We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spent time here during the rain”

Two Oceans Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$63.53*
and up
Hout Bay World of Birds and Two Oceans Aquarium Tour in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Two Oceans Aquarium is a window into the spectacular oceans surrounding the southern African coast. Through displays ranging from the small and almost fantastical Knysna seahorses, to sea turtles and shoals of shimmering fish, the Aquarium holds wondrous discoveries around every corner. Come face-to-face with giant spider grabs and have an adventurous tactile experience at the Touch Pool. Be sure to visit the I&J Ocean Exhibit, with its 9m long window, and 10m long full tunnel. Qualified divers can also make use of the opportunity to dive in this exhibit with shoals of fish and turtles. The Jelly gallery is sure to mesmerize and enthral.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spent time here during the rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were at the V&A waterfront and got caught in the rain. This wasn't the cheapest thing to do, but it's not too bad and it's entertaining. We were there during the penguin feeding and then the predator feeding which is cool to watch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AshleyCVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,608
    1,383
    553
    85
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 stars for the aquarium but 5 stars for the swim with sharks experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The swimming with shark's experience was amazing. Me and my partner thoroughly enjoyed it, Iain was very helpful and reassuring and helped made this, my joint top favourite experience of Capetown, and something I would like to repeat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philstor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the Two Oceans Aquarium and the adventure dive programme. it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Under the sea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

A bit of a wet and cloudy day during my stay in Cape Town led me to the Two Oceans Aquarium, and I was not disappointed. This aquarium showcases everything you can find in and near the waters surrounding the Cape.

As soon as you enter, you are greeted with a tank of beautiful coloured fish, and a large eel at the bottom !!!! A small turtle seemed to follow me around the tank, and made for some great pictures (see below).

Moving on further inside, there are loads of tanks with information placards alongside with information. A nice touch for kids (and big kids!!) is the tank full of clown fish (Nemo’s!!!) where you can crawl under and stick your head up into a “bubble” at the bottom and be surrounded by the fish :-)

Luckily, I was there for the penguin feeding (done daily - check times) and talk - very interesting to hear about the penguins from people who work with them on a daily basis, and be able to have a Q+A session during the feeding.

Further on and you are confronted with a HUGE glass tank (over 2 storeys high) featuring bigger fish, an awesome turtle (see pics) and sharks!!! Very cool and again, an interesting talk from one of the staff at the aquarium. There is a nice walkway around the massive tank and you can really get up close to view everything - watch out for the porthole windows, as the sharks seem to suddenly appear eye-to eye with you !!!!

All in all a very informative trip and I got some great pictures to add to my album :-)
Keep up the good work!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hunybadgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. Your compliments are really heart-warming. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are currently expanding and will soon be able to showcase even more of the unique and amazing southern African marine life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a wonderful aquarium - they have done a great job of making the experience fun, interesting, and interactive. The volunteers who worked the microscope and touch tanks were terrific and provided a lot of educational information about the creatures they were supervising.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dustin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for your recommendation and review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. Thank you also for your comment about our volunteers. They are a really dedicated bunch of awesome people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great experience at Cape Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you are at this lovely city, you can't miss the Aquarium, with a very nice collection of sea life, extremely well organized and instructive. Spend at least half-day enjoying the different sea environments exposed, with very friendly and skilled people working, always ready to answer your questions. A very nice program !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nivaldo303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. We are very happy to hear that your enjoyed your visit and that you would recommend the Aquarium to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Two Oceans Aquarium also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Two Oceans Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing