We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting with history in pictures”

District Six Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.87*
and up
Township Tour in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The apartheid nationalist government destroyed District Six in the 1960s. This memorial museum contains maps, photographs and other reminders of this old vibrant neighborhood. Site walks and tours in the Museum with ex-resident storytellers are also offered.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting with history in pictures”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was apprehensive of visiting the museum as I remember when District 6 happened as a young child. Even although I found the experience sad and moving, I enjoyed the pictures and the way that the museum brings life back into the area and part of South African history, worth a visit, especially to see the beautiful long hand worked message cloth loveingly crafted by the community.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MoccaJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    488
    162
    41
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very interesting, worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The museum will give you the real story about what happened in District 6 - how Black people were forcibly removed from their homes and businesses, and communities destroyed during the Apartheid era. Also, the recompense they have sought since the end of this.

Set in a small church, there's a lot of information to take in - but definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sologirltraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

First we got lost finding the place cause it is tucked away in a small corner and the place itself is also very small and not well advertised on the street. when we came there I found it to expensive for the time that we had been there and the things that we did. We booked a 'tour' guide who took us outside and tell somethings about the history on this part of town. Most of the time I could not hear the guide and the tour wasnt very special. after that we could walk on our own in the museum. Although it was really nice displayed and the history behind it was amazing, I think they could made this place so much better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
270 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“the smallest museum I have ever visited.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

one hall that contain pictures and items of old south African culture. it did Not add anything to the information that any one has for the history of South Africa. simply,I-personally- would Not recommend it at all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rafa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A brilliant insight into the apartheid problems of South Africa”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The local guide who gave an impassioned talk on the re-location of the black community was outstanding and highlights the problems within the country as a whole

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tjw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed District Six Museum also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to District Six Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing