We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More for kids”

Two Oceans Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.59*
and up
Cape Town Flexi Attractions Pass
More Info
US$2,288.11*
and up
11-Day South Africa Highlights Tour from Johannesburg
More Info
US$100.90*
and up
Cape Town City Pass including 3-Day Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Two Oceans Aquarium is a window into the spectacular oceans surrounding the southern African coast. Through displays ranging from the small and almost fantastical Knysna seahorses, to sea turtles and shoals of shimmering fish, the aquarium holds wondrous discoveries around every corner. Come face-to-face with giant spider crabs and have an adventurous tactile experience at the Touch Pool. Be sure to visit the I&J Ocean Exhibit, with its 9m long window, and 10m long full tunnel. Qualified divers can also make use of the opportunity to dive in this exhibit with shoals of fish and turtles. The Jelly gallery is sure to mesmerize and enthrall.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Although the variety of sea life is good, but kids would definitely enjoy it more than adults. The penguin watching was quite exciting though :)

Thank Amol-Shivangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. Did you manage to visit us on a Sunday when the sharks are fed at 15:00? If not, why not visit our website this Sunday at 15:00 and watch the feed on our live webcam? It even has a full-screen function!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,032 - 2,036 of 4,187 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Loved it all - so many things to do and see. Puppet shows on weekends, art and craft area on lower floor with sand pit and play area. Kids can touch and feel sea weed and other cool sea animals...

Thank nilikivko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. We love hearing from our visitors, especially our very special Capetonians! We truly live in a wonderful city and have many wonderful things to be proud of!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

A stunning facility to view the deep blue oceans creatures & fishes. Beautiful "Nemo" tanks where they swim around your head. The predator tank is amazing - especially if you are lucky enough to experience feeding time. My girls fell in love with the penguins. Very nice gift/curio shop and reasonably priced too. A very fun activity to do - young & old.

2  Thank AnT0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. Next time when you visit Cape Town, please pop in and come and see how we have expanded!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Mum didnt want to leave!! A great place to see different species and well laid out. Best exhibit for both of us was the Kelp exhibit. We went on a day when it was raining and spent a good 6hours. Great idea to have your hand stamped and you can go back again on same day.Fair price and lots to see for both young and old!

Thank Teri444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. You did indeed make the most of your visit to the Aquarium! The Ocean Basket Kelp Forest Exhibit is a wonderful exhibit and truly mesmerising.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The aquarium itself is small but nicely laid out. If you are familiar with the Boston or Baltimore Aquariums, this one is maybe a third of the size. However, they have many fish that we haven't seen before so that was neat. For general viewing it took about an hour.

The amazing thing was the penguin experience. 3 times a week, 2 people can spend about an hour with the rock hopper penguins - all for $35 (including Aquarium admission)! We booked this and loved it. My sons went to the roof, sat on the edge of the tank , covered in towels while the penguins jumped on their laps and demanded to be petted. The volunteers that were our guides (Tallia and Kristin) were informative, kind, and enthusiastic. We learned about the penguins while having a once in a life time experience. If you can this it completely worth it!

1  Thank Jenswar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of the Two Oceans Aquarium and the penguin encounter. Did you know that we are currently expanding and will soon be able to showcase even more of the wonderful marine life found off the South African coastline? Also, did you know that almost a third of the money that you paid for the penguin encounter goes towards our conservation efforts? Please visit our website for regular Aquarium updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Two Oceans Aquarium also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Two Oceans Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing