We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So interesting!”

District Six Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.85*
and up
Township Tour in Cape Town
More Info
US$78.49*
and up
Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island
More Info
US$43.52*
and up
Township Cultural Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The apartheid nationalist government destroyed District Six in the 1960s. This memorial museum contains maps, photographs and other reminders of this old vibrant neighborhood. Site walks and tours in the Museum with ex-resident storytellers are also offered.
London England
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“So interesting!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were recommended to this museum by people on the bus tour we were on, so we got off and tried it out. We found it very interesting as coming from the UK we had no knowledge of this district and what went on. My teenage kids were totally fascinated by all that happened in this area. Later on our bus tour they mentioned the area and we drove through it and found it so much more informative because we had been to the museum. Its very sensitively laid out and so informative. There is a video film at the back of the museum which was incredible and well worth sitting and listening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    503
    166
    42
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This small museum tries to tell the moving story of the people forcibly moved from their homes in a Cape Town district to make room for developers and whites only during the 1960's. It's worthy, but it needs a better narrative, and an injection of cash to bring it up to par with its peers in museums of social history. The video area is particularly poor, with a knackered old TV and poor production values. Imagination and money would make this a first-rate museum. I hope it can be done.

Helpful?
1 Thank neilwadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A time capsule”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The District Six Museum documents the vibrant and multiracial community of the same name that was razed during Apartheid. It also shows the history of the struggle more widely. It is creatively laid out to give the museum goer an in-depth experience, not as such, it is not simply a set of placards with dry facts. Definitely worth a stop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good museum, definitely a must if you ask me!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The District Six museum is small and easy to navigate through. I found it very moving because it shows how individuals and families were affected by apartheid. Both times I was there I had the chance to speak to someone who himself lived through the struggle this museum deals with which made the experience much more personal, sad but personal and unique. I can definitely recommend this museum and as I said it's small, you don't need a lot of time to learn about what's shown. Definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Katrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Walk Back in Time”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A Must Visit if you have an interest in the History of this Rich Culture.Yes there are Scares to Heal but the Story to be Shared here is Worth the Visit.I Leave the Front Door with a Whole New Appreciation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed District Six Museum also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to District Six Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing