We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cullinan Hotel - Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at the Cullinan hotel during the weekend of the 10th May 2014 and i must say that I received one of my better hotel experiences. On checking in - i was immediately taken aback by the stunning lobby. Check in was a breeze and expertly handled and i was greeted by several courteous staff along the way to my room. The room was tastefully decorated and was finished in a a quite modern manner. I had previously stayed at the southern sun -next door - and this was much nicer.

Room service was delivered efficiently and the choice-although limited-was delicious. a nice touch was the 24 hour room service menu.

The turndown service was also quite good. I visited the bar as well - and i enjoyed the warm and friendly atmosphere.

the next time i am in Cape Town - will definitely stay here or reccommned this to colleagues and friend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Deepesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Cullinan this weekend. We were immediately impressed by the service we recieved. The hotel staff were very friendly and explained the facilities we could use as guests.The room was clean and spacious. We ordered room service and the food was excellent- we even recieved a call from in-room dining to ask us if we required anything extra with our meal! Close to the V&A waterfront (free hotel shuttle service offered) and close to the highway.Very well maintained property, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshikaDheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you ever so much for your kind comments and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time out to tell us about your experience. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great option if you are planning on spending a few days on central Cape Town. The hotel is located across the street from the Cape Town International Convention Centre, which makes it great for business trips. It is also located 5 minutes from V&A Waterfront, and offers complimentary transfer services to and from the Waterfront. The breakfast is great and a wide range of options are available. The room is really clean and organised and wi-fi internet is offered free of charge. The hotel also has a great pool, a buffet restaurant and a bar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Luiza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Cullinan is a well run hotel. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. However, the front desk is a badly under staffed. Checking in and checking out takes ages! This is a pity as overall the service from porters, security, waiting staff, house keeping etc is really good.
In terms of the rooms, they are rather small. I was first offered a twin bed room which left little space to swing a cat. I moved to a double rom which was a little better. The bathrooms are very small and to get into the shower, you have to close the bathroom door in order to access the shower cubicle. If I were on a leisure stay, there are better places to stay where the views are more attractive than concrete buildings. If you are not staying in the hotel for long and on business and out most of the day, then The Cullinan would be ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up where it will be quieter away form the Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liquidgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

fabulous, efficient and convenient! Staff are very friendly nothing to hard or impossible. Pleasure staying with such professionals
Food is good , service is availbale at any time of the day or night!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Chardonnay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you ever so much for your kind comments and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time out to tell us about your experience. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is not what you want to hear from hotel staff to a simple request of placing a bottle sterilizer in a microwave for 4 minutes. At least the second waiter we asked did it gladly and earned a good tip for it. It is a beautiful hotel with comfortable rooms. Most of the staff are friendly and competent. The rest of what one would expect of a 4 star is there but it is a far way off from the service of the 5 star across the road. What disappointed me the most was the dinner we had from the bar menu. Tsogo Sun even has posters in reception of their prided chefs. Then I fail to understand why the hake and chips I ordered consisted of McCains chips and fat cakes with some fish somewhere inside. My wife's vegetarian curry was so hot that we could not taste whether it had flavor. With so many hotels in Cape Town, I may try another next time. Overall still not a bad experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oliviersfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
It is only through constant feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our service delivery and guest experience. We appreciate you telling us about your concern and hope that upon your next visit to Cape Town you will allow us the opportunity of a second chance.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Had a very good stay at this hotel.

Located centrally in Cape Town with staff very attentive and helpful.

Breakfast buffet had a good selection and the valet parking was a nice surprise.

Only drawback would be the room sound insulation, it can definitely be improved.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank zhenn z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,260 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,762 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £131 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing