We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great luxury location in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great luxury location in Cape Town”
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the Cullinan when I attended a conference in the Cape Town International Conference Centre, which is a two minute walk from the hotel. Every staff member seems to be friendly and customer focused. Check-in was quick and efficient, the room was ultra-clean and everything in the room was in a good working condition. There is a seperate shower, you do not have to stand in the bath to shower. Room service was great and quick to respond. I chose to have breakfast in my room and it was delivered right on time and exactly as I ordered. I think this is a great hotel to stay in and at reasonable pricing. Great location close to the Waterfront and exit routes to the airport. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JV_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    584
    145
    52
    25
See reviews for
298
451
54
616
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My first visit to the Cullinan - very nice. Great customer service, tasty breakfast buffet with an array of cereals, hot porridge, grills, omelettes and pastries.........yum. My room was very very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Easy walking distance to the Victoria Waterfront, lots of restaurants and shops with live bands and entertainment in the open square. Lovely bar area alongside the hotel swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucrecia1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherwood park, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Wonderfully attentive staff who look after you, plus a lot of little extras (afternoon refreshment when you arrive, little snack plates, fresh fruit at the desk all the time, they remember your name and what you drink when yo go to the lounge) make this a great place to stay.

The hotel has touches of old world charm with modern updates.

Not sure if this is done on purpose, but the pool / lounge area has a very friendly house cat who just wants attention (and not food),

The hotel has a free shuttle to and from the Waterfront area so you can safely get there and back. It also has car service that you can order to pick you up from Capetown Airport.

Room Tip: Stayed in the original part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel for a weekend.

The rooms are beautiful and stylish with all the necessities in place.

The staff members are all very friendly. We had a problem with the staff from the restaurant though, we went there for a coffee and pastry in the afternoon, they said we should have come in the morning as the pastries were still fresh, then we asked for an upsize coffee where they said then we will have to drink it out of a paper cup, so we decided to rather leave.

The rest of our stay was nice and relaxing, the breakfast buffet is amazing and there is a wide variety to choose from.

If you take your own car just keep in mind you have to pay for the parking on departure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Firstly location, this is nowhere near the waterfront, so either be prepared to take taxis or arrange your evening around the hotel shuttle bus which goes once an hour.
Nothing much around the hotel except the conference centre, so only really convenient for that.

We were unfortunate enough to be staying here when the Telkom conference occurred and they put two rooms of extremely noisy and drunk young men on either side of my room, even after 3 calls to security they wouldn't get them to stop partying and in the end I had to move rooms at 11.30 at night, not something I appreciate on business when I am working long hours, or at all as a lone female walking down a corridoor filled with drunk guys.

The new room was opposite the cleaners cupboard and the cleaners were loud rude and obnoxious, waking me up at 06:00 every morning with their shouting and carrying on, when I told them to keep it down they were cheeky and rude to me and I then complained to the shift manager I was told "Sorry madam they should have apologised for waking you" no actually your staff should not be shouting and laughing outside the guest bedrooms at 06:00 on a Sunday morning. They did nothing about the noisy cleaners

Though the lobby looks nice, the rooms are run down and tatty, I believe they are gradually renovating it, certainly needs it, peeling wallpaper and dated decor in the bedrooms.
Breakfast is a noticeably lower quality than other members of the Southern Sun chain, and a couple of mornings I struggled to get anyone's attention to get the basics such as coffee and toast.

Wifi is very slow, once I logged on to my company's VPN server it pretty much ground to a halt.

I didn't use the gym at this hotel, was too exhausted from lack of sleep.

Worst hotel I've stayed at on business, ever. I'm giving it poor instead of terrible because it was clean.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusansBackInScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We only stayed for one night and two days so our experience is limited however for the time that we were there we cannot fault The Cullinan. The shuttle service was good and on time, the staff were helpful and very polite - the hairdryer in the room packed up and a new one, plus an ironing board and iron we requested were delivered within 5 minutes - and they called the room to check we had received it. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. I thought serving free popcorn in the foyer during late afternoon was an interesting touch. It is well situated close to the waterfront and conference centre. I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanyati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I just have to give the best possible review of the customer service received at this hotel - especially from the restaurant staff. On the first day there were no bananas at breakfast - I asked if they could find some, they asked how long I was staying, and lo, there were bananas every single day for the rest of my stay. This is just one small example of how well they treat the guests at the Cullinan.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyjedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,962 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Property: Southern Sun The Cullinan
Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8004, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing