We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthy alternative to the international chains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

For the last 3 nights of our South Africa trip, we booked into a Junior Suite. The room was decked out with gorgeous reconditioned and antique furniture, with a beautiful bathroom suite of rain shower and massive bath tub. The room had all the facilities you needed, though tea and coffee facilities would be nice (although they will happily deliver to your room).

The staff there were second to none. We travelled with our 22 month old and every single staff member, from cleaner to manager, went out of their way to make her as welcome as we felt. The reception staff were knowledgeable and happily booked tours or recommended restaurants.

The location was spot on. As part of the Heritage Square itself, there were 7 restaurants and bars (if my memory is correct) as part of the Square. Some accessible from the internal courtyard, and some from the outside. Most importantly of all, it felt safe. The location was a stone’s throw from a host sites, including the trendy Waterkant, as well as Company's Garden, the museums and the like in the other direction. Also, only a short drive to the the V & A.

Defiantly a recommendation for a big chain hotel alternative.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin_The_Gerbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

What a shame that this lovely hotel kept us awake until after 2 a.m. with the loudest disco music; base thumping. Apparently the whole hotel had been booked by a wedding party, apart from our two rooms. Thoroughly spoilt my trip to Cape Town. More worryingly is the fact that the duty manager could not (or would not) be contacted to deal with this situation. Total disrespect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank katej_danh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed here for one night for our country to city "fix" and we really enjoyed it ! The breakfast was great, the staff were very attentive and helpful, the room was tastefully decorated .... an oasis in the city. I found this small hotel so full of charm and character and will definitely be back for our next city "fix" !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nut46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our daughter is in Cape Town for the semster studying at UCT, my wife and I took the opportunity to plan a visit. As I started to search for places to stay it became clear there were my choices yet they were not all of the same quality. We took a chance with the Cape Heritage Hotel (let's face it with international travel it's almost always a chance) and were not disappointed.

Where do I start, a cool hotel that has an African feel or vibe as they love to say in CT, it's in a great spot, safe and easy to walk to all in town attractions, comfortable, clean and modern (reliable WIFI which I found out isn't so in other places). The breakfast which is included was terrific, healthy and convenient before we started our busy days. Additionally, we wanted to go to a few places out of town (Stellenbosch and the Cape Penisula, must sees) but weren't sure how to get this done (rental car/taxi etc) They offered to organize a driver for the day and what a treat, we saw all sights and the fee was a good value (ask for Domingo) and all booked to our room for added convenience.

Lastly and most importantly the staff, I travel extensively in the US for business and few trips have I felt more comfortable with their knowledge and willingness to assist, they really care!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 948PeterC948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very nice small hotel in a nice part of town. good breakfast and always complimentry tea or coffee to have in the lounge...... Staff were always to hand to help or advise.Air conditioning not very good

Room Tip: Dont sleep with the bedroom window open, we were eaten alive with mosquitoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights at the start of our trip and 5 nights at the end of our trip. Rooms 117 & 106.

Fron the very start we knew we'd picked a fabulous place. The staff were helpful, attentive, professional and friendly every time we had dealings with them.

Room 117 overlooked the courtyard and was lovely with a huge bathroom, separate tv room and a huge balcony overlooking the courtyard. Although the room was big, we thought it would have been bigger as we paid for a luxury suite. We mentioned thsi to the staff and they said we'd be moved to room 106 for the 2nd time we were staying. This was clearly a free upgrade. Huge 4 poster bed, massive bath and big tv and lounge area. This room was excellent and it overlooked the street. At no time did we hear any noise at all.

The breakfasts were continental, cold meats and cheese, toast, cakes and fresh fruit and yoghurt. Also a menu with about 5 or 6 different hot options which were all cooked to order and were very tasty. Look out for the specials on the blackboard in the breakfast room.

The staff were fabulous, booking us tours, taxis, car hire and restaurants and even confirming our return flights for us. They also gave us a loan of beach towels, cool boxes with ice and cutlery and plates as wanted to do a picnic at Scarborough beach. We used the jacuzzi twice having booked it in advance and the hotel put a sign up saying 'private function' so we could enjoy the bottle of wine on ice they had prepared for us.
Nothing was ever too much trouble. My husband wanted to buy one of the Egyptian cotton bathrobes and having mentioned this at the desk, one new pressly size large arrived at the door less than 2 minutes later.

The hotel was spoltlessly clean, well maintained and the rooms cleaned and replinished often before we were back in the room after eating breakfast.

The hotel is situated in Heritage Square and there are several restaurant and bars there. You must try Bizerca, they use the same outside breakfast tables as the hotel do in the morning for their evening meals. Truly brilliant meal here, but book early. We booked 2 months in advance and we were lucky to get a table.

Special mention to Sydney, Abdul, Farzi and a very special member of staff who's name begins with a B, Barnham? Sorry my memory is bad with names, he was extremelt helpful and customer focussed, who went out of their way to ensure we had a most magnificent stay. If we ever return to Cape Town we will be staying here without question. It's close to Long Street where all the pubs, clubs and restaurants are - literally a 5 minute walk away.

You MUST come here, it's a no-brainer. Great boutique hotel with it's own charm, reasonably priced and impecable service.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vazbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed for 8 nights in late Feb13 and just as good as each of our previous 7 stays since 2006. Little has changed in the hotel - the high and consistent quality of the hotel and staff keep on drawing us back for more. We endorse the positive comments made in the numerous posts. In the past year the informal wine bar (unconnected with the hotel business), that occupied part of this building and courtyard has now been replaced with a lovely bistro and whilst we were there the remaining empty unit vacated by the wine bar was being fitted out by we understand a coffee shop. So, there remains an excellent variety of places to dine within the Heritage Square and of course there is plenty of choice within a short walking distance. The hotel location next to a secure open car park with reserved spaces is another benefit for people with cars. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Courtyard are quiet (no street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,880 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £84 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing