We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful time here. It was our first time in SA and we tell everyone here in the States how much friendly and hospitable everyone here was. We've already agreed to come back here on our next trip. The morning breakfast was AWESOME!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Joshua M
Thank you very much for your very enthusiastic review!
It pleases us immensely when our efforts are recognised and we end up with happy guests, who recommend us to friends and family. As a standalone hotel, without any chain affiliation, it is the only way we can market ourselves, by guest feedback and reviews such as this one. Thank you! I hope to be able to be welcoming you back real soon!
We all wish you a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic 2012.

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

Average given the price of the hotel. Great location. Friendly staff. Free shuttle service is a plus although sometimes disorganized and late. Also, the hotel is sometimes hosting special events in the courtyard and it is extremely noisy in the rooms. Very good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Fabrice L
Thank you very much for your review!
I am happy to hear that over all you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course I am conmcerned that you rated us only average as we aim to exceed expectations. The issue with the noisy function seems to have upset you. We are reviewing which functions we do accept and which may result in disturbances to our in house guests to avoid a repeat of what you experienced. I hope to be able to be welcoming you back real soon, without any noisy troubles!
We all wish you a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic 2012.

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

An enjoyable stay with nothing to complain about. The location was perfect and very central for all the things we wanted to do. Breakfast was first class and the room was of a high standard and very comfortable. We would definitely stay again when we are next in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseM674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Louise M674
Thank you very much for your kind review!
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we constantly strive to maintain our high service levels and when we get it right it continues to be a thrill for us. I hope to be able to be welcoming you back real soon!
We all wish you a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic 2012.

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Journey from the airport approx 20 mins and fairly straight forward.
Rooms
Our room was a standard room which had a slight mountain view, It was lovely actually, clean, modern, lovely bathroom, couldn't fault it.
Location
One of the best in my opinion overlooking the sea.
Food
Stunning food but service was sllllloooowwww
Things we did.
V&A Waterfront for food and shopping-huge! The Aquarium, Open top bus that stops outside the WM and Table Mountain are all very close, we also went to Stellenbosch to Spier where there is a Cheetah Sanctuary and Bird Sanctuary, you can horse ride, wine taste and have a fab African style meal in The Moya.
This was a very busy hotel in a great quieter location, it did get a little noisy at times in the mornings but I think we were underneath the cleaners room! Staff were great, it was overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Sea view room recommended although it is on a fairly busy road so unsure of the noise in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Laura B32
Thank you very much for your very detailed review!
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the issue with the slow service is being addressed by repeated training, I can report that we are getting there. I hope to be able to be welcoming you back real soon!
We all wish you a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic 2012.

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

All of the comments are valid, except that I would not call this hotel tired. The tour buses (red route and blue route) stop outside. This is a plus and a minus. I used these but in retrospect I could have seen more in the same time. Ask the hotel staff for the most efficient way of visiting the best spots. I was suprised to find that heat, mosquitos and malaria were not a problem and that warm clothing was essential. The wi-fi in this hotel did not work for me.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear William Martin P
Thank you for your review!
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and hope that your first stay was the first of many more to our shores. I hope to see you again here real soon!
We all wish you a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic 2012.

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The hotel was being 'done up' but it didn't distract us because we went out a lot 20 minute walk to Victoria and Alfred waterfront, very pleasant. Table mountain behind us was breathtaking. The room was large with separate sitting area overlooking the ocean. Good food and excellent service. Very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the ocean and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Camilla 005

I am thrilled to hear that we managed to improve on your last experience, as they say you're only as good as the last impression you made. We hope to have you back next year. We wish you a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic 2012.

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Location of the hotel is quite nice: right across the ocean, 10 minutes walking from V&A Waterfront, so that's a plus. It also has a lovely interior patio, where you can drink or eat something. The bar is quite nice as well.
Rooms are nice, big, so are the bathrooms, but its is quite a "tired" hotel, it could do with an interior upgrade.
The rooms are checked a few times a day, which makes the hotel's service great, it's nice to feel that the money you pay is appreciated.
The parking area is almost nonexistent, we struggled daily to find a spot to park our car, so that is also something that needs improvement.
Staff is lovely, especially the ladies in the dining area.
The breakfast variety is not impressive, however the omelet they cook there is one of the nicest I've ever had. Coffee is really bad, so if you like a good coffee for breakfast, that's not the place to get it from.
All in all, it's not the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but if you get a good deal like we did, it's worth staying there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear sweet-krisstina

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. I am saddened to heat that you found the hotel tired. It almost makes me wonder whether you may not confuse us with another property. We have just recently completed a multimillion Rand refurbishment to avoid any tired look. You may have stayed before this was complete and I would be delighted to have you back to check what your views are now!? Off street Parking is limited to 15 bays, which on occasion may be too little, in general there is enough safe street parking though. We have re-examined our breakfast and according to the majority of our guests it fairs again amongst the best. I hope to be able to have you stay with us again to wow you completely!
We all wish you a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic 2012.

Nils Heckscher
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,785 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#19 of 110 in Cape Town Central
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,430 reviews
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 110 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £120 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing