We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed for 7 nights in total and as we went away on overnight trips we stayed in 3 rooms- the great thing is every room is different but all very comfortable and unique. The staff were very helpful, arranging car hire, tickets etc and giving general advice. Breakfast was really good- buffet and/or a choice of cooked breakfasts.Easy to get a taxi or walk-c 20 minutes-to the V and A. There are a number of restaurants around the Courtyard of the Hotel ( they do not disturb you) e.g the Savoy Cabbage/ Bistrot Bizerca we ate at both and were very impressed. There are other bars and restaurants nearby.Highly recommended especially if you prefer good quality boutique hotels rather than Hotel chains

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffcafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    183
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
151
666
79
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a Boutique Hotel with real character, each room is different unlike so many modern hotels where it looks as though they came off a mass production line.
The service offered by the staff is excellent, nothing is too much trouble. Although a taxi ride away from the Waterfront there are excellent restaurants within a few yards across an enclosed court yard.t

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the very inviting Cape Heritage Hotel. The staff was very warm & friendly, and the breakfasts were great. The hotel is a short cab ride (also walkable) to the V&A waterfront and and easy walk to a bevy of shops and restaurants. In fact, there were a couple of great restaurants on the same block as the hotel! I recommend this place for any first time visitor to Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was a solo traveler staying for both work and fun, and Cape Heritage was the perfect spot. Extremely comfortable room and amenities, including a great shower and tub. The staff was warm and helpful. The free wireless internet was fast and reliable, and the included breakfast was also great. Just steps from fantastic restaurants and bars. I won't stay anywhere else in Cape Town again. Beautiful decor and spacious rooms. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Three nights at the Cape Heritage was a real delight. From individual quirky comfortable rooms to the excellent helpful staff who fell over themselve to go the extra mile, my stay was made very enjoyable. Well situated for getting about with smart restaurants right on the doorstep. So refreshing to stay somewhere like this compared with all the large and often impersonal hotels. Absolutely charming.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

General:

If you are looking for a charming character hotel in Central Cape Town with easy parking and lots of restaurants within metres not minutes walking then this is for you.

On arrival I parked directly outside the hotel in order to find out where the car parking was and to off load my luggage. I then returned and put my hire car in the allocated hotel parking area within a guarded public car park on Shortmarket St, a 2 min walk back.

We were shown to our room No 110 which was a spacious, charming room with a view of Table Mountain. However after just 5 mins and before settling in we became aware of the "boom boom boom" of music coming from directly underneath the room through the floor not the window - this was mid afternoon and I was concerned it would get even louder at night. I immediately went to reception and asked for a new room. Reception handled the situation well and showed me to a new room (on the opposite side of the corridor to the original room).

I stayed at the Cape Heritage Hotel for two nights 15 to 17 Apr 14, booked via hotel.com.

Room

The "new" room we stayed in was slightly smaller than room No 110 and did not have a view at all (no great problem with lack of view). It was however totally quiet and remained so all night.

The room was immaculate, air conditioned, came with a mini bar fridge, LCD TV, tea/coffee making facilities. The double bed was comfortable.

The bath and single sink were in the bedroom whilst a powerful shower and loo were separate in a partially frosted glass enclosure.

Location

The Cape Heritage is in a perfect location for central Cape Town, whilst we didn't do any sightseeing on foot from here as we were in the Simons Town region for most of each day. However we were back each evening and never walked more than 50 m to a restaurant for dinner.

Service

Service was friendly and the required room switch handled efficiently.

Facilities

There is a Jacuzzi on the roof but I didn't have chance to explore it. The two guest lounges at the front of the hotel were charming and had daily news papers in - I couldn't tell whether I could get a drink brought into the lounge as there didn't appear to be a bar or anywhere to order one from.

Wifi

Free reliable wifi in the room.

Parking

Guarded parking just round the corner from the hotel on Shortmarket Street.

Food/Restaurant

In warm weather breakfast is served in a courtyard, however it was a grey overcast day when we stayed so it was served in a breakfast room off the main reception area. However it all felt a bit cramped and stuffy in the breakfast room and there didn't appear to be enough space for 18 rooms, I ended up stuck in a corner. Breakfast itself was a buffet range with hot cooked to order items.

The hotel itself doesn't serve dinner but there are loads of decent restaurants within seconds of the Cape Heritage Hotel; we ate at the following:

Bizerca Bistro - see seperate review. Actually attached to the Cape Heritage Hotel.

Africa Café, Shortmarket Street (http://www.africacafe.co.za/) 50 m from the Cape Heritage Hotel - see seperate review.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel they are quieter - not room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catttto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

After a lot of searching and reading reviews about diff. hotels I decided to try Cape Heritage. I am a frequent traveller and have seen many hotels and must say this hotel felt like home and left nothing to complain about. The rooms are individually decorated and the garden looks fabulous and cosy. The staff are very friendly and help with booking taxis or anything else which one needs. The location itself is really good as well just behind long street with many bars and restaurants close by.

I really loved the personal feel the hotel had and next time I visit Cape Town, I will not even consider looking for other hotels. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabond8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Property: Cape Heritage Hotel
Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing