We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Belmonte

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Belmonte
Ranked #87 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay here while visiting friends in Cape Town. Beautiful old and interesting residence, fantastic views, great location, excellent food and very friendly staff. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fleurbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    24
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
51
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife and I stayed and dined at this incredibly charming old school hotel once and dined there on a separate occasion once thereafter. And what a wonderful treat. From the incredibly friendly and efficient staff to the immaculately clean and well serviced room we occupied. I would visit there again any time in the future, or suggest it to any of my colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoJMHenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

What a delight to find olde world charm in this new modern society!
Elegant and delightful to be part of for our short stay.
We had a wonderful stay and the meals were really special.
Thank you for the special touches !
We were away from the stream line minimalistic stainless steel and glass which is so prevalent now in hotel accommodation!
Thank you.

Room Tip: Can see Table mountain!!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffJacobs, Owner at Villa Belmonte, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Ann M,

Warm greetings!

On behalf our management staff I want to very sincerely thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay at Villa Belmonte. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our product and the efficiency of our service and it is only through receiving “feedback” such as we have received from yourself that we are able to reach the level of service excellence for which we strive.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Belmonte the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We really enjoyed our night stay at the hotel.
The rooms were excellent and very comfortable.
We felt very relaxed and the setting made is feel cut off from all the day to day worries.
James was very pleasant and friendly, and always ensured we were looked after very well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffJacobs, Owner at Villa Belmonte, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Allie K

On behalf of our management and staff, I want to most sincerely thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us about your recent stay at Villa Belmonte. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our product and the efficiency of our service and it is only through receiving “feedback” such as we have received from yourself that we are able to reach the level of service excellence for which we strive.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Belmonte in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We would like to take this opportunity to thank the management and staff for making our special day a memorable one! Your hotel, in all its splendour as well as the competency of the staff, catered for all our specific needs (especially dietry). The food was beautifully cooked and perfectly presented in a stylishly decorated dining room. A better ambiance we could not have wished for. The beautiful garden provided a tranquil environment for our ceremony with the majestic Table Mountain as a backdrop and a magnificent view of Cape Town and the ocean on the other side.
We will most certainly be spending time with you again as we thoroughly enjoyed the homely environment. Thank you for taking excellent care of our guests that stayed with you.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the Butterfly Room if you enjoy the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faisal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffJacobs, Owner at Villa Belmonte, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Faisel H

Very many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write to us about your recent stay at Villa Belmonte. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our product and the efficiency of our service and it is only through receiving “feedback” such as we have received from yourself that we are able to reach the level of service excellence for which we strive.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Belmonte in the near future. Kind regards, Cliff Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I booked, paid (via Groupon, my fault) and was looking forward to my stay in this luxury boutique hotel. I did the normal pre-arrival call 2 days beforehand and was confirmed.

Unfortunately I didn’t get to stay at all, as on check-in I was escorted out of the building, down the road, past a block of flats, to the next block of flats, given a bunch of keys and shown around my '5-star' accommodation.

This block of flats, Rose Heights, and the room I was given (Caesar room) couldn’t be let out for 1/2 of what I paid. It was, in a word, awful. It looked like an English grandmother decorated it pre WW2, complete with 20" CRT TV (with 1 news channel) and a smoking room!

The shower was an embarrassing sprinkle attachment in a tiny little cubicle.

Please see the attached photo and compare it with what is shown on Tripadvisor, by Villa Belmonte.

As this sub-standard room is even named in accordance with rooms in the actual hotel, it's clear other travelers have been suckered like I was.

When I questioned why I was being put in 3rd class accommodation that wasn't even part of the hotel, I was told a wedding party had booked out the place. Not one word of sorry, no owner to be found, just a steely eyed receptionist.

I strongly urge you not to stay here. But hey, the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EyesOpenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffJacobs, Owner at Villa Belmonte, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear EyesOpenTraveler

On behalf of our management and staff, I apologise for any inconvience caused to yourself during your stay at Villa Belmonte. I also want to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us about your complaints. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our product and the efficiency of our service and it is only through receiving “feedback” such as we have received from yourself that we are able to reach the level of service excellence for which we strive. Thankfully, we receive very few complaints (our internal guest questionnaires comprise at least 95% of the reviews from our guests (dropped into a locked box at reception). TripAdvisor comprises only 3% of the reviews. But, nevertheless, we take any complaint very seriously and investigate it thoroughly.

Our Caesar Suite is our largest (76 square metres) and one of our very best rooms we have available. Indeed, it is hard to remember when we received a previous complaint about the room. Recently, a well-known winemaker and owner stayed in the Caesar Suite and absolutely loved it. However, it is possible that you may not have been informed prior to your arrival that our Caesar Suite is situated next to the Manor House itself. If so, I do apologise for the error on our part.

The photograph you inserted is of the entrance to the complex and not of the Caesar Suite itself. The photographs on the Caesar Suite's webpage displayed on our website, www.villabelmontehotel.co.za, accurately reflect the Caesar Suite's interior. It also clearly states that our Caesar Suite is situated next to the Manor House itself.

We sincerely trust that your unfortunate recent experiences will not deter you from visiting Villa Belmonte again in the near future.

Kind regards

Cliff Jacobs
Managing Director
Villa Belmonte Manor House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST lONDON
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

When I phoned to enquire about dinner on the Saturday, for Sunday night, I was told that the chef would get fresh ingredients in and we could have a choice of the menu. When we arrived, we were checked into the Empire Room. There was only 1 bath towel, one shower gel etc. as if we were booked as a single . Dinner was an embarressment. There was no choice on the menu, in fact they had run out of salad, and there was only one chicken dish on the menu.
We had thought that we were going to have a real treat, however, not so .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuarryLakeInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffJacobs, Owner at Villa Belmonte, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear QuarryLakeInn

On behalf of our Management and Staff, I most sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to yourselves through far less than good service and quality of product. Certainly this not the standard we set ourselves.

I also want to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us about your complaints. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our product and the efficiency of our service and it is only through receiving “feedback” such as we have received from yourself that we are able to reach the level of service excellence for which we strive. Thankfully, we receive very few complaints but, nevertheless, we take any complaint very seriously and investigate it thoroughly. We cannot afford to inconvenience any guest,

Unfortunately, a series of events occured during your stay which had the result of negatively impacting upon yourselves. Again, I sincerely apologise and trust that your unfortunate recent experiences will not deter you from visiting Villa Belmonte again in the near future.

Kind regards

Cliff Jacobs
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#76 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
City Bowl
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#99 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#101 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Spring Tide Inn
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Antrim Villa
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Belmonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Belmonte

Property: Villa Belmonte
Address: 33 Belmont Avenue, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Belmonte 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wireless broadband available throughout the premises free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belmonte Hotel Cape Town
Villa Belmonte Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing