We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #70 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Waterfront Village is well located in a private, secure marina complex adjacent to the V&A Waterfront. The one bedroom apartment I stayed in was well appointed and furnished although there were some maintenance issues. The dishwasher did not work, the drain from the shower quickly backed up and one of the balcony doors leaked during a particularly heavy rain rainstorm. However, the level of service was good and they were very accommodating about extending a late checkout when my flight home was delayed. I intend to stay there again on forthcoming business trips and will be interested to see if there are any further maintenance issues. Until then I have given it an average rating. If you want greater luxury you should consider the Lawhill apartments in an adjacent development. Although significantly more expensive these apartments are larger as well as better equipped and maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

The two bed apartment that my wife, daughter and I stayed in, really was very good. It was in the Paramo building on the 2nd floor. It was a 2 bed , 2 en-suite place with a well equipped kitchen ( not that we used it) with a washing machine and tumble drier ( that we definitely used).

The apartment was very well equipped, clean and very comfortable. It was also very quiet - we didn't hear a peep from any of the surrounding apartments. We only had the odd gripe about it - one of the bedroom doors was loose on it's hinges when we arrived ( but was fixed quickly) and the telephone only worked intermittently.- we did report this but it still had a problem with it. When trying to call the apartment from outside ( on its own number ) the phone didn't work at all. We could phone reception sometimes on it. The safe in the room was also locked when we arrived - again we asked for it to be unlocked, but this didn't happen by the time we'd left

I must re-iterate that these were only very small gripes and all in all, the apartment was very good. The staff at reception were also very good. They arranged trips out for us, booked taxis as required, and looked after our bags after we'd checked out but before we went to the airport.

The apartment was in an excellent location, next to the Cape Grace Hotel, overlooking the marina, with a view of Table Mountain behind. It was literally a 2 minute level walk past the Cape Grace hotel , over the footbridge, to the shops / restaurants at the V&A Waterfront. There were security guards everywhere and we never felt threatened walking back from the V&A later in the evening. Even though this was the low season there were plenty of people around. Checking in was a but of a faff as we had to be issued with security passes that you swipe to gain access to the site and the apartment building.

If we went back to Cape Town we would definitely stay at this place again, as the apartment was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dynamodoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Dynamodoris

thank you for your detailed description of your stay wit us. We are pleased to see that you found our apartments to suit your needs. We are also pleased to see that our staff assisted with arranging your excursions and that you enjoyed your vacation whilst staying with us.

I have taken note of your comments on the maintenance snags and will see to it that our Property Manager tends to them.

We do hope to be your host again in the near future.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed in a really nice 3 beds Appartment with a lovely terrace . Super location and view too . Parking under the building . We would recommend this stay in Cape Town option to anyone. A great stay ! T. C

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 888,888,888,888,888,888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear guest

thank you for sharing your experience with our other TripAdvisor guests. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed for 5 nights (July, 22nd to 27th) at this superb, spacious, modern and nicely decorated two bedroom apartment. The WOW effect was inevitable as we entered the property. Our children (9 and 11) loved it! Nice view from both bedrooms, living room and dining room (6 Seat Dining Table) and balcony (another 6 Seat Dining Table). The apartment is only a short ten minute walk on a safe and beautiful Canal walkway to the One and Only Hotel where you can enjoy a dinner at Nobu or Reuben's. Besides that, we were in V&A, a wonderful area in this amazing city! Special thanks to Rezah, at the reception, who booked our tours, transfers and helped us interacting with the airline to solve the problem with our damaged baggage. I will certainly be back : to visit Robben Island (closed in our last day because of the weather) , to use the Cable Car to Table Mountain (closed for maintenance) and to enjoy the beaches in a warmer weather. To summarize it, nice city, wonderful people and great accomodation. That´s why "wowtion"!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phabreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear phabreus, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor users. Thank you for giving Rezah such a lovely compliment, we are indeed very proud of him and the rest of our team. We do hope to welcome you back for a future stay with us.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Apartment are very nice & clean., Location is good. 5-7 mins from V & A Waterfront.
For Breakfast, One need to walk 10-12mins to have it in nearby One & Only Hotel.
Breakfast served is very good...
Overall a Very good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on a Higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumbai89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We booked a 2BR/2BA apartment for 2 couples and got 2 very large suites with a huge terrace overlooking the Waterfront Marina and the One&Only hotel. Turned out that both Bon Jovi and Justin Bieber were staying there and were to play at the Stadium - so we experienced extreme security and the distant sounds of both concerts (Bon Jovi good even at a distance, Bieber seemed to excite the 12 year olds to screaming). Apartment was clean and maintained daily (which we did not expect). It would have been better if there was a manual to explain how to use the AirCon, the TV, and the radio. We had a minor failure with the safe, but it was a dead battery and was rectified in only a few minutes. Having used vacation apartments all over, we were somewhat disappointed with the kitchen equipment - it appeared to have a lot of things, but a lot that we would have used were not provided. They did provide bath amenities, and dishwasher pucks. It was great to have a full laundry, but we had to buy laundry soap (expected). We were definitely able to walk to the ferry to Robben Island, to the Victoria & Alfred Wharf Shopping area (huge), and to lots of good restaurants. Biggest surprise for Canadians and Australians was the prices of things - all extremely reasonable by our standards. Staff for the apartment office were friendly and helpful. Too bad wifi was only available in the reception area for free, it was unreasonably expensive for the apartment, so we did not buy it as an extra.
All in all a great experience which we would recommend to apartment-style travelers. Be patient, it's still Africa.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor or higher to get a better view over the marina. If you have the money, go for a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Perfect for two couples travelling together,2 bed 2 bath,it was well suited for our needs.A manual with instructions for air con,cook top etc would have been useful and time saving. Location and proximity to points of interest and the HOHO bus pick up point was perfect. The only thing that would of enhanced our stay would have been the convenience of WiFi in the apartment.Staff at the complex were all friendly and approachable.Would recommend if looking for the self catering option although as Australians we found Cape Town remarkably inexpensive so eating out was very cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#23 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,804 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £146 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water’s edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests Standard, Luxury and Deluxe apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing