We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things that count”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
UK-US-NO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's the little things that count”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

While a great location and lovely interior, we felt a lot of things could have been done better, especially being a 4 star hotel. We were looking forward to our stay and booked a suite as this was a romantic get-away for us. We had an unfortunate arrival though, as they had a mix-up with our room booking which took hours to sort and in the end put us in a different (lower grade) room for one night. The manager did compensate for the mix-up, which we were pleased about and the room was very nice. However, when we did get into our suite the next day, we found a welcome note addressed to the previous guests, a half empty shampoo bottle and a stained towel. We had a bottle of champagne that was moved to the suite but they forgot the glasses. Not huge issues, but small things that the staff should address beforehand. The jacuzzi, as others have mentioned, is small and only fits 4 people. We went up one evening and the towels provided were wet and unusable. Breakfast was mediocre. A typical continental spread but the cheeses were hardened over and we felt the hot menu was lacking a bit in choice. Nice smoothies though. Staff were helpful, but we felt like some were not so approachable. I guess the overall feeling of this hotel is that it has a lot going for it and could be excellent (albeit lots of noise from the restaurants below that can't really be controlled), they just need to add in those extra touches to make it superb. Guests should always feel special when arriving and leaving.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NevBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaCapeHeritage, General Manager at Cape Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear NevBe ,

In the very first instance I would like to express my sincerest apologies that during your stay at the Cape Heritage, we did not deliver to you the service excellence we strive for.
This indeed started with a miscommunication regarding your room allocation – and whilst the matter was corrected the following day, there is no excuse for inconveniencing you thus.
The service issues regarding the Jacuzzi and housekeeping have been addressed and measure have been put in place to remedy the situation.

We value your feedback and would welcome a personal e-mail to the hotel regarding any suggestions you may have for improving the breakfast. Currently we offer :
A cold buffet which includes : 3 cereals, 2 yoghurts, homemade muesli, a fresh cut seasonal fruit platter, variety of pastries, cold meat selection, assorted cheeses, 2 different types of bread and an assortment of jams.
The cooked breakfast options are : Organic oats, French toast, Option of fried, scrambled or poached eggs, Omelet with filling of either bacon cheese ham or mushrooms, Full English breakfast as well as a choices of smoothies.
We also have a breakfast special that changes on a daily basis. Any suggestions of what you would have preferred, are most welcome.

Your comment regarding certain staff members who were not approachable is further of great concern, as this is the corner stone of our service and work ethic. Again, if you would, we would be grateful for a personal e-mail regarding this matter in order to follow it up fully.
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience – we view this as constructive commenting that assists us in always improving our service delivery.

Sincerely yours,

The Cape Heritage Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    196
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
164
701
84
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

A total gem of a hotel we loved in. We stayed in February for one night and it just wasn't enough.

The location is really central and close to the markets and some really good bars and restaurants within a stone's throw. We went to the African Cafe, it was worth a visit and made a change from the norm.

Our room was huge and lovely, we couldn't fault a thing with it. The bed was big and very comfy with nice pillows too.

The staff were second to none, they could not do enough for you and we had a late flight and our room was already booked out for the next day so they gave us a new made up room to use for a couple of hours to shower free of charge it was so appreciated.

The only tiny niggle we had is that our room was near the courtyard and a bit noisy until the bar had closed but this really is nit picking and was all quiet by 11.30pm.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony over the courtyard which was lovely but just a little bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris Plains, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our first several nights in Cape Town we stayed at one of the overpriced hotels at the V&A Waterfront. While the location was wonderful, I could not justify the outrageous prices. After our time at the game reserve, we checked into the Cape Heritage Hotel for a 5 day stay.
I read every review on this hotel prior to booking - and although I loved the hotel, it was not quite what I expected. We arrived late one afternoon, and we were so tired that wanted to order room service, which I had confirmed in advance, the hotel offered. The room service situation was rather odd. There was no room service menu, I was told I could order anything from the several restaurants surrounding the hotel's courtyard. Someone from the staff had to scramble to find us menus, and for the main restaurant, he carried a 5 foot high blackboard with the day's offerings up to our room. It seemed very inefficient. As I am a vegetarian, and nothing on the menus seemed to work out, someone went & got us a pizza from a place down the street!
The rooms (I saw quite a few of them) are all different & all interesting. The furnishings are an eclectic mix with many antiques. Note: If you have allergies, as I do, the lampshades, antique rugs, heavy drapes, were all a source of sinus problems, but I had my allergy medications, so that did the trick. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel on Bree street. This is a city hotel, so I was not surprised that there was noise at night & very early each morning during deliveries to the restaurant. I saw reviews in which people complained about noise, but it's a city hotel - it's to be expected. I think that the rooms overlooking the courtyard are probably even noisier as it gets very crowded in the evening.
As far as the dining, breakfast was a very nice selection of buffet items, or hot items off the menu. The pastries made each morning were particularly delicious. Breakfast can be taken in the quaint little kitchen, or outdoors. We had dinner on 2 occasions at the hotel, and you may order off off several different restaurants' menus. We found the food very good, and reasonable.
Despite the flaws with the hotel, I loved it, and would definitely return. The staff were very accommodating & tried to fulfill every request we had. Also - we enjoyed dining at the V&A Waterfront, which was only a R40 (US $5.00) taxi ride away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerriRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Having read rave reviews about the Cape Heritage Hotel, we were thoroughly disappointed in this hotel. It is quaint in a good location, but according to our experience the hotel is poorly managed. We stayed there at a time when we seemed to be nearly the only people there, as most of the doors to the rooms were open and there were no guests in them. Most of the rooms were indeed nice and spacious, as we had previously read in reviews. The first room we were assigned was next to a very loud air conditioner outside the window and the air conditioner inside our room did not work. Someone tried unsuccessfully to repair it, after which we were assigned another room. In this room the air conditioner very barely functioned and the lighting was so poor that we asked for a table lamp to be brought from another room to at least have some light! To read was impossible even then! Not once did someone from management talk with us or apologized even though we were obviously unhappy with the poor quality rooms we were assigned. We left the hotel thoroughly disgusted and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaCapeHeritage, General Manager at Cape Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Marlinda ,

We sincerely apologize for the frustration and inconvenience that you experienced with the air-conditioning units and room lighting, while staying at the hotel.
Following your feedback whilst at the hotel, we immediately remedied the lighting issue in the room you were staying in.
By way of explanation : When the housekeeping staff clean, the rooms are thoroughly checked by housekeeping and maintenance. The air-conditioning unit in your room was in working order prior to your arrival. We also have a serviced maintenance schedule in place and all air-conditioning units are serviced on a very regular basis. Whilst we do everything we can, it is however most regrettable when a guest is inconvenienced due to a malfunction that is out of our control.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us – they have definitely been used to improve on our service delivery to our guests.

Your sincerely,
The Cape Heritage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our sixth stay at Cape Heritage since 2006 and rather than repeat the other reviews, which largely reflect our views, confirm that our latest visit of 7days earlier this month was as good as all the others. Well done to the staff and owners for maintaining excellent standards and hope to return again soon !

Room Tip: This is an historical building so there is no double glazing and expect some early traffic noise in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Lovely large clean rooms and very helpful staff, especially Kelly who helped us out a number of times giving advice and booking activities for us. The main thing we loved about this hotel was it's location on Heritage Square which provided some absolutely fab eating options right on the doorstep! The courtyard also has a lovely atmosphere to sit and have a drink at end of a day's sightseeing.

The hotel is in a great spot to explore the main attractions of Cape Town and offers a very good taxi service which made us feel very safe at night. We would also recommend the hotel's airport shuttle service as this made things so easy when arriving, our driver was so friendly and informative and gave us a great introduction to the city!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greavester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We had a great experience at the Cape Heritage Hotel. The hotel is located in the city bowl, which is essentially the middle of town near most of the good (and less touristy) restaurants, as well as the museums. It's a 2 min walk from Bo Kaap and about 15 min walk to the touristy waterfront. Hotel staff are helpful with getting cabs, as well as arranging excursions and will go the extra step for you. Morning breakfast is included and very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Property: Cape Heritage Hotel
Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing