We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel lobby beautifully designed with marble staircases and leads directly out to the relaxed pool area. We stayed on the newly renovated 7th floor and although the view of the convention centre was average the room itself was modern, comfortable and the beds very comfy. We stayed 5 nights and were looked after very well by the friendly breakfast and bar staff. The breakfast buffet was full of choice. The bar had little atmosphere but the staff were witty and helpful. The location is a good walk to the V & A but the hotel provided a courtesy bus. Really enjoyed my stay and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou2001_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

A beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. Especially loved the buffet and was rather impressed that the meat was halaal. Chef Laila was a pleasant and very charming woman.
I also loved that the room was spacious with glorious beds. This is definately a hotel I will be staying at again. Fabulous service all round.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fahmida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This hotel is just a complete package! The guy at the door with all the flags on his jacket is a wonderful distraction and just a warm welcome into the establishment. The staff are amazing!

The poolside on the ground floor linked to a bar ... what more can you ask for?

Next door to the CTICC (International Conference Centre), so what a pleasure! Free shuttle to the V&A Waterfront! We have had a couple of small scale meetings in the hotel, and felt really pampered and looked after!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Spent two nights over Cape Argus cycle race for third year now. Always welcomed, clean efficient, well-positioned, regular free shuttle to Waterfront, delicious generous breakfast spread. Have read five reviews below mine and can agree with all the positive sentiments. Poolside massage - for riders only!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views - mountain or waterfront - you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REGards-JNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel is across the street from the convention center and a stop for the double decker, red, sight seeing bus. The staff are courteous, very responsive and pleasant. The rooms are well - appointed, however, the hotel is upgrading many of the rooms. The daytime noise was very limited. The hotel is a short walking distance from the harbor and the central city's sights.

Room Tip: Ask about the daytime renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

What a great hotel that went the extra mile for all the cyclists at the Argus. They organised early breakfast on the race day, tropheys, refreshments after the race, massage station back at the hotel. An all weekend festive affair and a hotel that was on track with everything we needed. New revamped room was great too!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmyroberts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here for 10 days in Nov as part of the Building Blitz. The hotel is beautiful. Rooms are nice and large with very comfy beds. Breakfast each morning was delicious and staff were very friendly.Shower was also very powerful. Would definitely stay here ago.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravester33, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thanks so much for your kind words. I will certainly pass this onto my team who will be thrilled to hear that they were able to create great memories for you. We look forward to seeing you again......soon.

Warm Regards
Ravi and the Cullinan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,057 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,280 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,786 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £140 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Splitty, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing