We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the centre of Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gem in the centre of Cape Town”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A lovely spot if you want small and don't mind not being on the waterfront. Also no pool but this didn't matter to us - rooms fabulous and all individually decorated. Heritage building so a bit quirky. The hotel is in a courtyard with restaurants attached so no need to venture out in the evenings if you don't want to. Service at the hotel was excellent and nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room to a junior suite if possible - they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwynnethv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    196
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
161
697
84
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here on our first night in South Africa. Room was large and stunning with a massive bathroom. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast Buffet was healthy with an excellent choice. Close to very good restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybb1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Cape Heritage for 3 nights just before Christmas. The room we were give just at the top of the stair was absolutely beautiful, will am very big comfortable bed and lovely bathroom with a roll top bath and shower. We faced the street but it was not noisy and felt very private. The room and hotel are in immaculate condition and very clean. The breakfast were delicious, both continental and hot and the staff are fantastic, going out of their way to make us comfortable. Also the location of the hotel is perfect, a short walk from Long Street and lots of good restaurants and bar. Overall we had a lovely stay and will be back.

Room Tip: top of the stairs to the right (luxury rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizplatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Ver nice hotell with very helpful and kind personell. :) The breakfast buffet was very nice if you like healthy food, and if you wanted you could order other alternatives from the menu free of charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolak_jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at this Boutique hotel for 3 days before moving on to the Garden Route. We'd stay again, in fact we did, returning to it for the last night before sadly travelling home.

Very friendly place, the staff would be more than helpful with any small request that you just know has been asked a million times before (Best advice, to to Table Mountain before 10am to avoid queues, they even booked it online for us which was a bonus).
Varied, fresh and high quality breakfast, different 'breakfast dish of the day' was a nice touch.
Very good rooms, from classic to chic, all with charm and all far from your standard hotel chain style. Slight minus was soem noise from the street, but to be expected as you're in the heart of downtown and an easy walk from cafes and restaurants. Yes, I said walk, we felt safe in this area at night. Parking is easy at a payable car park (with 24/7 security) next to the hotel, added to the bill.
In summary, nicely done and my best compliments to the hotel for making our trip that much better.

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely (you can't help but sneak a look as you pass by, they are all boutique s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinarDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I'm so glad we chose this hotel for our stay in Cape Town!
Excellent service, breakfast with the food of the day, nice big room and really interesting design, what else do you need?!
We definitely will be back there on our next visit to Cape Town!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mal2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Excellent choice for hotel in Cape Town
Staff was very friendly and helpful
Would recommend to our friends
Location was great with easy access to waterfront
Four or five resturants in vicinity. If we needed a cab, front desk personnel took care of it.
We were also able to book tours from the hotel which was nice
Traveled the last week of November 2013

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Property: Cape Heritage Hotel
Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing