We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterfront Village
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mountain Marina(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Silo Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dock House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (713)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveller rating
311
230
83
48
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
230
83
48
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese apartmentsbed apartmenttable mountainminute walkself cateringexcellent locationwashing machine and dryerwe stayed in a two bedroomgreat apartmentsecure underground parkingfelt very safelarge balconysatellite tvreception areawell equipped kitchenserviced dailycape grace hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I recently stayed in the room Bannockburn 102 in the Waterfront Village. The room is very tastefully decorated and very clean and tidy with high quality appliances -i.e. very good and clean washing machine and dryer. The room has a large patio with a very good view of the canal and is located in a quiet area of the marina - some of the newer blocks are located in more noisy areas - closer to the adjacent hotels and yacht moorings. The wonderful V&A Waterfront is within walking distance and the security is top notch. The off-season rate was very good and winters in Cape Town are a best kept secret - wonderful mild sunshiny days! I will definitely insist on staying in Bannockburn 102 when I return for my summer holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older A - H blocks are quiter than in the newer J,K and P blocks
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We received a Mother City deal for this last night in Cape Town. We's been traveling around the Winelands area and finished with the Winelands travels with a stay in an affiliate property in Hermanus on the coast. The staff at the Hermanus Harbour House asked where we were headed next and we said only one more night before an early morning flight from Cape Town to Durban. They offered to check availability in Cape Town to meet our 2 bed/2bath or 2 rooms for 4 adults and laundry facilities to get in shape for our Safari out of Zulu Nyala. Upon departure, the affilaite staff had us booked at the Waterfront Village on the V&A waterfront. It was just what we wanted and had a fantastic view of the canal, the V&A waterfront, ferris wheel, etc. VEry upscale and a good washing machine/dryer. Rate was very good (off season and walk in rate) and we had secure parking and an elevator to boot.

Check in process a bit frustrating as there were several people trying to get settled and only one staff member was helping. The rest appeared to be playing with their phones and not attending to those customers who needed to be checked. A minor annoyance, but felt it should be mentioned. We were able to check out by dropping keys with security guard upon leaving at 6:40AM. Internet at check in building was free, but it was 4 blocks from our unit. Wifi was additional charge. Pool and exercise facility were also gorgeous, but we didn't have a chance to use the facilities..

Beautifully decorated and wish we had more time. Nonin Hermanus and Franschhoek for mother city

Room Tip: Ask for walk in rate at affiliate hotels.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0w_Wanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor users. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay, both with the Harbour House and ourselves.

In our winter months we do have a lot of specials to offer our clients and especially families with children.

As for your comments on the front desk, I will most definetely look into the matter, as we would like all guests to feel welcome the moment they step into our doors.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My first review on this place said it was awesome. It really was. But... Then we went for a second time one week later, and this time, the apartment -a different one- had all sorts of problems. Among other: air conditioning only in the master bedroom, bad maintenance, broken appliances and curtains, run-down furniture, etc. What the heck had happened to our beloved Waterfront Village? Well, it turned out that this time we got a "Luxury" suite instead of a "Superior" one as we got the first time. Nothing luxurious about it, really. We had to yell and complain until we were upgraded to a luxury one, and then it was all good again (save for non-functioning cable tv boxes that were never fixed, smell of trash in the kitchen and other details). So beware: all units are different, and "luxury" means "bad" while "superior" means "luxury". The Superior ones are much newer, and located in the higher lettered blocks (I believe starting with letter J). So my recommendation is: ask before you go and spend the difference, it's well worth it.

Room Tip: Spend the difference and get a "Superior" suite, not "Luxury". The good ones are in the higher lettered blocks, such as Kylemore.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disfrutator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you again for posting your experience with us. Due to the restricted information on TripAdvisor, I am not able to see your personal details in order for me to have a look into your bookings to see why you were allocated a different apartment.

Please note that all the apartments we manage are individually decorated. If you would be so kind as to email me your details to manager@waterfrontvillage.com then I will be able to see in what unit you stayed to follow up on your comments about the furniture and the appliances.

We value all input from our guests and would like to improve on our standards to ensure all our visitors have a pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

In short, there have beautiful infrastructure BUT appalling service...lots of talk by the staff and less action.

It is a beutiful and perfect place for families but be careful of the room you get allocated. It is walking and easy distance to the V and A Waterfront

Room Tip: State your needs and ask for a room with a view...if you are that way inclined. Refuse the basement like rooms that they have and will not tell you when they are booking you. We discovered we had been allocated such a room and when we asked (at check in) if it had a view we were told it overlooks the lake...which happens to be overlooking the courtyard and not the other views that you could get.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dube03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

i stayed here with my husband and children, its perfect for families as you have a fully fledged modern apartment with all the amenities of a home. ie fully equipped kitchen and seperate lounge etc. The security was good and the actual location is very central and within walking distance to the V and A waterfront. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLARESouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews