We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Our stay at the Southern Sun The Cullinan was the most pleasant stay we have every had at a hotel. In order to appreciate the warmth and friendliness of the staff, you will have to be there because I can’t make comments that are favorable enough to convey the great attitude of all the staff members, regardless of what their responsibilities were. I doubt that we will ever have the opportunity to return to Cape Town but I can guarantee that if we do, our stay will be at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leroy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel before and always found it to be great value in an ideal location for the Waterfront area of Cape Town. This time my wife had a fall close to the hotel. The staff are brilliant, providing first aid, arranging doctor, getting a taxi to the hospital, etc . The manager appointed one lady, Joan Barker, to look after us and be a point of contact. She could not have done more and is a wonderful person.

Our thanks and highest praise for everyone at the hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKTraveller206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Kaspersky Africa Partner Conference September 16th to 19th 2013 - Shuttle service complementary every hour to and from V&A waterfront. Close to CBD. 500mb free wifi per day. Quick turn around from staff for what ever. Room lights are controlled at every other angle. Makes life easy if you met Jack Senior and his son Gentleman Jack.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Titus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

As I've already indicated that this is my favorite hotel, I recently stayed there again. And again I was pleased with everything. The rooms, the service, the food, the staff, the location....this is where I stay in Cape Town during business trips.

Pitty I forgot to ask for the general manager as he invited me. Will definitely try to remember next time. The only thing missing, which might be the booking agency's mistake, is that I'm not recognised as a frequent guest. Not that its important to me, but I see its part of their service offering and review question.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whydoyouneedascreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of spending 7 nights at the Cullinan hotel on our honeymoon. We found the service, comfort, cleanliness friendliness and style of the hotel to be wonderful and thouroughly enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast each morning was a treat, the rooms were well serviced and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Room service, not something we do often, was well worth the expense on the one day we felt too tired to go out the room and eat. Excellent hotel and we look forward to visiting there again. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it did not have the greatest as it is in the middle of Cape Town. This is no fault of the hotel but is what I would expect of a 5 star review.

Room Tip: We got a room with 2 double beds because of availability and would have preferred a room with a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LawrenceJacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here while on a business trip. The hotel staff were very welcoming and courteous. The rooms were clean and nice. The hotel location is a big plus too. It's right in the heart of the city, beside Cape town International Convention Centre. There are nice eateries and shops close by. I would recommend it for business travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffy_16P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the hotel recently.
The rooms were very comfortable, and the service was exceptional.
Parking was very easy, and the breakfasts were as good as always.
The views from the room was simply awesome.
I cannot think of a single thing that was out of place.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Parking Garage is right next door to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,083 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £132 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing