We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dalal's Family Trip 2014”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #69 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The apartments are gorgeous. We were in Julienne 604. The front had views of the waterfront area and the back had views of table mountain. The units are clean and self serviced. One hitch is the porter.. Not reliable they arrived half an hour late to fetch our bags that too after repeated calls. Also the dryer in the apartment didn't work. Nor the hair dryer. Reception needs to do a better job with service.. They are located far away and never answer the phone.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank ambu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights here in a very comfortable apartment with easy access to the V&A Waterfront and its great selection of restaurants. After booking, we read some negative reviews about laborious checking in procedures and having to hang around for security pass photos to be taken. We had none of that, check in was quick and easy with no photo requirement so the system must have changed. The complex is huge but they drove us to our block, and once you figure the place out it doesn't take that long to get around. Security seems top class.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and was amazed with the amount of space. Central heating, well equipped kitchen and comfortable beds were very welcome. Very central with waterfront a short walk away. Security and privacy very good. Recommending to all our friends!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at Waterfront Village – in Carradale 13th – 23rd April, a family of 2 adults and our 15 year old daughter Emily, in a 2 bedroomed 1st floor apartment.

From the minute we arrived the staff could not have been more disinterested. The girl on reception hardly looked up at all as we registered. Zelda took us in the car to our apartment – Carradale, I stated that we had requested an upper floor overlooking the Harbour (this was a 25th Anniversary trip and our travel agents had requested a nice view for us) “is this what we have got”, she did not answer. When we got to our room it was on the 1st floor overlooking the canal and the building site opposite, I queried the room and Zelda stated we would have to speak to the manager if we wanted to move. I thought this was most unhelpful, but my family and I said it would do as we were tired from travelling.

What followed then was a catalogue of errors in the rooms. We were issued with 2 keys for the apartment – only one worked and it took 3 / 4 attempts with security to get the 2nd one re-set.

The air con did not work, my Husband managed to re-set it and then the handset would not work, maintenance needed to be called to sort that problem out.

The shower in the main bedroom leaked after every shower, again maintenance had to have a look at the seal to try and get it fixed, it never stopped leaking onto the bathroom floor.

The kettle leaked, eventually it was changed after complaining on more than one occasion and flooding the kitchen work surfaces every time the kettle was boiled.

The wi fi did not work and when we rang up to complain we were told it cost 190 rand for 1 gb. We signed up for this and it took 3 days and a new router to eventually get it to work, we lost count of how many times we complained about the wi fi until it got sorted.

Frequently the housekeepers did not leave enough towels for the 3 of us, again we were having to ring reception and complain about this, before more towels arrived.

The pool was below our balcony, one floor down, but in a 10 day stay we did not use it once as it was so cold.

The rooms themselves were spacious and clean and the proximity of the apartment block to the restaurants and bars at the Waterfront were also a plus point, however the apartment we were in could not be called luxurious and all the issues we encountered in a 10 day period led to a less than relaxing time. I am absolutely clear having read some of the other reviews that some of the apartments are better looked after than others and I am not sure I would recommend Carradale to other travellers.

As for Cape Town V & A Waterfront – shops, restaurants and bars were very friendly and eating out was very reasonably priced indeed, probably due to the large choice of places to eat, a main course, wine and coffee for 3 of us was about £35.00 - 40.00 in total.

We did the Red / Blue hop on / off bus on 2 days which was excellent value and great for getting around and seeing where else to visit and where to go back to. Visiting Table Mountain and Kirstenbosch Gardens were the highlight for us, however buy your Table Mountain tickets on line as on busy days you can queue for up to 2 hours for tickets and the cable car.

We also did 2 organised trips to go Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch and to the Cape of Good Hope/ Boulder /Simonstown to see the penguins and Cape Point and they were very good trips and most informative.

The Robben Island trip was very interesting and moving , but we almost missed the boat back as our guide was still talking. I personally would have liked more time on the island to take in the atmosphere.

Taxis were plentiful and fairly cheap, many of the drivers were also a good source of information about the surrounding areas.

Our safari experience before we got to Cape Town was brilliant, our trip to Cape Town was good but badly let down by the poor standard of our apartment. All the people we met on both parts of our trip were open and friendly but certainly the staff at Waterfront Village could do with a customer care course!!

Maigread W – Hereford
16/05/2014

Room Tip: Do not choose Carradale Apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maigread W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Maigread W

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Waterfront Village, we are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Please be assured that this is not the Standard of Service we at Waterfront Village pride ourselves in. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return and ensuring we exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We (3 couples in our fifties) stayed in a third floor 3 bed apartment. Clean and serviced well but it's dated and the hot tub had some kind of green slime on it. No wifi. Limited view, the upper floors may be better.
V good restaurants with great food around the clock tower (5 min walk), the restaurants in a long line next to the Ferris wheel are more fast food standard ( bland)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Green91

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Waterfront Village,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us but disappointed that we did not meet all your expectations in other areas. Feedback, positive or negative is very important to us and ensures that we can improve and resolve problem areas and improve our standards.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The flat we stayed in had a fantastic view and could be seen as luxurious, but only if you ignored the various items that needed fixing and maintenance. The flat was starting to get tacky. The jacuzzi wasn't working, the sliding shutters in both bedrooms were broken, the seater couch outside was broken, the carpets were dirty, the window in the kitchen wouldn't lock. I'm not sure whether regular checks are done of the flats and whether regular maintenance is carried out, it would appear not, and if you're going to advertise your establishment as luxurious then make sure attention has been paid to detail.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank LondonComfortseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear London Comfortseeker

Thank you for your review and for your constructive feedback. We are truly sorry to note that your apartment did not meet your expectations.
Feedback, positive or negative is very important to us and ensures that we can improve and resolve problem areas and improve our standards.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We hired two apartments for a week over Christmas in the 'F' block which overlooks the canal. By far the best feature of these apartments is being able to walk to the Waterfront at a time of year when parking in the area is impossible. Both apartments were clean and well equipped with all of the basics (we managed Christmas lunch for 11 people on our terrace). The one apartment was substantially bigger than the other so there can be quite a variation. The complex has good security and there is a gym (costs ZAR150 per person for the duration of your stay). Take your own toiletries and any extra towels you may need as these are both a little scarce. The website advertises 7 swimming pools but most of them are tiny and cold and the only decent one, located above the gym, was always crowded. Access to the 'Beach Club' at the Bay Hotel is a significant bonus as this part of the city is incredibly popular and the Bay Hotel is across the road from the beach in Camps Bay which is extremely desirable.

Cape Town over Christmas is crowded and very expensive and the apartments were great value and perfectly located.

Room Tip: A two bedroom apartment fits two couples well, we were tempted to get a larger apartment but it real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupkateski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
783 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £110 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water’s edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests Standard, Luxury and Deluxe apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing