We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Started off great, but left very disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Started off great, but left very disappointed...”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Cape Heritage Hotel for three nights during our trip to South Africa, two nights at the beginning of the trip and one night at the end of our trip. We had the same room for all three nights. The room itself was truly fantastic, great decor, comfortable furniture and bed, free wi-fi and all the amenities you would expect. The staff upon our arrival were all friendly and very helpful. As other reviewers have mentioned, the windows are not double paned, so you can hear the street noise a bit more than you might in a modern hotel. This was not an issue for us and we slept soundly. We left looking forward to our return and eager to write a five bubble review on TripAdvisor. Our second stay, however, was extremely disappointing. Different staff members were on duty than our first stay and they were not as helpful. We had arranged for late check out since we had a late flight out of Cape Town. The hotel had promised a 4pm check out. At 2pm we received a phone call in our room asking why we had not checked out. This was quite a nuisance since we were trying to get some rest before our evening flight out of Cape Town. The reason we needed this rest is because we had almost no sleep the night before. At about 3am music started up from one of the bars below the hotel. It was so loud it was like we were in the bar. This went on until 5am!! No exaggeration here whatsoever. I went downstairs to the lobby and had to find the on duty clerk. He was soundly asleep in a backroom. I asked him if the noise was normal and he said that it was only for this one night. I asked him how he expected anyone in the front of the hotel to be able to sleep through the noise. His response was "I don't know." While the hotel wasn't full, he didn't offer us another room in the back where we would have not heard the noise as much. So we were awake in our room until 5am waiting for the bar to close. Since we only stayed one Saturday night, we have no way of knowing if the desk clerk was correct in that the noise was only for the one night. When checking out of the hotel, the desk clerk asked if we had parked our car in the hotel lot. We replied that we had and she proceeded to do something in the computer. When we got to the parking lot, the lot attendant informed us that the hotel had not properly validated our parking ticket. Thankfully, he was kind enough to take it back to the hotel for us so that we could be on our way. In the end, Cape Heritage fell well short of our expectations and we would be unlikely to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back that does not face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank habs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaCapeHeritage, General Manager at Cape Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

In the first instance, I would like to thank you for your feedback.
The Management for the parking area has recently changed and I extend their apologies that the parking attendant on the Sunday was not fully briefed on the new procedures. They have since rectified this.
I am however most distressed about the events of Sunday morning regarding the music and the staff member. In order to complete our investigation into the matter, I need to clarify a few details. As they are of a sensitive nature, it would be greatly appreciated if we could communicate directly via e-mail : my contact detail : anja@capeheritage.co.za

My kind regards,
Anja Du Plessis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    195
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
158
691
84
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Upon arrival, I as a single over 65 male traveler, was accepted into their family - a staff, always ready to serve - no asking to be of service and then delivering. 17 guest rooms provides a modest basis for the excellence provided. My compliments to Anja, the manager, and Bamford and Fazlin.

My room was large, modern (hotel renovation 3 years ago), and the bed confortable to perfection. The bathroom fixtures were of a modern style better than any I have seen - shower head 12 inches in diameter providing a soothing "rain" on a tired body. The bath tub four feet deep also couldn't be resisted - why couldn't I convince my wife to join me? Well, atwo days of flights from Chicago does discourage the faint hearted..One suggestion, especially on a weekend, the hotel shares an interior courtyard with two restaurant, one of which features loud throbbing music until about 12:30am. I had late nights, but if you want to sleep before the drunks leave, get a room on the quiet street side.

The location in cental Cape Town is what I wanted and after two days of wondering and exploring I felt comfortable - all destinations were within a confortable 30 minute walk on clean streets, courteous drivers, and friendly people. I never felt threatened or in any danger even at night.

High points of the visit. The annual last weekend of March Jazz Festival is a winner and the Kirsternborsch Botanical Garden which displays the unique species of southern Africa, including Cycad trees unchanged from the days of the dinosaurs 200 million years ago.

As a traveler of now 53 countries I would rate Carne restaurant as one of the best - meat of all kinds cooked and sauced to perfection, as was all the gormet accompanyments.

Capetown is a enjoyable daytrip along the coast to the Cape of Good Hope - spectacular and beautiful senery. Don't miss Capetown.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iowaconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a great night out at Cape Heritage Hotel. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The room was superb - very clean and spacious (it was a suite) - the beds are comfortable and the bath tub was the best part! They have a jacuzzi on the rooftop but it was a bit cold - they told us after they can heat it higher. The breakfast was sufficient and tasty. My only suggestion would be to remind guests at booking that there is a parking fee but they must please look into it as this fee is higher on saturdays/sundays at the hotel than paying directly at the parking lot. I don't think the hotel is aware of this fact. The other thing would be to look into soundproofing our specific room as there was a private function in the square till midnight and the noise was quite loud. But other than that we would definitely recommend staying here and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that won't be disturbed by the square's noise should there be a function - if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVieyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Cape Heritage. It's a beatiful, boutique hotel located in a historical building with a charming courtyard attached. It is in a perfect location for exploring the town by foot, within easy walk to the Waterfront and other attractions. Our room (112) was very spacious and comfortable, with the big bathroom and lovely shower. Breakfast consists of great selection of fruit, smoothies, cold and cooked foods and can be enjoyed in the courtyard under the vine! All the staff were very helpful and happy to assist with any queries. Nothing was too much trouble. It felt like home from home, just the place you can keep coming back to. There is not much more I can add to praise Cape Heritage Hotel enough that hasn't been said before. We would highly recommend a stay at this fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: 112- very spacious double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Cape Heritage is a beautifully done small hotel in a historic building. Interiors include delightful works of contemporary African art, and rooms are excellent. The price at 1,100 Rand (about $150) was better than the hotels we checked (with Trip Advisor) on the Waterfront - and this includes an excellent cold and hot (cooked to order) breakfast. The location is perfect - with a nice wine bar in the courtyard of the square and easy walking to finds like Street Wire (neat pieces by contemporary artisans) and Fork (terrific tapas and wine) - we also walked to the Waterfront for the Robben Island Tour, quite doable. The day-time concierge/receptionist was most helpful. We were delighted to be at the heart of this unique city rather in the over-built, formulaic Waterfront. FYI this block was saved by citizen action from demolition in the 1960s - thank heaven!

Room Tip: Our room was 111 - that row of rooms looks out over a side street and parking lot so that it is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at teh Cape Heritage for a total of 3 nights and in two different rooms as our stay was split. Both rooms were fantastic with four poster beds and gorgeous bathrooms. The Hotel is in a great location near to Long Street and Greenmarket Square, but without the noise. It is in an old Cape building which had been used as a warehouse and boarding house in it's history but has now had a complete renovation. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning can be eaten in the central courtyard underneath their own grape vine. A good selection of fresh food is available along with smooties and a cooked breakfast. In the building are a couple of resaurants and bars which are lively but we had no noise from them to disturb our sleep when we finally went to bed. There are a couple of lounges at teh front of teh hotel to relax in if you so wish and the do a lovely afternoon tea with cakes. It is an excellent alternative to staying on the V&A and gives easier access to the bars and restaurants on Long Street which are easy to walk to and as there are loads of public safety officers about it is ok to walk around at night (taking the usual big city precautions). On our next visit to Cape Town we will definatelty be visiting the Cape Heritage again.

Room Tip: Room 13 is great, good view of Table mountain in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

From our late arrival to our early departure, the staff at the Heritage were so very friendly and helpful. Our bedroom and in particular our bathroom was sumptuous, room 104. Great location for walking distance to city centre and the V & A Waterfront.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alba_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Property: Cape Heritage Hotel
Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing