We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for V & A Waterfront”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location for V & A Waterfront”
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Firstly, this is not an apartment hotel, it is an open plan apartment complex. Saying that, I had a great apartment with views overlooking the canal and waterfront from the front facing balcony and Table Mountain from the bedroom balcony. The fully self-contained apartment was kitted out with all the modern conveniences inc. Queen sized main bedroom with en-suite, laundry, full sized family kitchen (all appliances incl. dishwasher) plus Cable TV and air conditioning. The huge front facing balcony with seating is ideal for entertaining.

I was in the apartment block (Started with an ‘A) that was furthest away from the V&A waterfront but it was easy to reach via a pleasant walk through the complex, along the canal then past Cape Grace Hotel. The nearest supermarket was a ‘Pick n Pay’ also at the V & A shopping complex, a pleasant 15 minute walk from the apartment.

The downfall was the maintenance and painting that seem to be forever going on. I appreciate that preventative maintenance is required, but after a few days it was really beginning to annoy me. There were builders directly outside the bedroom window’s for two days starting at 8.00 am and a steady stream of builders walking past the balcony of the apartment.

Overall, I would stay again, the price was very good, but only if there were not workmen around.

PS - If you bring your laptop, use the free wi-fi in the Reception area or alternatively use the computer with free internet access.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    199
    69
    45
    36
See reviews for
227
226
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

A tastefully decorated apartment in a great location!

The good points:
- we were upgraded from a 1 to a sapcious 2-bedroom apartment
- all staff extremely polite
- excellent security
- good sized rooms
- great amenities
- very clean
- pools ok if you can find them

The moans
- I emailed and telephoned to request an early check-in. No-one had the courtesey to respond
- maintenance work taking place - so an early start each morning!
- painters decorating the outside of apartment so terrace out of use and views marred by scaffolding - not mentioned by receptionist when we booked in.
- only most basic of guidance. It was difficult to get some of the appliances and alarm system to work, and receptionists didn't know what to do either. Also had to find my own way around the complex (and it's huge) as no map provided.
- We had chilly autumnal evenings - and no heating!
- No TV signal and home cinema did not work because it was not connected to the TV!
- Reception closes at 7pm, maintenance at 4.30 - so ensure you ask all all problems addressed ealy in the day!.

Managers need to be more proactive! An informative handbook on accomodation and complex facilities would make life so much easier. They need to realise that after an expensive over-night tflight guests want to settle in comfortably and quickly!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alelni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Originally had booked a one bed. classic apartment, but was delighted, on arrival to be upgraded to a 2 bed/2bath apartment...no extra cost!
The apartment was very spacious with a large balcony overlooking the canal and quite close by the main security gate. Certainly, the fabric of the apartment was beginning to show signs of tiredness and staining etc. This is something, which the maintenance team must keep up with in order not to let standards slip. Regular checks should be made after every apartment is vacated to rectify any maintenence issues and/or decorative repairs.
Security, very reassuring both for car parking and personal safety walking to the V & A Waterfront via the road in front of the Cape Grace Hotel, with plenty of security guards in evidence.
Reading other contributors reviews, it seems that this accommodation can either be a hit or a miss, depending on which apartment you get, how you're treated etc. This is not great for consistency and could put people off if they are not 100% sure they'll get a good deal.....these are not the cheapest accommodations in Cape Town!
I would stay here again, but have to say some of the contributors stories sound horrendous experiences...so, would be a bit worried about being one of those statistics!
One down side for sure was the amount of building work on site - we had workmen on the roof of the adjacent building....thankfully they finished at around 4.30pm...but did of course start early in the morning.
If you can, have a look at the map of the complex and request your booking in an area which you are happy with - for example, some rooms overlook the main road to the Waterfront which I imagine will be noisy most 24hours of the day.
One small improvement which could be made is to provide some self service machines for soft drinks and snacks, perhaps in the main reception area, or in each of the residential accommodation blocks. It's a long walk to the nearest supermarket to stock up on essentials....!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

The location is great, apartments are spacious and well furnished containing modern and useful appliances for families like washing machine, dryer, dishwasher etc. We had a huge terrace on both our apartments and separate ensuite bathroom for each bedroom.
Security is excellent and underground parking included in the cost of the apartments. Easy walking distance from the Waterfront with restaurants and large shopping centre.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaddyLaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We stayed 5 nights late Dec 2008 and were here for New Year's Eve.

We were in the apartment block that was furthest away from the V&A waterfront but it was easy to reach via a pleasant walk through the complex, along the canal then past Cape Grace hotel.

It was clean and smartly furnished and was just right for our stay here.

Our balcony was small but had a pleasant view over the canal towards the V&A waterfront.

Secure underground parking was included.

The office staff were happy for us to call in and make use of their wifi so that we could check emails etc.

  • Liked — Having a kitchen, a large lounge and a pleasant view from the balcony
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sportsfanHerts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

My wife and I were looking forward very much to our first trip to South Africa. We chose the Waterfront Village for what we saw as flexibility, as it offered self catering accommodation.

First the plus points:
1. Generally good location. The Waterfront can be easily accessed on foot, as can the City Centre
2. Good parking facilities, so if you want to rent a car whilst in Cape Town, then secure underground parking available.
3. The whole complex is within a secure area, although this does mean obtaining and carrying security passes to get through gated access turnstiles.
4. Our kitchen facilities were very good.

The bad points:
1. As has been mentioned before - service. The most annoying thing was that staff did not give us a run down on anything. As others have noted - after a long haul flight from the UK, you are expected to haul your bags from reception to the aparment, which if at the far end, is some treck!
2. We arranged (and paid!!) to have late check out on our last day, which we reminded them of twice during our trip, as we were convinced they would try to get us out early. Sure enough we had to argue with them (well told them) that we were not going anywhere when they rang to say that our room had new guests waiting!
3. The main living room was grubby and stained.
4. The balcony overlooked the canal (nice) but also the footway to the front (at ground level) - so absolutely no privacy.
5. Evidence of rodent activity in kitchen cupboards - probably mice!
6. There was ongoing building work, which meant that if we opened our patio door, we had builders noise all day!

Generally we were dissapointed - the accommodation did not live up to expectations noted in our holiday brochure (2nd trip with Virgin Holidays and sorry both occassions we were disappointed, so they have lost our business). The room was grubby and the staff were largely apathetic uless prompted into action by a complaint.

Overall, not recommended.

One final point - whilst generally I would consider Cape Town a safe place - take note of the precautions advised by travel advisors / handbooks. We had a couple of "dodgy" experiences which came to nothing, but we like to think that was because we were aware of what was going on.

One final final point - Table Mountain Cable Car! Wow! I hate heights and was very nervous trying. But the actual ride and views at the top are amazing. If you do nothing else in Cape Town make sure you do Table Mountain - and do it sooner rather than later - the weather often closes the cable car.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service, cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Stayed ere with friends in November and have to say it was amazing. We upgraded our apartment and that was definitely worth it also. The apartments are spacious and extremely comfortable with everything you need supplied. The view from the apartment is amazing and there are 3 swimming pools available. The staff are very friendly and the apartments were immaculate clean. The situation of the apartments is absolutely brilliant, 5 minute walk from the Waterfront and extremely safe - security 24 hours a day. The walk down to the Waterfront is extremely safe also as they're are security guards around everywhere. All excursions can be booked from reception at the apartments and once again staff are excellent in recommending trips etc. Would definitely return to the apartments when I re-visit South Africa

  • Liked — The layout of the apartment and the location
  • Disliked — nothing, I loved everything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank holidays010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Property: Waterfront Village
Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#59 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water’s edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests Standard, Luxury and Deluxe apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing