We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We only stayed for one night and two days so our experience is limited however for the time that we were there we cannot fault The Cullinan. The shuttle service was good and on time, the staff were helpful and very polite - the hairdryer in the room packed up and a new one, plus an ironing board and iron we requested were delivered within 5 minutes - and they called the room to check we had received it. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. I thought serving free popcorn in the foyer during late afternoon was an interesting touch. It is well situated close to the waterfront and conference centre. I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanyati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    578
    145
    50
    24
See reviews for
289
447
52
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I just have to give the best possible review of the customer service received at this hotel - especially from the restaurant staff. On the first day there were no bananas at breakfast - I asked if they could find some, they asked how long I was staying, and lo, there were bananas every single day for the rest of my stay. This is just one small example of how well they treat the guests at the Cullinan.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyjedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Good, clean, nice and well located in a good environment close to shops and restaurants that you can walk to (during the day)

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelww40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed at the Cullinan for 3 nights while attending a conference at the ICC accross the road. The service was fantastic, the rooms good, breakfast great. The location was perfect, litterally accross the road from the convention centre. Overall a great experience, highly recommended and a definate place to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant_I_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in Cape Town at the start of our Holiday and were impressed by the quality of service at the hotel - the bar and restaurant were really attentive, we took the buffet option for two evenings (our Children's choice!) and the quality and range of items was outstanding. The chef even prepared a special stir fry for my 6 year old son (twice) and arranged for chocolate mikshakes to be sent up to the kids! The atmosphere was relaxed given that it was a busy hotel with mixed business and leisure guests. Our last day coincided with the Two Oceans marathon and although obviously maxed out the hotel did all they could to accomodate guests during the busy peak breakfast period. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKMom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here in Feb 2012 with a toddler and were impressed with the hotel. The rooms were nice and renovated with great views and the food was great. Breakfast was excellent with a great variety but the service at breakfast was terrible with the waiters neglecting our table and we had to for example order toast about 3 times.
The hotel is mainly for business people and although has a nice pool area there is no garden for children and the pool area is small.
The hotel has a complimentary shuttle service to the V & A waterfront which is an added plus.
The most impressive part of the hotel was the chef called Layla who prepared fresh fish for our toddler every night and evern arrived to the room to meet him on the last night with a little backpack and some goodies as a gift.
All in a all a nice hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAtraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

Good location with complimentary shuttle service to V+A waterfront. Rooms was newly refurbished with 2 double beds. Kids stay and eat free under 18 very welcome. Breakfast buffet was comprehensive and everything was fresh. The staff went out of their way to make the stay pleasant. No LAN in the rooms but Wifi available although overpriced. Even Internet in the business centre is not free.
But all in all a pleasant stay although rates are just market related.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank WLRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,929 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,202 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Property: Southern Sun The Cullinan
Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8004, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing