We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Cullinan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped. The breakfast was of very high quality with a good variety and excellent service. Our stay was wonderful and we will surely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Marthinus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Spent a week during December. We got the summer special rate so really value for money. Location is excellent, close to V&A Waterfront and table mountain. Rooms are typical of southtern sun hotels. Staff extremely effecient and very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank haroonc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Not worth the price paid, on our arrival, my husband and I were debited an additional R2000 even after paying for our accommodation in full, and the hotel has still not reversed our funds, the lady at the front desk was arrogant when we asked why she deducted the amount she did. These hotels usually just take R350 p.er night as pre authorization fees and reverse the monies at departure. In our case this was not what took place. Their parking bays are not at the legal size which should be 5m x 2.5m, and their double deluxe rooms are very small for the price paid. What we went through could have just been led by a few people we had to deal with but, please all get a heads up when you parking your vehicles and when they ask you to pay fees at the front make sure they know what they doing. Goodluck

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingjyoti29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here on honeymoon, it has a great team of staff, all so friendly and
eager to help. Food, location &standard of rooms are 5 star. Will definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Antoinette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We recently spent 2 nights here And could not fault its location, staff or food. Drinks are very reasonable and it's just a short walk to the V&A waterfront. Rooms are well appointed, though some are showing a bit of wear and tear. The beds were lovely and breakfast choice was large. We'd happily return on our next visit to the city.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the Southern Sun The Cullinan and enjoyed the friendly hospitality of the staff, the central location and the comfortable rooms. Their buffet breakfast was extensive and delicious with fresh egg dishes made to order and a generous supply of fresh fruit and pastries. We also ate several meals in the bar cafe because the food was so good and quite reasonable. We especially enjoyed the fish and chips which was delicious hake. I rarely order hamburgers, but theirs was delicious and quite generous (200 grams).

I used their shuttle to the waterfront shopping area and it was on time and free. Internet was free and adequate.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor had wonderful forceful showers and lots of hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WireWrapGems2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

it's situated at the business district, next to Westin Hotel, exactly a minute walk from the Convention Center, close to lower long street. Location is nice except the fact that you may not get good views from your room unless you specify that you need Waterfront/ sea view. Waterfront is close to 10 minutes walk.
Room was clean, comfortable, little old though. Wifi connectivity is good, never faced any problem.
the breakfast selection and the choice is really good. Staffs are courteous, the reception area is always busy, you might have to wait a bit before they can help you.
Hotel rate is not at all competitive and compared to the money you need to spend here, your expectation is naturally high! They fail to live up to your expectation here. After spending 3 nights, I do not recollect even a single moment when I felt overwhelmed or touched, forget being delighted!
Just another stay.

Room Tip: Take a sea/ water front view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arunangshu_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,163 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,347 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,854 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,862 reviews
Winchester Mansions
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £106 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, bedfinder AG, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing