We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the boat trip”
Review of Robben Island

Robben Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$87.02*
and up
Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island
More Info
US$193.03*
and up
Walk to Freedom Private Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island
More Info
US$102.85*
and up
Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: During the apartheid years Robben Island served as a prison for political activists.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the boat trip”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Make sure you take to first boat out as the second is more of a fishing trawler, the tour was very informative and very touching with guides who were in the prison. Exception staff and a great day! Make sure you take some Nausea Tablets!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tkinnear1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,715
    1,617
    839
    365
    243
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our trip to robben island”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a very humbling place to visit. It was well worth it. The tour guides were exceptional and the whole experience presented in a respectful fashion.
Yet another do not miss experience for Cape Town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil-Bram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Robben Island”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Most of us will remember Robben Island as the prison island of Nelson Mandela,it is that but more. The history of the island is quite interesting and I am not going to spoil it by telling you about it,the Robben Island museum is there for that.
Robben island is much more than all of that,it is about "Unity","Forgiveness",Peace","Humanity" and in a strange way "Change". As soon as you get on to the island you can feel how special it is. I suggest you take the tour ,which is very one sided, but when its over take your time and explore the island by yourselves.Walk past the old runway,and yacht that has ended way up in the middle of the island....
On the downside I feel that the management of the island think that the island is theirs.....almost as if the history before it being a prison is of no meaning.All of history is important the good and the bad.It is the only way we can learn and hopefully better ourselves as human beings.
So that out of the way I have been to Robben Island many times and been privileged to have met many high profile celebs on the island.
Go and see it for yourself .
Enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shocked F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An amazing, educational and humbling experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a place I missed on my first trip to Cape Town, so I made sure it was one of my first excursions when I was lucky enough to visit again. And it was so worth it! After the ferry ride over (from the V&A Waterfront), you all get onto large buses and get driven around the island, and my entertaining guide pointed out various sights, including the quarry, where Nelson Mandela and others were forced to break rocks, and there was the cave that Nelson used to give secret lessons to other inmates. Then once back at the prison itself, you are put into groups, and given a guide to take you through the prison, and this guide is a former political prisoner! He was amazing! Telling first hand what the conditions of the prison were like, and what life was like at that time. A must do for anyone interested in the story of Nelson Mandela and South Africa's history.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sycamore, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Sad but Important Experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I initially did not want to do this activity. The ferry rides to and from Robben Island give you great views of Cape Town and Table Mountain. We were fortunate to tour the prison facility with a person who had been in prison there. He was part of the student riots. The theme of reconciliation was prominent and there was a message of hope. This is one activity you should book a few days ahead so that you can go when you want.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mamiya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robben Island also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Robben Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing