We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service, comfortable, friendly...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, comfortable, friendly...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Our first view out of our window was a whale breaching in the bay across the road. Amazing! But it's all part of the service at Winchester Mansions, where nothing seems to be too much trouble. A really convenient location in Sea Point, a five minute drive from the V& A district or central Cape Town, or a 35-minute walk if you're feeling energetic!
We couldn't help be especially impressed by the lovely Ulani on the Front Desk, who is the font of all knowledge, and has become our most trusted guide on every aspect of our stay in the area, from restaurant reviewer to weather forecaster!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemsilverstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Jemsilverstone
Thank you so much for giving us such a great write up. Comments like yours make our profession worthwhile, after all it is for our guests that we do what we do. We hope to have you back with us really soon. Greetings from the Cape of Good Hope. Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    285
    74
    33
    21
See reviews for
172
506
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This Cape Dutch, 50 room hotel is conveniently located on the Sea Point Promenade. It has comfortable, large rooms, a beautiful interior courtyard, indoor and outdoor dining, and a busy bar. While nothing truly marred our visit, the fact that one had to go to a lower level lounge to receive free wifi was a bit inconvenient, and the service by the cleaning/turn-down staff was spotty. The breakfast buffets were large with both cold and hot foods and a great wait-staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

My 6 year old son and I stayed here for two nights earlier this month and found the hotel to be comfortable and well located. We stayed in a basic room on the back side of the hotel which was quite large by big city standards and had a sumptuous bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the service friendly. It was also surprisingly quiet. There is a playground right across the street from the hotel which is nice for families staying here.

Room Tip: Even the classic room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Was impressed with the service to start - champagne in our upgraded room, guided tour by the staff member of our room and facilities within plus receltion booked an excursion for us to Hermanus with the minimum of fuss. The Location is good with the tour bus stop across the road. And good views if you are in the front of the hotel. Breakfast was very good ( can recomend the specially made omelette!) and the restaurant at night was excellent.

We did encounter one problem which was a fairly substantial amount of currency disappeared from our safe which we reported as soon as we realised and the duty manager came to see us almost immediately. This was on our last night prior to departing. We completed a report as asked and were assured that a full investigation would be held and we would receive an email of the results within a couple of days. It is now three weeks and I'm still waiting to receive this. A great shame as this incident has taken the gloss off what was otherwise an excellent break at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChriswilliamsCerdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great location, great staff.. very nice rooms. I was very pleased by everything from the room, to the breakfast, and the lounge. The price was great as well. I loved that the hotel was also on the tour bus route, it was right outside the door! The ocean was just across the street, and you could see people jogging and walking their dogs. It made it feel a lot like home!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Another great stay at the Winchester Mansion.
A slick operation, from the welcome, to the size of the bedroom, to the ambiance in the bar and the selection of drinks as well as the breakfast, it is all there and it is the only place to be in the mother city!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdequekervandermerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I guess you can't please all the people all the time.We only spent one night and were upgraded from a standard room to a junior suite free of charge.Thanks.I have stayed in most of the hotels in the Victoria and Albert Waterfront and this compares very well at a far more modest tariff.A charming hotel with friendly and helpful staff large and nicely equipped room.(TV was a bit small) free coffee and big bowl of fruit and a complimentary bottle of wine.A very attractive building and well decorated and furnished.The BUT is the management is lax on smoking .I was on third floor and there weretwo full ashtray by lift in the morning.The whole bar area is open to the smoking section and the smell permeates all the way through to the lobby.I am an ex-smoker but I hate the smell of cigarette smoke.An excellent hotel spoilt a little bit

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Property: Winchester Mansions
Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing