We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I'm very surprised at the review below. We have just arrived back after a stay at this hotel and found it to be superb. The staff were extremely professional, polite and helpful in all areas. We had an issue with a suitcase which we initially couldn't trace and the staff were as helpful as they could have possibly been and accepted our apologies very gracefully when we found it was an error on our part. (Thanks especially to Barbara.)
The breakfast choice was excellent and I don't know what else you could have wanted. It was all very fresh and unlike the previous reviewer we never had to queue at all.
We loved this hotel, it was in a good position with a shuttle bus service to Waterfront, good food and excellent staff and we would definately stay here on any return trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind response. I am delighted that our team took such good care of you and I do hope that I will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

I have stayed at the Cullinan many times over the years and was disappointed this trip. What was once a luxury hotel is now average, sometimes bordering on poor. Things like no free wifi, poor attention to detail, smelly showers, slimy and stained baths, inconsistent delivery of linen, noisy housekeeping staff and queues at breakfast made this stay a less than great experience for me. This hotel is wonderfully located across from the CTICC and close to the Waterfront, it has a lovely pool area close to the lobby and the rooms are spacious and well equipped but their attention to detail that gave them high standards has slipped. Time for them to reinstate their mystery guest programme! And invest in free wifi, its a world wide standard!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank MissTMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, as it is the only tool we have to continuously improve our delivery.
It is clear from your comment that we failed to meet your expectations, and I would therefore sincerely like to apologise. I can assure you that we value your business and your support and that I will personally endeavour to rectify these matters.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Cape Town is beautiful. this hotel was pure old world charm. Elegant and comfortable. We did whale watching and took a tour of the entire city, viewed tabletop mountain, shopped for wine, and explored the city.

Room Tip: All rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I m delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our city.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel was booked for us by South African Airways. It was over the Christmas holiday and very busy with lots of families. The hotel is in a good location directly across from the convention center. You can walk to the V&A Waterfront area, or free transportation is provided on a regular basis. Our room was small but comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet is enough to keep you going during a long day of touring. We stayed five nights! A very good base.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I have already shared this with the breakfast team and they are pleased they added value to your stay.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The hotel was top notch.This hotel was chosen by Globus tours and we were not disappointed. It is close to the waterfront by taxi.the staff were excellent especially by the french spoken by the gentlemen from Congo. We are from Quebec Canada.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaceyGreenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We receive numerous positive comments from our guests that visit our hotel from international destinations on a tour. I am glad that we did not disappoint you.
Hopefully, upon your next visit to Cape Town, Southern Sun The Cullinan will be your first choice destination.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had a great time at this hotel! They offer a superb breakfast, very clean and modern rooms with great views of Cape Town. My kids enjoyed the pool area and it was a very relaxing space to be in. We ordered food at the pool and this was well presented and tasty. We were also offered free parking and used the free shuttle service to the Waterfront. The new suites at the hotel looks great! Would love to stay in one of those next time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Fraters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted that my team exceed your expectation and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have recently refurbished our Suites, and I concur with your sentiment. They are magnificent and definitely an aspiration purchase.
I hope that upon your next visit, you will choose to stay in one of our suites and that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back personally.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed at the Cullinan for a week and absolutly loved it! The hotel has recently been renovated and looks fresh and modern, yet still classy. The decor was exactly my type so it was wonderful staying at a place where you look all around and you like everything you see.
While there's a large amount of business travellers due to Convention Centre right accross the road, the place doesn't have that call business air to it, and that's in big part thanks to the staff and management, who are warm and friendly and make you feel very comfortable and at home everytime they see you again.
I was still wondering why the hotel is not a 5 star, and it has nothing to do with service or luxury, the hotel is indeed a luxury hotel, just, for example, to qualify for 5 star, they need a second restaurant, which is not really needed, so, it's like staying in a 5 star, but with the bonus of paying for a 4 star.
Tip mainly for the international travellers who are used to making use of public transport: the hotel is centrally located, I wouldn't want to stay in any other hotel due to it's location, we love walking and we are "friends" of public transport, so we ended up not even renting a car. Long street was less than 10 minutes leisure walk, same to V&A Waterfront, the whole are is SAFE, you can walk around at any time of the day, which we did. It's also very near the Civic Centre, where a very nice bus takes you straight to the airport (no stops on the way), so you don't even need a taxi!
The train station is also less than 10 min walk away (probably just 5 min), the trains are in great condition, they also felt absolutly safe, we always happened to make use of them during quiet times (around 10am everyone is at work already, so very quiet), if you want to do Muizenburg, SImons Town and those area, the train travels along the beach, beautiful!
The views from the room are also great, to one side the sea and the lights of the V&A, to the other, the mountain.
Wouldn't want anything else from a hotel, if you are planning a visit to Cape Town, you should, seriously, stay at this hotel! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time out to give us such comprehensive feedback! Our team is humbled by your kind comments.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,084 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £130 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing