We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation in the heart of the Waterfront”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #69 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 4 January 2008

We spent 4 nights in a Waterfront Apartment in Cape Town. These apartments are very high quality, with modern décor, good facilities and great views.

The apartments are within a secure facility, with safe underground parking and 24 hour access.

We had 2 apartments (as one was not available for the duration of our stay) and they do vary in style and layout. Both were furnished well and included satellite TV, laundry facilities and a full modern kitchen.

The location is excellent, with walking access to all of the Waterfront attractions and easy driving access to the Winelands and Cape areas.

The staff in the reception are very helpful, although we did find that the housekeeping staff were a bit random. They had not prepared the room properly, missed us one day altogether and we had to request additional towels on several occasions as they had forgot to put them out. The reception team sorted all of this out and, unprompted, even gave us a discount in lieu of these problems.

The leisure facilities are great with a full gym and several pools.

If you have the money, this has to be the best place to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWB2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2007

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in the Western Cape. We had 5 nights in a "Village and Life Apartment" which is situated in the Waterfront Marina. We didn't hire a car for the first 3 days as it's only a 15min walk to shops and restaurants etc. The Alfred Dock bridge was closed for 2 days, and we had to walk round to the centre on a detour, we managed fine, except had to use a torch at night as the detour was not well lit. The apartment was very spacious, well appointed and there is secure underground parking. When we arrived the balcony door lock was broken but efficiently repaired within 24 hrs. My only complaint regards the use of TV and appliances -an "equipment guide" would have been helpful - I reported this to reception. These apartments are an ideal base to explore Cape Town especially for those who enjoy self-catering. We dined out and although off season we had to make bookings for dinner as the Waterfront was very busy. A great start to a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

Waterfront village was one of the best accomodation i have stayed in!! the apartment had beautiful furniture and all mod cons, it had a big screen TV with full cable, washing machine and dryer, ensuite bathroom, DVD player etc
The views where brilliant, which you can enjoy off your large balcony.
The buildings itself has top notch security, both for cars and human traffic, you have a photo security pass for the car park and security pass for all the doors.
Everyday they change towels and every second day they change the sheets
recommended to all!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Akia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Stayed here for 11 nights in the smallest and cheapest apartment. It was still great, very well equipped and with a great location. Paying a bit more would have given me a better view but this wasn't too bad either. The apartments are owned by individuals, but the Waterfront Village handles the renting for travellers. It was still serviced every day. If you are looking for a great self-catering apartment in Cape Town I would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Tuomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2006

Just spent a week in a fully serviced apartment at the Waterfront Village. Great location, walking distance to the bars and restuarants at the Waterfront. Designer style apartment, high quality furnishings. Ideal for families (travelled with my husband and son) and invididuals. We booked a 5* star 1 bedroom but were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms, air con, large sitting room/diner with large LCD tv and satillite, stereo, DVD/video, large balacony with table for 6. Kitchen with full size fridge/freezer, washing machine, dryer, microwave, cooker, toaster all of which did not look as though they had been used. The site has 2 swimming pools and gym. Provided with welcome box containing soap, toilet paper, tea, coffee, sugar etc. Daily housekeeping service except Sundays.

Normally we stay in 5* hotels (e.g. Ritz Carlton, J W Marriott), so this was a first, but this was excellent value and better than a hotel and at half the price, (the pedistrian entrance to the Waterfront from the complex is next to Cape Grace). Would happily stay at this location again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank WatfordTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alessandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank muttchen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £110 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water’s edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests Standard, Luxury and Deluxe apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing