We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely , Quaint, do not change a thing.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely , Quaint, do not change a thing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April, it ticked all the boxes, it's an old er style building, with a lot of well heritage ! Very oldie-worldie rooms, the owner (manager?) was agreat guy, the breakfasts in the wee courtyard out the back wer great, . . all in all a great find in an interesting city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    181
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
148
659
79
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very nice hotel. The hotel parking was a bit confusing if you do not know the hotel but a big open plan parking bay is located right next to the hotel and parking is charged at R65.00 for your stay. Check in was easy and you are informed of all the needed information on your way to your room. The hotel also has a Jacuzzi which is located on the rooftop and overlooks the city and Lions Head - very beautiful at night. Room service are fast and sufficient as well as check out. The only point of improvement I would say is their breakfast service. The first morning the breakfast buffet was so limited I felt sorry for the small pieces of left over fruit and bread available to choose from. After a couple of shouts from the waiter and 5 minutes later new fruit arrived on the buffet table. However it still did not look appealing. For the warm meals you can choose from a menu and was also very sad looking. The poor omelette you had to search for your filling. I do hope the person in charge of the F&B will seriously reconsider improving their buffet layout and standard as the rest of the hotel was excellent it’s a shame if this part brings the overall feeling of the hotel down. But overall I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room 109 was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lale-Burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaCapeHeritage, General Manager at Cape Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Traveller,

May I firstly offer my apologies that you could not experience our wonderful breakfast offering. Although the breakfast hours are from 07h00- 10h30, we normally keep the buffet open past 10h30 on a weekend. Unfortunately in this instance, due to other commitments, we did not extend the breakfast time. This meant that you were unable to make use of the full breakfast. I sincerely regret these circumstances and we look forward to your return, when I know that you will enjoy breakfast under the vine.
Our best regards,
The Cape Heritage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Spent one night and was impressed by the friendly staff and the beautiful individually decorated rooms. Lovely to spend time in one of Cape Town's historic buildings instead of the more commercial V & A Waterfront. Will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had two wonderful nights here at the end of our cruise on the Queen Mary 2 and everything was just perfect. The room was lovely nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel really welcome. Nothing could be faulted here and I will definitely go back. Lots of restaurants nearby and the staff will book for you before you set out.
The bedding, towels and toiletries were lovely and we were sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for only one night unfortunately, before flying back to the UK. The staff here are excellent, the rooms spacious and with every convenience you could desire. At a discounted rate of £77 including substantial breakfasts, this was exceptional value and worth twice the price.
A homely welcome and exceptional service from the reception team.
Don't think of staying elsewhere in Cape Town if you have an option.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Our stay at the Cape Heritage Hotel was at the end of our Cruise on the Queen Mary 2 and we were not disappointed with anything. The Hotel is unique, the staff are friendly and efficient. Well done all.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the lovely double shower/bath. Fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macwester2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel was excellent, our room was huge and decorated very well. The hotel is right downtown around several restaurants. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was amazing. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Property: Cape Heritage Hotel
Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing