We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip to Ropbben Island”
Review of Robben Island

Robben Island
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$102.00*
and up
Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: During the apartheid years Robben Island served as a prison for political activists.
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Trip to Ropbben Island”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our tour group coming from New Zealand were not sure whether we would find Robben Island interesting, but we were very glad to have gone there. It was a beautiful days, so we enjoyed the boat trip. On the island we first had a bus tour, with a very informative guide. Then we were shown around the prison by a man who had been sent there as a 20 year old in 1984 and not released until 1991. He was excellent, giving us a lot of interesting historical information and showing no bitterness.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,679
    1,591
    827
    362
    243
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice boat trip out can be rough at times apparently but was fine when I did it some fairly big waves on way back but the boats big and handled them fine.

The island itself is remarkable beautiful considering its history. Saw some of the little penguins which was great. The guides are great and really convey the reality of the island as a prison and brig the prisoners experience to life. The one who did the building a tour had actually been an inmate himself. Just fascinating if sad at times to realise how cruel man can be to his fellow man but it reminds us to be mindful of the dangers of intolerance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarloaf
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Sad Story and Place”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Robben Island told a very sad story. Many men of South Africa, mainly from Capetown suffered
unnecessarily in this horrible prison. Of course, the tour director made it seem much better than
it actually was but those of us who can "hear and read between the lines" know how badly those
prisoners lived. Yet, there were some very smart ones including the man who hooked up the
T-V to the toilet system as the lights were turned off at ten p.m. but with this hook-up they could watch T-V much later into the night. One smart electrician! Many other interesting aspects of this tour which I highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It is a great placem if you are going to the cape of the good hope, stop in here and enjoy of one of the most beautiful penguins reserve in the world,

Is really cheap the cost of the entrance just 50 South African rands (5dls) and you can spend a good time with the nature,

The souvenirs store is expensive, indeed more than expected.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“South African history”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I've met many travellers hesitant to make the trip to Robben island. Reasons being unreliable ferry schedules and not much to see.

Not much to see? This is recent history affecting every citizen on the planet!

On the island our driver doubled as a talented tour leader talking about other prisoners' significance besides from the one impersonating Robben island.

Our guide talking us through the prison premises gave a straight forward description of the life out there.

There were many families bringing small kids out to the island. In my mind Robben island is not a place to bring children under the age of six. People come to listen and learn not to hear children crying and parents calming them down.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robben Island also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Robben Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing