We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect starter honeymoon location in the Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

From our late arrival to our early departure, the staff at the Heritage were so very friendly and helpful. Our bedroom and in particular our bathroom was sumptuous, room 104. Great location for walking distance to city centre and the V & A Waterfront.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alba_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

This hotel met every expectation and far exceeded expectations in terms of service. You feel as through you are stepping back in time in this tastefully restored Georgian building. The wide floorboards and four poster bed completed the authentic feel. The situation of this hotel on heritage square with secure parking and 24 hr guards looking after your vehicle is perfect. They even called us when we had left the radio on in the car. You are a 2 minute walk from green market square and a short stroll from trendy long street. Lots of great restaurants in the square adjoining the hotel. A delicious breakfast is served in the kitchen or in the courtyard under a historic grape vine. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were always welcomed back by name and in minutes were served refreshments in our room or one of the intimate guests lounges. A perfect place to enjoy historic Cape Town

Room Tip: I think they are all good. I was in a front room overlooking the street it was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edujen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

After a long overnight flight we were greeted warmly, offered breakfast and looked after. Our room was a Junior Suite and we were pleased with the overall standard.Heritage Square is delightfully atmospheric and very convenient; there is no doubt it was a much better than the Waterfront. The staff were extremely pleasant people and strived to assist in every way. If we ever return to Cape Town we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Junior Suite 113 was roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingsFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Let me start this review by saying that my wife and I spent the first 5 nights of our honeymoon at this lovely hotel and I must say there could not have been a better way to do it!

In my opinion, in the hotel industry, the word no should NEVER be in your vocabulary. Cape Heritage only knows YES! From bringing you fresh coffee and breakfast every morning to taking care of all of our bookings (restaurant reservations, shipping my Jimbe drum home to the U.S.), you name it, they take care of it.

Next, the location of this hotel is perfect! Sure, you can stay in a very nice luxury hotel at the V&A Waterfront, but once you are done touring that area (and you will be after a 1/2 day) you will need to cab it to the main part of town. Cape Heritage is located just blocks from most of the must-see spots of Cape Town, such as the Green Market Square, Company Gardens, Long Street, Signal Hill and a host of great museums.

Lastly, if you want a social scene, great food, wine and atmosphere, you need not look any further than the Heritage Square, which abuts the hotel property. The Square includes great restaurants like Savoy Cabbage and Caveau...no cab or walk is necessary. It's all right there. Also, don't forget to visit the lovely Shay at the New Heritage Gallery for some excellent artwork and conversation.

In summary, if you are planning a holiday to Cape Town, stay here...you simply cannot lose!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Wonderfull decorated rooms, stuf are very supportive and nice. Young and lively atmosphere, from lunch time to late night the square yard is very attractive.
Great value for your money. We will come back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

While a great location and lovely interior, we felt a lot of things could have been done better, especially being a 4 star hotel. We were looking forward to our stay and booked a suite as this was a romantic get-away for us. We had an unfortunate arrival though, as they had a mix-up with our room booking which took hours to sort and in the end put us in a different (lower grade) room for one night. The manager did compensate for the mix-up, which we were pleased about and the room was very nice. However, when we did get into our suite the next day, we found a welcome note addressed to the previous guests, a half empty shampoo bottle and a stained towel. We had a bottle of champagne that was moved to the suite but they forgot the glasses. Not huge issues, but small things that the staff should address beforehand. The jacuzzi, as others have mentioned, is small and only fits 4 people. We went up one evening and the towels provided were wet and unusable. Breakfast was mediocre. A typical continental spread but the cheeses were hardened over and we felt the hot menu was lacking a bit in choice. Nice smoothies though. Staff were helpful, but we felt like some were not so approachable. I guess the overall feeling of this hotel is that it has a lot going for it and could be excellent (albeit lots of noise from the restaurants below that can't really be controlled), they just need to add in those extra touches to make it superb. Guests should always feel special when arriving and leaving.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NevBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaCapeHeritage, General Manager at Cape Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear NevBe ,

In the very first instance I would like to express my sincerest apologies that during your stay at the Cape Heritage, we did not deliver to you the service excellence we strive for.
This indeed started with a miscommunication regarding your room allocation – and whilst the matter was corrected the following day, there is no excuse for inconveniencing you thus.
The service issues regarding the Jacuzzi and housekeeping have been addressed and measure have been put in place to remedy the situation.

We value your feedback and would welcome a personal e-mail to the hotel regarding any suggestions you may have for improving the breakfast. Currently we offer :
A cold buffet which includes : 3 cereals, 2 yoghurts, homemade muesli, a fresh cut seasonal fruit platter, variety of pastries, cold meat selection, assorted cheeses, 2 different types of bread and an assortment of jams.
The cooked breakfast options are : Organic oats, French toast, Option of fried, scrambled or poached eggs, Omelet with filling of either bacon cheese ham or mushrooms, Full English breakfast as well as a choices of smoothies.
We also have a breakfast special that changes on a daily basis. Any suggestions of what you would have preferred, are most welcome.

Your comment regarding certain staff members who were not approachable is further of great concern, as this is the corner stone of our service and work ethic. Again, if you would, we would be grateful for a personal e-mail regarding this matter in order to follow it up fully.
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience – we view this as constructive commenting that assists us in always improving our service delivery.

Sincerely yours,

The Cape Heritage Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

A total gem of a hotel we loved in. We stayed in February for one night and it just wasn't enough.

The location is really central and close to the markets and some really good bars and restaurants within a stone's throw. We went to the African Cafe, it was worth a visit and made a change from the norm.

Our room was huge and lovely, we couldn't fault a thing with it. The bed was big and very comfy with nice pillows too.

The staff were second to none, they could not do enough for you and we had a late flight and our room was already booked out for the next day so they gave us a new made up room to use for a couple of hours to shower free of charge it was so appreciated.

The only tiny niggle we had is that our room was near the courtyard and a bit noisy until the bar had closed but this really is nit picking and was all quiet by 11.30pm.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony over the courtyard which was lovely but just a little bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,472 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#39 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,917 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £90 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing