We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Myself and 5 of my colleagues stayed at Cape Heritage and we were pleasantly surprised. All the rooms are individually decorated and all luxurious and clean. Breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great location in the city and close to restaurants and clubs.

Room Tip: if you stay over on a friday night the clubs nearby can be loud so request a room in a quieter area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nicky080686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Everything about the Cape Heritage is delightful - each room with its own elegant décor and furnishings, and all of it feeling like home. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful. A walk through to the cobbled courtyard adjoining takes you to some of the city's best bars and restaurants.
I would say more, but this is a secret gem only recently discovered by me and my friends - I don't want to find it constantly booked up!
Will just say that I stay in many hotels on business and this zoomed to the top of my list.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BarbaraJonesCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Delicious breakfast, that had plenty of options for everyone to enjoy. The adorable quaint rooms were perfect for the honeymoon setting. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again on my return to Cape Town. Don't hesitate to book. Enjoy the jacuzzi on the roof, what a treat.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for a week (It was our first visit to Cape Town). Cape Heritage is well-located - the waterfront is quite close, as is Table Mountain. There are half a dozen excellent restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel itself is in a historic building (translation: no elevators). The staff are wonderful - very obliging. The beds are comfortable, the rooms spacious, but there is an issue of noise every evening (loud music from nearby restaurants that share a courtyard with the hotel). The breakfast is very good, and they even catered to a special request so that our kids have a familiar breakfast after being away from home for nearly month. We would recommend the hotel highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (away from the courtyard).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frequentflier22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I decided to do a breakaway weekend in Cape Town (we're from South Africa, but always nice to just book yourself into a hotel and pretend you're a tourist once in a while).

The atmosphere in the hotel is wonderful - as you enter the hotel you get that distinctive "vintage" smell of wooden floors, antique furniture. Immediately to your left there's a lovely brandy/smoking room with a crackling fire - you just want to go sit down with a good book and glass of wine and relax before even checking in. The rest of the hotel makes you feel as if you're transported to Victorian era - lovely, vintage/antique decor.

The staff was extremely welcoming and friendly - explained everything to us about the city and surroundings, even though they knew we were locals.

Parking also was not a problem at all - the hotel has allocated parking pays in a secure area right next to the hotel at a very reasonable rate.

The room itself was huge - a super-king bed greeted us, full bathroom with massive shower and a batch - twin basin. Very comfortable and absolutely no complaints.

The location of the hotel itself is fantastic - its literally surrounded by a few of the top restaurants in Cape Town (eg Bizerca bistro, Savoy Cabbage, HQ) - so much to choose from within 1-2 mins walking distance. It's also extremely easy to get to the tourist attractions in the city - Waterfront, Cable way etc - all within 5 mins drive (if you don't consider traffic of course).

You can choose both continental or prepared breakfast (eg full English etc) in the morning - expertly prepared.

Overall, it was a wonderful experience. Of course don't expect a super-modern look-and-feel with marble and mirrors everywhere - if you want that, best look elsewhere. But if you want an extremely welcoming, luxurious and vintage experience - look no further.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank phasmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I had a fantastic stay. The rooms are superb. Some of them are very large with king size beds. The staff is very nice. They advised very good restaurants. Very informal atmosphere. I did my work in the kitchen. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank renny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My first visit to Cape Town. Historic building. Located well for walking to Bo Kaap Museum, District Six, Greenmarket Square, Company's Garden, Long St, etc. The staff here are very attentive and caring. The hotel has two great sitting rooms (one with a beautiful fireplace) with books and DVDs as well as a lovely courtyard (thought it was too rainy while I was there). There is also a roof deck with a nice view of Table Mountain and a hot tub. The hotel is impeccably decorated with some great contemporary art from local artists. They also have great historical photos of the area and the building itself. Definitely take a walk around the hotel and check it out. Each room is different and I loved mine. The bath had both a shower and a tub. They even provided both bath salts and bubble bath. And the heated towel rack was much appreciated on a stormy winter weekend. Nice breakfast, buffet plus made to order included in stay. The rooms have so many wonderful details, including international plugs so no worries if you forget your adapter. Lots of great restaurants ina walkable distance. I really enjoyed my stay here and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The hotel is lovely and the staff just puts it over the top.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aps101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,076 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,858 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,331 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £96 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing