Cape Town and the actual check-in time with the hotel. The front desk had no problems even though we realized afterwards they were also busy with the morning breakfast service but their attitude and service towards us was absolutely amazing.

The room we stayed in was Room 108. Great room, high ceilings with a wonderful bathroom. The bed was a bit on the soft side but it would be good if you enjoyed really soft mattresses. Bathroom was excellent. Wonderful shower pressure, old-fashioned separate tub for baths, which I definitely utilizied and they provide products by a local cape-town company that specializes in non-harmful practices and the products were amazing smelling.

Breakfast the next morning was very tasty. They had wonderful croissants, a variety of proper carcuterie and cheese which we were missing since our trip started and although we didn't order from their prepared menu, the menu looked quite good. But we filled up on cheese, meats, extra croissants and wonderful coffee... YUM!!!

They also provide free WIFI, although you are supposed to be able to use it in your room, it was not available but we were able to use it in the library which was just fine.

All in all, wonderful stay, excellent service, great breakfast, beautiful rooms, i could go on and on but the basic message... STAY HERE IF YOU CAN!!!! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Visit the court yard in the back of the hotel, it is a GEM and you can enjoy a glass of wine under o...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anakbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Location, location, location! This hotel is right in the middle of everything you want to visit in the city center. Easy access to everything. It is cute and has a lot of things to see. It is located on a courtyard which is great for food and drinks. (It is a little loud at night, if you are a light sleeper. We had no problem though) Each room is different and has its own feel. Room 104 was unbelievable! The bathroom was as big as the room! It had a chandelier and a bathtub in the middle of the room. Two sinks, 2 shower heads! The staff was very nice and pleased to help. Breakfast was delicious! The wireless internet wasn't working at the time but there was a computer available to use whenever you needed. Great place for honeymooners!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatorRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it - the rooms have bags of character (we were in room 104 which was simply stunning) and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Location is good, 20min walk to the waterfront, 10min walk to slave lodge, 5min walk to local bus stops for City Sightseeing or feeder route into the civic centre. Good restaurants within the historic square - African Cafe is a very good 'all you can eat' african buffet with cheap drinks, buffet itself is RND 245pp (which isn't written down anywhere!), food isn't of top quality but for the overall experience well worth doing. Savoy Cabbage is more upmarket, around RND 180 for a main but excellent service and quality. There is also a wine bar in the square itself which serves good cheap eats and tapas......you really don't need to leave the hotel site in the evening to eat varied, good quality meals.......which is a good thing as I wouldn't feel that confident walking around Cape Town at night especially having been threatened in broad daylight (in the Companys Gardens) by someone looking for money (he didn't get anything from us!) when there were tens of people in the area! Breakfast in the hotel is also varied and of good quality but the full English seemed to arrive cold each morning (possibly due them waiting to deliver both breakfasts together).

Only other minor gripe with the hotel - internet terminal temperamental. Overall, a great little find in a handy spot in Cape Town, 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,847 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 111 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £97 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing