We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value business or pleasure”
Review of La Splendida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Splendida
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value business or pleasure”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Lovely small hotel in art deco style. Centrally located to all major attractions. Rooms are exceptionally spacious given the price range. Great restaurant as part of the hotel. Room service is available. Sizable work station in the room when traveling for business. Lock up parking available behind the hotel but parking on the street outside the hotel is not a problem and safe. TIP 1: enquire about the daily walk-in rate as this is sometimes cheaper than the advanced booking rate. TIP 2: take your own 2point plug adaptor.

Room Tip: Ask for either a sea view or a mountain view rooms. All other rooms face the neighboring buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellex_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Bellex_13,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review in respect of your stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your time with us and that our location and the set up of our rooms was convenient for you. I will definitely look into the situation regarding the 2point plug adaptors and ensure they are available on your next visit. Hope to have you back as our guest again in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    86
    41
    13
    15
See reviews for
30
71
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stay at La Splendida whenever in CT for business.

The rooms are spacious and furnished in a contemporary retro fashion. If positioned at the front of the hotel the views are fab. A hop and skip across the road and you are on the prom by the sea....perfect for an early morning run or walk. Also great for people watching!

I am not going to get warm and fuzzy about the rooms as they are not the jewel in this hotels crown. The newly renovated bar and restaurant area is where I enjoy spending my time. Whether breakfast, lunch or dinner this is a great spot. The dirty vodka martini is one of the best I have tasted. The staff and friendly and plentiful, so you never wait to long by SA standards.

The menu has a nice variety of small dishes perfect for sharing and mains to suit all tastes.

Reception is always friendly and willing to assist where possible.

I like it here!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MairiWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear MairiWat,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review in respect of your stay at the La Splendida Hotel. We are very proud of the upgrades made at Sotano Restaurant and will be making a few adjustments to the rooms in the near future to add some extra comfort on your next stay with us. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just spend a few nights at La Splendida recently, and truly enjoyed my stay.
One the day of arrival the friendly staff immediately made me feel at home.
The rooms was very clean and neat and the Service was good and attentive.
The location is also very convenient, and will definitely recommend to other potential visitors.
I would just like to thank Elana and her team for the excellent service they have given me.
Will definitely be a returning customer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpfourie790324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear jpfourie,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review in respect of your stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am so glad to hear that you will be returning to us in the near future and hope you will make La Splendida your home in Cape Town. I will personally thank Elana and her team for taking such good care of you during your visit. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

La splendida is a very lovely small intermate hotel, with amazing staff that look and really go the extra mile to make your experience so much more. The view is amazing and the late nights with the light house just about 100m away really creates a truly unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: "sea view is a lovely way to wake up every morning"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Jesse,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review in respect of your stay at La Splendida Hotel. The best reviews are always the ones that tell us that our team is doing a good job. We are glad you got to enjoy the beautiful views La Splendida has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Cape Town!


Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Spent 6 nights at La Splendida whilst in Cape Town for work. The hotel is easy to find and has a great location - close to a variety of restaurants and with sea views. The rooms are very large and have a great retro feel to them. Bed was really comfortable and enjoyed the sliding door instead of a window to let the sea breeze in. Service from staff was always friendly and polite.

The building work is still ongoing next door and this can be a bit busy during the day - but then you are normally out and about during the day to enjoy the sights and sounds of Cape Town anyway. The bathroom was ok but had a bit of a damp smell. The small mini bar fridge in my room was rather noisy at night but reception finally replaced this for me. Wifi reception wasn't the best in the room - great in the restaurant and in reception area. Food from the restaurant was some of the best I had during my stay in Cape Town!

All in all great value for money and a lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: Try booking one of the rooms higher up - so not the first floor - as the sounds from the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsMKuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review in respect of your stay at La Splendida Hotel. It is always good to hear about what we are doing right and always helpful to hear what we can improve on. We will look into all the issues you have raised - especially the damp smell in the bathroom. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the management team at Sotano Restaurant - hope you got to try the amazing lamb burger. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My partner and I recently spent a long weekend and I must say that we were very disappointed by the hotel . First it was next to a building site and the constant noise levels were horrific. Secondly , I am not sure when last the air conditioner was serviced , but there was a stench in the room that came from the air con unit. The hotel is very centrally situated , and within walking distance to the Waterfront, and the restaurant downstairs is not bad, but the service is very average.

Room Tip: Ensure the building next door has been completed prior to making a booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Warren,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review in respect to your stay at La Splendida Hotel. It has been our policy from the time that the construction started next door to inform all guests in writing of the possible disturbance at the time of the reservation being made, so please accept my sincerest apologies if this was not done. Please be assured that all your feedback will be taken seriously and addressed with the hotel manager.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night as were were unable to stay in our own house and needed to be in the city. The location is lovely, right on the sea, the room was very spacious and well appointed (huge bathroom), and the staff were delightful. There isn't a garden and pool and things like that, but it doesn't pretend to have such things. If you need a base to explore from it's perfect, and I have no hesitation at staying there again and recommend it highly for anyone wanting a pleasant seaside room in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoedeHoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear GoedeHoop,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review in respect of your stay at La Splendida Hotel. The best reviews are always the ones that compliment our staff - I am so glad that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. I am glad you found the room and the facilities comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Mojo Hotel
#115 of 203 in Cape Town
238 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
350 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#79 of 109 in Cape Town Central
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The One 8 Hotel
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
258 reviews
Spring Tide Inn
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
166 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Splendida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Splendida

Property: La Splendida
Address: 121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Splendida 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Splendida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Splendida Hotel Cape Town Central
La Splendida Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing