We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of La Splendida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Splendida
Ranked #83 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cape Town.Great value and location. Secure parking on request.Friendly and efficient staff. Clean rooms and a view to die for.Once you visit this hotel, you will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lesatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Lesatsea,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly for the great views of the Atlantic ocean from your room. I will be sure to let the staff know at La Splendida Hotel know too of how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Conveniently situated friendly helpful staff and great sea view with good restaurant. Good walks on esplanade and lots of dogs. Accessible for visitors. Great live music on weekends. Large rooms and showers

Room Tip: Sea facing top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Joanne,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. This is a lovely review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you once again and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights here while in Capetown. Location is great! One of the Hop on/off bus stops is located conveniently across the street (stops about every 20 minutes). Getting from the hotel to the V&A waterfront is quick and only about a $5 cab ride. The room was very large and spacious, comfy bed, and air con. We requested an ocean front room, which is what we got and was quite lovely and what we saw online is exactly what we got. The front desk was great for booking activities through and they were very quick and easy to deal with. The restaurant was nice, and must be quite popular because it was always quite busy! Only complaint was that there was construction going on and it started quite early in the morning, but this isn't really something that can be controlled!

Room Tip: Request ocean front and ask for a higher floor. We were on the first floor and you could hear the mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank CC_Travel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear CC_Travel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to thank my team for taking such good care of you and will pass your compliments on to the restaurant Managers. I am sorry that the construction noise inconvenienced you during your stay and can assure you that all work around the hotel is now completed. Thank you once again and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

i would reccomend this hotel to anyone i love the service the decor the location hell it is absolutely stunning the staff are friendly and helpful i've travelled all over South Africa thus far i feel this is a hidden gem

Room Tip: Sea facing are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 269Valentino1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Valentino,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am glad our little gem is being discovered and that the team made your stay a memorable one. Thank you once again and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The customer service was highly personal and friendly. The attached restaurant had great food, and service. The location of the hotel was beautiful, overlooking the historic ocean and historic lighthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank swilson134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Swilson134,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to thank my team for taking such good care of you and will pass your compliments on to the restaurant Managers. Thank you once again and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The food and service here was average to good and the room was OK, but nothing fantastic. We had a great view of the ocean from our balcony, which is always a plus. And we were within a short taxi/bus ride from the Cape Town Waterfront, a MUST for any traveler to the area.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, or you will be looking at the soccer stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

La Splendida is one of those places that is in my mind exactly what it sets out to be. I has a great location convenient to beach front and Cape Town city center. As another reviewer nails it, their attention to detail isn't great - example, we had a light that didn't work and despite a promise it wasn't fixed. The service was good a friendly. I feel I got what I paid for and was satisfied with what I received.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RNC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear RNC,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and will definitely address the concerns you have raised with the Hotel Manager. We are continuously striving to improve the offering at the hotel and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.8 mi away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#106 of 110 in Cape Town Central
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#46 of 110 in Cape Town Central
273 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 110 in Cape Town Central
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl
#70 of 110 in Cape Town Central
62 reviews
1.9 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
220 reviews
1.8 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#85 of 110 in Cape Town Central
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Splendida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Splendida

Address: 121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £67 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Splendida 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Splendida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Splendida Hotel Cape Town Central
La Splendida Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing