We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Location of my apartment was great, could not have been better. I travelled with a group and my apartment was not up to the standard of my fellow travellers. The shower head was not functioning properly, the tiles were in a bad state of repair and the apartment had an awful smell but overall had everything I needed was there, housecleaning was done daily. Short walk to V & A, very high security. This was sold to me as 5 Star so would be poor value for money.The group of women travelling were spread out over several blocks and therefore very isolating, I was the only one in B Block.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on the recent stay with us. We are aware that the group was not situated in the same buildings, as your group was a bit too big, and we don't manage all the apartments in the buildings you stayed in. We therefore accommodated you in the first 3 buildings (Block A,B,C ) which are all next to each other, for the reason to have you all as close to each other as possible. We do hope that you enjoyed your short stay in Cape Town.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    197
    68
    45
    36
See reviews for
223
222
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
centurion
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

the accomodation is ideal for relaxation and sight seeing in capetown. the outside view presents interesting breath taking especially canal which allow for canoeing and sea activities.
the nearby V&A area is within working distance and a place to visit, eating and to see different live band displays by different band groups. this can be accessed on foot through the back entrance to the village.
the surrounding of other hostels and the nearby CBD is makes it quite accessible. the affordable and reliable taxi services readily available adds to staying here interesting.
Sam

Room Tip: rooms more to the south are closer for access to V&A, resturants and other social amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

It was difficult to rate this hotel as the apartments are outstanding. They are a fantastic location, just a short walk to the V&A, very spacious and great security.
Unfortunately the issues with the staff left an overriding impression. When I checked in on the 1st of May I was left standing there while 3 staff at the front desk just stuff around. The gentleman on the front desk didn't even lift his head, spent the whole time playing on the mobile phone (he obviously thought he was too important to help me). When the lady did try and help me she tried to give me someone else's travel vouchers. Then after about 15 minutes an elderly couple walked through the door and to the desk and they were offered assistance immediately. I was astounded and this time very very angry. I knew I couldn't check in (as it was 10am in the morning) but all I wanted to know was where to leave my car.
The lady that checked me in was lovely. Very helpful but my goodness it took soooo long.
The night that we checked in the internet went out and then the TV. While it was very very annoying the gentleman tried everything to help get it back up, even arranging for connection in the next room. He was wonderful. As it was a public holiday nobody could come out and I understood that the next day I couldn't get on to internet anywhere in the room. The staff were very very unhelpful. Just saying that they have terrible internet connection (then why advertise that you have it???? I think this is very misleading). Every time I rang (and I shouldn't have had to keep calling) they just said that they were waiting on a call back from the internet service provider. They made absolutely no attempt whatsoever to resolve this issue and as a result I ended up having to make numerous calls to Australia which costs me a lot of money. While the apartment is lovely, with the exception of a few key staff, the majority of staff need a kick up the bum to realise that they are employed because we as paying tourists stay he. We are not an inconvenience to their day!!!!!!!!!
Either fix your internet reliability or remove your advertisement that your rooms have it. This is very misleading for people and is costing people money. Not good enough!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This place is simply unsuitable for any business traveler.

I stayed in 2 rooms, giving me two opportunities to experience the place, so I feel reasonably confident saying Village Waterfront, while beautifully located, is maddening in its poor value for money.

In both rooms, the wifi was not only abysmally slow, but getting it to work in both apartments involved going into my computer's settings to manually change the DNS server. In 2013, any competent grad of a basic IT certificate program should know how to make that work automatically. Worse, after the first connection, I had to reboot the router every subsequent time to get it to work. They also sell wifi by the gigabyte at absurd prices: for example, if you download a movie from iTunes you'll end up paying more for the download than the movie itself. Really feels like they're profiteering off their guests by charging such rates.

In both rooms, the TVs did not work. Both times I called asking for someone to come have a look. No one ever did. At the front desk, they made me feel stupid for not knowing how to make the 4 remotes work.

In the 2nd apartment, the microwave and stove did not work, defeating part of the purpose of renting an apartment.

Both times I checked in, staff failed to tell me where the parking was located for that apartment. I had to move my car. Small thing, but compiled with all the other things that didn't work, staff that didn't care, it was the straw that broke the camel's back.

Honestly, this place feels like they're trading off their location. It needs a clean sweep from top to bottom. Management should go along with most of the staff.

Room Tip: Just stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for bringing the above points to our attention. We will ensure that our staff gets retrained and monitored on the areas of concern. We would like to assure you we will take all measures possible to improve on all our services offered.

Kind regards

Johadrie de Villiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Good apartment with beautiful furniture .....good selection of glasses and very comfortable..what a pleasant stay! The parking is undercover and very close to the apartment. I like the fact that you don't have to use a lift at all and that you are situated on the first floor.

Room Tip: Quiet room and nice to have the exterior shutters as to open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capewls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here in a one-bedroom apartment for eight nights in January 2013. Everything was done to a high standard, and the location was superb. Excellent parking arrangements. The only flaw in the accommodation was the very patchy and slow wifi, which had to be re-booted each time we wanted to use it. But overall a very good place to stay, which we would hope to use again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandford47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear valued guest

Thank you for giving feedback on your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We offer alternative internet options to our guests with 2 x guest computers with free internet as well as free wifi in our reception area. We are working on improving the internet service in the apartments.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a three bed apt which overlooked the marina at the front and table top mountain at the back. The apartment was stunning. Exquisite decor and amazingly well equipped. The only concern for us was a break down in booking communication. We sent deposit details as requested and were asked again for them at least twice!!! But overall the place to stay on the V n A dock. Room tip Pembroke A 302.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Property: Waterfront Village
Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#59 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water's edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests luxury serviced apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing