We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't look like the pictures at all. Creepy rooms, bad service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doesn't look like the pictures at all. Creepy rooms, bad service.”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights 3/31-4/3. Was very looking forward to it because of the great pictures and reviews online. Turned out to be SUPER DISAPPOINTED.

1. Got Room 110:
- Horrible and weird decor. Strong colors, and pictures of people's faces on the wall. It's so creepy that my husband and I had a hard time falling asleep. Every time we open our eyes we see the faces on the wall staring at us. How uncomfortable! Animal skin prints and fur everywhere in the room.
- Room is right above a club. Drunk people partied till 3am. Noisy and the cigarette smoke went upstairs and I could smell it from this room.

2. Complained and got 'upgrade' to a junior suite Room 106. Not much better.
- Decor gone wrong again. Lots of antiques that squeaks and smells really old. Equally creepy. Strong colors like dark red, dark brown, black, everywhere. Carpet is very dirty.
- Bad design. For example: Shampoo rack in the shower is placed so high that I could barely reach. Sink faucet bigger than the sink, causes water to splash everywhere. Shower has the overhead rainfall design but no handheld shower head (seriously?). Leaky roof. Squeaky floor. Chandelier blocked by the bed canopy, so basically no light in the room, very dark. Talk about bad and impractical design.

3. As for the hotel itself: Still creepy decors everywhere. Hallway is dim and smells old. lots of huge antique art pieces that doesn't look artsy at all. The name "Heritage" really means "heritage". Everyday I kept wondering why people gave such good reviews. I even questioned if the hotel is haunted. That's how scary it felt. Breakfast was acceptable.

We basically had horrible 4 nights of sleep, couldn't wait to get out of there.

To add to that, one more horrible thing: When we arrived they told us to park our car across the street at the public parking lot, cost is covered by the hotel. When we were checking out, they told us it's NOT free and we had to pay for it. Front desk person was rude and all he wants is my credit card. Talk about horrible customer service! Why say it's 'covered by the hotel' when it's NOT. Didn't ask how my stay was, didn't care about my feedback.

Totally will NOT recommend this place. And I highly suggest the hotel to find a new interior designer to fix your decor. There's a huge difference between 'vintage' and 'creepy'. Currently the hotel is on the CREEPY side.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 110 or 106. Actually, don't even go to this hotel. Not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaCapeHeritage, Owner at Cape Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest

I am very sorry that you had such a horrible stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves with the décor and the friendliness of our staff. When designing this hotel we wanted to bring across the heritage aspect which also includes a bit of the colonial history with the more modern and traditional African. We are heritage but modern and colonial but African. we have put special attention to decorate each room differently and recognizing its heritage background.
106 is one of our suites and is very much heritage. When renovating we discovered the old colours they used to paint the walls and replicated this. I do not know if you saw but on the wall next to the door there is a patch left bare where you can still see the different time periods and colour patterns. All furniture in this room are antiques so are the floors dating back to 1771.
110 is a very modern African room the idea was to play with the colours black and white, so you have zebra striped fabric and black and white photographs of beautiful children. There are porcupine lamps and some zebra skin cushions.
Regarding noise there are strict rules that do not allow any of the tenants to play music after 12am. The restaurant which is below 110 is Bizerca: a fine dining bistro where people usually eat and leave between 10 and 11. The restaurants are also all non-smoking.
All our rooms have baths and showers with handheld showers either on the bath set or in the shower depending on the rooms.
All our art on the wall is a representation of the amazing artists we have in this country.
The parking is a public parking but all our bays are located next to the security hut occupied 24/7. If you go to our web page and look under services and parking you will read the following statement.
Parking is available in Riebeeck Square, on Shortmarket Street. The parking fee per day will be charged to your room account.

As of your experience with our staff I am really sorry as we really pride ourselves to giving our guests a warm welcome, help in any way possible and go out of our way to accommodate and organize their stay with us and beyond. Our staff are an integral part of the hotel and embody the diversity of our beautiful country.


Regards,

Victoria Nel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    199
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
168
709
85
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meekatharra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

After reading all the rave reviews on Tripadvisor I had very high expectations and every one of them was met. We stayed 3 nights here in September 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Fantastic décor and extremely comfortable. We loved Cape Town and if we are ever fortunate to visit again would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikNakRoyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Building has been renovated perfectly. Snug, comfortable lounges, beautiful art in every available space, plush bedrooms with super comfy beds and a surprising amount of space for an old building. We stayed in room 116 as we had our daughter with us and she was ecstatic to get her own room with a tv (the adjoining lounge area between 2 rooms with a put-up bed). It had a big balcony overlooking the courtyard which doubled as the outside area of the bar and the breakfast room on sunny days. Only small downside was that it was loud on Saturday evening but it was really a minor problem as we were out enjoying cape town and the bar itself was wonderful. Breakfast was buffet for cereals, cheese, ham, bread/rolls etc and there was a breakfast menu for hot food including a daily special. I had French toast with bacon and maple syrup which was delicious. Staff were incredibly helpful and the location was brilliant, far enough from the really noisy bars on Long Street but close enough to walk to the Parliament area and Long Street. Parking was 2 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkellysBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I never write reviews, but this hotel was so amazing, I'd be remiss not to comment. The staff is extremely willing to help and a pleasure to be around. The hotel itself is beautiful and charming, especially when compared to the bigger, resort-y types of hotels that are also options. Everything is squeaky clean, and feels almost new, or, at the very least, very lovingly cared for. The room was a dream - beautifully decorated with comfortable beds. Finally, the location was absolutely ideal. A short walk from Long Street, as well as the Waterfront and very close to a lot of yummy restaurants.

Room Tip: Don't get one near the wine bar! Lots of loud music unfortunately
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Myself and fiance had 3 nights booked at the hotel for the 10th, 11th and 12th March. The hotel is perfection! The location is fantastic, with loads of fabulous restaurants within walking distance. It is central to all major tourist attractions and with the car park next door such an easy place to come and go from if you have your own car as we did. The staff are all amazing - really friendly and helpful. On our second day we asked if we could check out after two nights and use our third nights booking a week later so we could go and meet friends down the coast....they were perfectly accommodating, changing our third nights booking to a week later with no hassles and completely free of charge - it also gave us the chance to check out another of the rooms in the hotel!! The breakfast specials is a nice touch and the top choice we felt. The rooms and really luxurious with really huge and comfortable beds. Expensive but definitely a top choice in our opinion. The only downside is that the roof top jacuzzi is freezing cold - but this is a minor complaint for an otherwise perfect stay.

Room Tip: Room 104 has a bathroom the size of a small apartment - it is amazing with a gorgeous stand along ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairePrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed for 4 nights in Feb 14 in the Cape Heritage hotel, a “boutique” hotel not far from the CBD. The staff were great, the rooms excellent and the food and service first class. Local travel advice was very helpful. My room was facing the street and I slept OK. Well done Bamford and the rest of the Cape Heritage team. Highly recommended for visitors to Capetown

Room Tip: My room was away from the courtyard at the rear - may be preferred for light sleepers when the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneyite4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Cape Heritage Hotel is a lovely central 4 star hotel. Lots of character and history. Our room was very nice, spacious and very well decorated. Staff were helpful and breakfast was great. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Property: Cape Heritage Hotel
Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing