We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cape Town Hotel Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta GA US/Paramaribo SURINAME
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Cape Town Hotel Gem”
Reviewed 8 January 2008

My wife and I stayed for one week in Dec at this wonderful hotel with wonderful staff. Our flight arrived very early (0520), and we were taken to the hotel before 0630. This early arrival wasnot a problem, as we were given a temporary room(105), until our room (112) was ready. Our room was very, very spacious with a (partial)view of Table Mountain and a view of Lion's Head. The bathroom is very large, and I must say, larger than most top name hotels. Breakfast is served downstairs, with the option of eating indoors, or outside under the grapevine. To rate the room, I would say this is an 11 out of 10. There was enough space to relax after adventures in the Cape. The staff is excellent. Our early arrival and departure wasnot a problem. We were always greeted with smiles. The staff was happy that we were staying at the hotel, and arranged a private tour for us to the winelands and Cape Peninsula. Massages can also be arranged. This was the most friendly staff that we have ever come in contact with (travels from Europe, Asia, Caribbean, US). All very beautiful (especially Jody ;-) ) and caring individuals. The dining next to the hotel is good (Waterfront offers a bit more selection), however, Biesmella is a terrific (in-expensive) Cape Malay restaurant a few blocks away. Overall, this is the best place to stay for a "home style" feel. It is a nice walk to the Waterfront and a few stops from Table Mountain Cable Car (on the Hop On Hop Off Tour Bus). This is a true Cape Town Hotel Gem, and we have already made our plans to return soon! Thank You Very Much Jody, Melissa, Semwano, Grant, and the rest of the gracious staff of Cape Heritage Hotel.

  • Liked — the staff, the location, the staff, the room, the staff, the atmosphere, and the staff
  • Disliked — TV/DVD selection wasnot the best, but on holiday....so wasnot a problem & wireless connection in rooms wasnot the best, but on holiday, so no spang
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank SranangMang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    199
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
168
709
85
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here at the end of November, and it was one of the best hotel we've ever stayed in! The hotel is steeped in history and has been sympathetically restored, retaining much of its original character. The courtyard is a wonderful place to have breakfast, with a beautiful canopy provided by the oldest wine vine in South Africa. The breakfasts are extremely good, with a something to suit all appetites with a selection of pastries, cereals, and cooked breakfasts (which were superb - not too much, not too little, setting you up nicely for your day exploring Cape Town). Our room was great also. The best thing are the staff - I had a birthday while I was there and they layed a table covered in rose petals, sung happy birthday (which was very sweet). They are genuinely interested in you and your day, they remember the little things (how I liked my eggs, bringing tea and coffee in the afternoon when we arrived back at the hotel, checking ahead for any tours we had booked to confirm pick up s times etc). I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Location bit away from tourist sites, requiring a taxi, however, it was also nice not to be right in middle of things
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spursfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights recently and would have no hesitation recommending it to a friend.
The hotel has 15 rooms and is located near the city centre in a carefully restored building that dates back over 200 years and seems to have had a variety of uses over that time.
The staff are superb and very friendly and the car from the airport and reservations for restaurants and tours were all made efficiently and with big smiles.You really were made to feel welcome.
We had room 103 which was large,had a king size bed and a tv,cd and dvd player.it looked out over the main road but the noise with the windows open never bothered us and because it has AC we could close the double glazed windows at night and were never disturbed by traffic.
The bathroom was also large with separate bath and walk-in shower and toiletries and towels were plentiful.
The rooms were clean.
Breakfast was part cold buffet and part cooked(if you wanted it) and the choice was excellent.
There is a lounge with internet access which is free but if you have your own laptop you can have free internet in your room.
Room service is 24 hours though since meals aren`t provided(apart from breakfast) this is limited.
There is a mini-bar in the room though no tea or coffee making facilities--room service will provide tea or coffee and we used that at no charge.
The walk to the shopping in the city centre is just a couple of minutes.To the Waterfront is about 30 mins,which though fine in the day(if you like walking!) is too far and too risky at night for security reasons so a taxi or the hotels car is the sensible way at night to do that(about 55 Rand in the hotel car,less with a taxi).
The biggest decision to make therefore is whether you want to stay in the centre or at the Waterfront--the latter has the advantage probably because the ferry to Robben Island leaves from there,it`s much safer to stroll around at night,there `s probably a bit more for tourists to do in terms of strolling to restaurants and night-life and the fashinable malls and you can easily get to the centre on the hop-on hop -off bus or a walk or taxi.But if you want a nice hotel in the centre that`s set apart from the slick "chain-type" glitzy 5* then this is a great choice.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank dongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

This is the place in Cape Town for a warm welcome to South Africa. It is not to be missed if you enjoy being treated like a human (and if you return the courtesy) and a friend. Situated in a historic section of Cape Town within easy walking access to most of the main sights and shopping, there's a lot to like about the location of the Cape Heritage. The building itself is historic, which has its charms: having breakfast under an aged grapevine, relaxing in one of the comfortable sitting rooms, or enjoying the unique character of each room. Moreover, there are several nice restaurants in the same square; these can be accessed through the center courtyard. We enjoyed Africa Cafe (despite its touristic nature), Caveau, and Simply Asian. The included breakfast can be tailored to your needs, and the staff learn after one day what you like to drink and eat and where you like to sit. Some other guest had a birthday, and the staff set her table accordingly, a level of individual caring one hopes to find in the world's very best hotels. In fact, the staff at the Cape Heritage makes this place shine: they are warm and inviting, and always a step ahead in attending to your needs. For instance, I asked about the Sea Point swimming pool. One might expect the staff to call and find out the hours, but they went a step further and lent me a lock and towl, which they'd ascertained I'd need. They equip you with a preprogrammed mobile so you can call the taxi when you're ready to return from wherever it is you've gone, e.g., Table Mountain or the incredible botanical gardens or running along the sea front. From the engaging and wonderful general manager to the housekeepers, this is as first rate a staff as I've seen anywhere. I did have a problem with their wireless internet, but in the end was happy for the problem as it enabled me to get to know the staff better. The rooms are comfortable and each has its own character. Except for the wireless internet, everything was functional and comfortable. People really make a place, and this is special.

  • Liked — The friendly and wonderful staff
  • Disliked — Problems with wireless internet (but in the end this didn't bother me)
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Renierk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

We stayed in a few five star hotels in South Africa, but nothing compared to the sheer loveliness of the Cape Heritage. The welcome was incredible warm, the room we stayed in (one of the suites) was the type of room you dream of finding and the staff were second to none.

It was the most fabulous hotel stay I have ever enjoyed.

  • Liked — The staff, the rooms and the breakfasts!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaKathleenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

What more can I add to all the other rave reviews posted on this hotel? The hotel is comfortable and stylish; our standard room was better than a deluxe one in many other hotels.

The one thing that I will remember for a long time is the friendliness, helpfulness and efficiency of the hotel staff. How I wish they could be cloned and installed in other hotels that I visit. Samatha and the rest of the team were a credit to the hotel and their city/

We spent a week there and we sorry to leave when we had to move on.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UKOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, MN
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2007

What more can be said about this delightful place? We could not have been better cared for..... this is Ritz Carlton service without the la-de-da. We loved our charming room, which we occupied for three nights..... we were on the parking lot side, but the noise was never a problem.... even though SA won the rugby world title while we were there and we heard some celebrating! Do read "Long Walk to Freedom" ( Nelson Mandela) and " No Future without Forgiveness" ( Bishop Tutu) before or while you are there. They helped us recognize what a blooming miracle South Africa is - and are both great reads. We ate at The Africa Cafe, ( make sure you get time for their fab gift shop) and the wonderous Savoy Cabbage, reached by walking thru the CH building. ( try the lovely Springfield white that taste like fresh grass!)

  • Liked — Lovely sense of design and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
  • Disliked — Could not walk around at night by ourselves.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,739 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Property: Cape Heritage Hotel
Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing